We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not find a better value!”
Review of El Tigrillo

El Tigrillo
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You will not find a better value!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate some 5/9 meals in Mindo here. Why? Because we couldn't get past how good to food was for the $2.95 price. Soups changed between lunch and dinner and were some of our favorites. For the main we tried them all and they were all delicious. My favorite was the trout and my husband loved the chicken. It came with a tasty salad, beans, rice and plantains. I could never finish mine it was so much food. The pizzas looked amazing but we couldn't get past the meal of the day!

The restaurant was also clean and service very friendly. The bathrooms were also clean which I appreciate!

-on the road 8 months and counting

Helpful?
Thank EricAndSarahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Cheap Lunch!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you are looking for good food that is cheap, go here for lunch! We had some delicious trucha (trout) and fresh fruit juice. The meals are only about $4.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willowtigris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good value for Ecuadorian food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is more like an Ecuadorian restaurant with a pizza oven. I can't eat pizza so we came here for cheap local food, and cheap beer. The food was great for the price you were paying. We ate here 3 times I think. Great Value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Empidonax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Pizza”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Charming little hole in the wall wood-fire pizza place on the Main Street of Mindo. Friendly and efficient staff. Pizzas with a lot on them cost between $10 and $12. Was a bit of a relief after paying $83 2 nights ago in Quito for hotel delivery of 3 Domino's. (long story). Election weekend so no cerveza which is a national law.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pizza and Salad”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Some friends and I ate here twice. Once for Almuerzo lunch, and once for pizza dinner. The wood fire pizza oven and wooden tables are charming. The salad is huge and tasty, compared to the basic salads you get at other restaurants in Ecuador. The soup of the day happened to be a purée type, and so delicious! Great pizza flavours. Our experience was better in the evening over beers, and served by adults. During our lunch visit we were half-assed served by a young school girl sucking on ice cream over our dishes.

Helpful?
Thank KymberRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tigrillo also viewed

Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Tigrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing