We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birders paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A birders paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

In July I stayed at Septimo Paraiso as part of a group of birders in the Ecuadorian cloud forest. The experience was enthralling. First the birding. The grounds of the property itself contains numerous sought after birds. Over a dozen different hummingbird species were observed, some in the dozens of each species. Tanagers, hawks, guan barbet and many other species were right there or a short walk away as well. As a base for exploration of the other cloud forest spots it was ideally situated. The lodge itself was well maintained. The food was a standout, however. Most birding lodges have decent food in sufficient quantity. Septimo Paraiso was special. The owner, of German-Ecuadorian decent combined the best of European and Ecuadorian cooking and took great pride in presenting meals that would be well regarded in a fine restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuffTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
34
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is more of a bird watchers lodge than a hotel and it is true some rooms smell a bit damp ( but you are in the middle of a cloud forest!)

We are not bird-watchers but soon became enthralled and were happy to get up at 4.30 along with everyone else in the place.

It is worth staying here if you are looking for a bit of respite from Quito ( you'll need a guide) just to meet the lady who runs it. We've never come across like her- she got up at 4.30 to knock on our doors,offered us coffee, fruit and bread rolls and packed up a "box" breakfast to eat when it got light.Amazing. Really added to our experience of Ecuador. We saw 36 different birds.....

Room Tip: Your not really here for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank xyzGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by some friends. It is a unique place, located right in the middle of the cloud forest...it is a mystic place, the clouds surround it late afternoon. The location is impressive, the trees have ground around it so basically you see it when you bump into it! My room was very nice, decorated in white and blue, a queen size bed and the best thing was a fantastic powerful shower (lots of hot water!!).
At dinner time we were offered a set menu that included homemade onion bread, vegetable soup, honey chicken with salads and rice and ice cream with carrot cake...to complete this incredible meal fresh juice and coffee. After this feast we took the Night Safari, the guide took us to the forest near a stream-river where we saw so many frogs and lizards, some incredible insects and heard beautiful night forest sounds. When we arrived back at the lodge the guide asked if we wanted to see a kinkajou ??? We walk through the kitchen area and there it was an animal, something like a cross between a monkey and a bear with big eyes.....incredible.
Next morning after a great shower and a good night sleep, we were awaken by the sound of birds....it was just great..I cannot explain the magnificence of this!!! Went for coffee and a nice breakfast.
Had a fantastic time..it was so short that here I am again....I just needed to visit this place again to discover more of this enchanted and unique place before I go back home. This time my room is second floor in the back facing the gardens, can't wait to see the view in the morning.

Room Tip: Lodge is located in the cloud forest, rooms are nice and great showers, ask for corner rooms or thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were in this hotel during Carnaval. We were not satisfied, the prices were high and the services that were "offered" were not as stated. The pool was not heated, since according to the owner "it is too expensive to heat it up". The rooms were not well maintained, had water filtration, and were very humid. We made a 20 minute night walk that costed us $50. Overall, this is the most expensive hotel in Mindo, yet it is not the best one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidelius1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed three nights here with our four year old. The hotel was chosen for the pools and for the good bird watching. Nature guides are included in the price of your stay, and the one we walked with was very knowledgable. If we had not traveled with a child not being able to stay silent for very long we would have used this opportunity even more. The pool is huge (but very cold), combined with the jacuzzi it is great if you are a bit of a viking.
The room was a little disappointing, though. No balcony or out side sitting space, and lacking a little in charm. Also, we stayed in the main house, where you can hear everything going on in the house.
Food was good, and service was excellent.
All in all it was a very nice stay, but compared to what you get for your money elsewhere in Ecuador the price was very high. This makes my review end on an "average", even though it is between there and "very good".

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was an unexpectedly nice pleasure on my trip. The rooms were nice and the food good. The location was outstanding. There are miles of groomed trails around the hotel for hiking. The hotel offers free guides to accompany you on your hike if you wish. At night there is an organized night hike that is a great adventure ($10). It is a beautiful and quiet location with great great birds, especially a dazzling variety of hummingbirds. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Oh... the first night would have rated Zero! It was the weekend of Dia De Los Muertos and they were packed. Packed with (happy and sweet) families that were running up and down and up and down the halls. Our room was directly above the dining room/bar where they were playing music not all that loudly, to be honest, BUT the speakers were installed into the dining room ceiling/ our floor. Loud in our room. seemed endless. They kindly turned it down-- but it just wasn't enough since the speakers were essentially under our bed. View were stunning from our corner room. But we were very unhappy.

Second day, it was a completely different experience. I do believe that the second day represented the norm here, so am averaging our score between zero and very good. The place was calm and we could enjoy being in paradise.

We wanted to take a spa bath, but it really wasn't hot enough for the cool weather. The pool area is lovely to look at. The food was quite good and they had several choices of fresh, delicious juice.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room... our friends on the first floor felt that they could hear everyone at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Septagroup, Owner at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I am really sorry that your first day with us was not to your pleasure. The day of the dead in Ecuador is a family holiday and as such most of our guests are families with little children. We try to keep a moderate music volume in the dining room mainly to try to filter the noise made by the kids. I want to thank you for pointing out that the speaker is too close to the restaurant ceiling and that it causes inconvenience to guest on the first floor, I had asked my staff to move them.
Septimo Paraiso receives over 5000 visitors a year and the majority of them are adults who like nature, birds and peace. However, few times a year, especially during the local holidays, we have an overwhelming amount of families staying at the lodge and it gets a bit loud. I do again apologies for this and it saddens me that you did not enjoy thoroughly your first day. I was glad to read that you second day was excellent and I have to agree with you that this is the norm. It is usually quiet and peaceful at Septimo, our guests enjoy our mystic forest, the walks, the birds, the hummingbird, the pool and the food in a complete relax atmosphere.
We make an effort every day to keep the highest service standards, fresh food and juices are made daily, bread and cakes are all prepared by our cooks, rooms are ventilated and clear thoroughly and the gardens and trails are always nicely kept. I trust that you might visit us again and that you can enjoy all your stay in our paradise.
Thank you for your comment it has been very helpful to me. I wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
2.4 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
15.8 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Septimo Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Septimo Paraiso

Property: Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Address: 2Km from the Y of Mindo via Mindo, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Septimo Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Septimo Paraiso is a Country Hotel located in the Mindo Valley of Ecuador. The Hotel is set in a middle of the cloud forest and surrounded by wildlife and forest. It is just one hour from the Middle of the World and the Equator Museum; it offers incredible experiences for nature lovers and especially for bird watchers, there are 342 bird species in the reserve. : Also the hummingbirds’ area is fascinating and the walks offer fascinating views. The pool area is very spacious one with natural spring water and other covered and heated, Jacuzzi for 12 guests and several recreation areas. The game room has a beautiful fireplace and the Convention Center offers space for 100 characters. The reading room has a satellite TV and it has a quiet atmosphere, perfect to reading and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hosteria Septimo Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing