We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Septimo Paraiso - Birding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Septimo Paraiso - Birding”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Septimo Paraiso in June 2012 as part of 9 day birding trip in Ecuador with Rudy Gelis of Pluma Verde tours (plumaverdetours.com). If you want a personalized birding tour that you'll see more birds on than one of the big name birding tour companies at half the cost go with Rudy! We had 428 species in the 9 days, which is pretty incredible.

We used Septimo as a base to visit the great birding spots in NW Ecuador.

The food at Septimo is great. When the place has multiple groups they serve food buffet style. A couple nights we were the only ones there and they served us personally. The staff and service are very great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The trails around Septimo are quite productive and we picked up several rare birds on site including White-faced Nunbird and very close looks at Cloud-forest Pygmy-Owl.

Septimo also has an onsite bird guide who is quite good as well.

If you're planning a trip to NW Ecuador Septimo Paraiso is a great choice for lodging.

Photos of birds seen on my Flickr site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/46661974@N06

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isocyanide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
34
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altos del Maria, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited the lodge with my wife for 3 nights and we had a great stay even though it rained often, which was expected in April. We had the largest room, very comfortable. The food was excellent. There are lots of Hummingbird feeders and lots of Hummingbirds. Birding was excellent. The trails are well maintained and also excellent for birding.
Lorena and Ana (owner) were very helpful, very nice people. Ana arranged a trip for us to go to the large market in Otavalo which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I chose El Septimo Paraiso in advance because I wanted to explore the Ecuadorian cloud forest after a trip to the Galapagos. At that point I was traveling solo and wanted to settle into a safe and comfortable spot that would offer opportunities for bird watching and wildlife viewing, and Septimo Paraiso turned out to be just perfect. Hostess Lorena was exceedingly friendly and helpful. For my 3-night stay, she had booked me into a suite complete with a 4-poster bed, private bathroom and a small outdoor deck. The view and sounds from my open windows were peaceful and mesmerizing. On my arrival, I told Lorena that I was interested in birds, flowers and wildlife, and she arranged for in-house naturalist, Angel, to take me on an early morning bird walks and two night safaris. These trips were fantastic, and as a serious photo-enthusiast I can attest that I took some of the best photos of my life on the night-time walks (tree frogs, lizards, insects, and spiders, oh my!). These guided tours were included in the $99/day rate, as were my 3 meals a day. The food was excellent and varied, home-made by their chef, and included locally-sourced food and fresh squeezed juices. Wine, beer and spirits were available with meals or as night caps (or anytime, really!). I chose to spend my first two days entirely on the vast property, hiking trails and lounging by the hot tub & pool after the long walks. But once I was ready to explore nearby Mindo, Lorena offered to arrange some tours for me at additional, but reasonable, costs. I went to a butterfly farm and a zipline ride above the canopy, but other options included river tubing, tours of a chocolate factory, coffee roasters, etc. I was picked up and dropped off at the hosteria and Angel the naturalist accompanied me, pointing out wildlife along the way. I had an amazing experience staying here and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso after a trip to the Galapagos Islands. We had spent a couple of days at El Monte Lodge which was more to our liking. If you're very much into bird watching then this place is probably good for you. Anna was exceptionally helpful and was always ready to answer questions we had. On the food front I thought it was a bit over priced compared the inclusive meals you get at El Monte which are very tasty.

There's a nice pool and games area on the ground. As the weather wasn't too great we ended up playing a lot of pool. The website shows a WiFi logo but this wasn't available when we were there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Septagroup, Owner at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Septimo Paraiso is located in the Cloud Forest or Mystic Forest, at an elevation of 1550 m. The cloud forest is famous for the biodiversity it has to offer and the clouds. We have 342 species of birds and you are correct the majority of our visitors are nature and bird lovers. We offer a fantastic trail system to observer them and most of our guest get up really early (4.30am) to enjoy bird watching here. We also have within our reserve other animals: taira, deer, spectacle bear, puma, kinkajou, armadillo, and more.
Our food is made daily and we specialize in country food. We keep very high standards of service and make efforts to always keep improving. I am sorry you did not enjoy you stay to the full and hope that maybe next time you might try some birding or the night safaris so you can experience what we have to offer.
Thank you for your comment about the Wi-Fi, we had trouble with the service provider for some time before when you visited us. I decided to cancel they service because it was not very good. I acquired several USB internet modems for our guests unfortunately they do not work with I Pads. Next January 2013 we will have in service a small Business Center with internet access, printer and a flat 18’’ screen.
I wish you well during your future travels and a fantastic New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Septimo Paraiso is a magic spot in a truly beautiful setting. We had a romantic and secluded room overlooking the garden. The food was the best we found in Ecuador and Ana, the owner, is the most gracious and lovely host! We had coffee grown and roasted by Ana's husband Tommy. Ana not only made our stay at Septimo Paraiso delightful, but she also helped us plan our subsequent adventures. This is absolutely a must stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We came to the Mindo area as part of our first visit to Ecuador. The primary purpose of the trip was bird watching.

I will comment on the notably positive and negative.

Positive: Fabulous grounds with wide variety of birds; up to 30 hummingbird feeders with nonstop action during the daylight hours; quiet; professional and responsive staff; beautiful dining room with good food.

Negative - No hot water to take shower the first night (staff took care of this); power outage (tolerable); during torrential rain water came into room and soaked half of a bed; rooms dated but serviceable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Septagroup, Owner at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We take special care in the day to day maintenance of the lodge and we keep a very high standard of service.
I regret the inconvenience you had during your stay at Septimo. That day the rain was very strong and just above your bed is room 11 that has a small balcony. Because of the wind and the terrible amount of rain the leafs blocked the balcony drain causing a small flooding and the subsequent accidental drip to your room. We have taken measures so this will not happened again, we made two more drains in the balcony and covered the walls with “Chova” a water proof material.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a comment, this allows us to keep up our high standard of service and to continuously improve our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Septimo Paraiso near Mindo Ecuador may not be a hotel for everyone, but if you are a birdwatcher interested in birding the Mindo area - which is fantastic for birds - then this birding lodge is THE place to stay! As a bird tour leader for the past 25 years, and now owner of my own company Avian Journeys, I have stayed at many lodges in Ecuador, and other countries in Central and South America, and I have never felt more at home than at Septimo Paraiso. The lodge is situated in a beautiful forested valley, with fabulous birding right outside the front door! The lodge itself is a large wood structure - very eco-friendly constructed with recycled materials - with several separate bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom. It is perfect for a tour group, but also excellent for the individual traveler. The owner, Anna Lucia, personally makes everyone feel at home - and in fact it is like staying in her home! The food is excellent - lots of delicious home made recipes. Most important, they are VERY accommodating to the birding group, with flexible dining times (especially early breakfast). There is an excellent trail system on the property, and it is very well-situated for visits to many of the Mindo area birding locations, including Angel Paz, Milpe, Rio Silanche, and Tandayapa. I have stayed at several of the other lodges in the Mindo area, and I would highly recommend Septimo Paraiso as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room number 10 has a mall balcony from which one can sometimes see Black-and-white Owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
2.4 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.3 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 47 in Mindo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Septimo Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Septimo Paraiso

Property: Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Address: 2Km from the Y of Mindo via Mindo, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Septimo Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Septimo Paraiso is a Country Hotel located in the Mindo Valley of Ecuador. The Hotel is set in a middle of the cloud forest and surrounded by wildlife and forest. It is just one hour from the Middle of the World and the Equator Museum; it offers incredible experiences for nature lovers and especially for bird watchers, there are 342 bird species in the reserve. : Also the hummingbirds’ area is fascinating and the walks offer fascinating views. The pool area is very spacious one with natural spring water and other covered and heated, Jacuzzi for 12 guests and several recreation areas. The game room has a beautiful fireplace and the Convention Center offers space for 100 characters. The reading room has a satellite TV and it has a quiet atmosphere, perfect to reading and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hosteria Septimo Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing