We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun experience”

Lago Mindo Frog Concert
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Mindo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nightly tour of the gardens by flash light. Frogs, toads, spiders, fireflies and more!
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Words of advice: bring flashlights, cover up and wear bug spray. On the night we were there, the guide spoke Spanish only so if that will be an issue, you might want to check about translator before going.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mbelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    20
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Frogs and Spiders!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to the Frog Concert on a lark with low expectations but were delighted by our experiences. Sitting on a terrace, with a thimble of wine, listening to the quite varied songs of a myriad of species was a true delight. The night hike to see frogs (and spiders) was interesting and fun. The lack of an English speaking guide was a definite drawback as was the Guide's moving too fast and leaving out the people in the back of the line.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bizarre but Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spanish is a must if you a nit picky for knowing all the facts. If not this is a cool place to enjoy an evening. The frog sounds are cool and you are taken for a tour through the property to see the different plants and creatures (including LARGE spiders.. yuck).
Definitely a cool option for kids and families.
It is closed on Tuesdays and Sunday. If you are going on a Friday or Saturday make sure to get there no later than 6:30! It fills up very quickly and you may be forced to wait for a chance to tour the grounds, or even be turned away!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmacmillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is way more than a frog concert, it was an awesome night walk! We saw several frog and insect species, but the best part was the bioluminescent fungi! Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it but mistitled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We saw posters for this around Mindo but didn't know what it really was, so it wasn't until our birding guide suggested we try it, that we did. It proved to be a fun and educational evening and certainly worth the $4.50 ticket. The presentation in Spanish provided a helpful background to the tour, although if we hadn't been lucky enough to have a really good translator in the audience (we were English speakers with rudimentary Spanish), we would have missed some of the finer points. The walk around the grounds with guides was most illuminating (not just because of our flashlights/torches!) and about the right length in distance and time. The starting time of 6:30pm was good, because you could either have an early dinner or a later one, according to your preference.

We came away impressed and wondered why this event wasn't more highly publicized (nothing in Lonely Planet, for example). Also, we found the name "frog concert" to be a bit too "poetic" and not to the point. "Frog tour"? "The world of frogs"?

The complimentary "glass/shot of wine" was a nice gesture and a good way to socialize with other participants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank balibabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Mindo Frog Concert also viewed

 

Been to Lago Mindo Frog Concert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing