We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours

Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Mindo Cloud Forest Tour Including a Chocolate Factory Visit from Quito
Ranked #3 of 13 Outdoor Activities in Mindo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the Nature wonders just 2 hours drive from Quito, you can visit here on a day trip or stay overnight at one of the several confortable lodges in the town. Richard Hernandez takes you to different attractions like Pahuma orchid reserve,butterfly garden,cable car, hike to hidden waterfalls, birdwatching spots.Highly recommended for Nature Lovers. MINDO CLOUD FOREST
los angeles
1 review
“Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was the only one on the tour for the day and the tour still went! He was great. explained everything and was so friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this day trip to anyone that comes to Quito. Really a great deal!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emamifar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very much for coming to visit Mindo cloudforest. It was my pleasure to show this beautiful ECOSYSTEM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    3
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We scheduled a bird watching trip with Richard Hernandez for a lay over day after a cruise to the Galapagos. Our trip to Ecuador would not have been as wonderful if we had not taken the trip to the Mindo Cloud Forest. Richard emailed and asked if we wanted to see the "Cock of the Rock" and if we did we would have to get up and be ready to go at 4:00AM from our hotel in Quito. The group of 4 said we would be ready. Richard was on time and off we went on the adventure of a life time. We though nothing could top our cruise. Although getting to the ranch where the birds are was not for the faint of heart(rains had washed out the bridge and we fordged the stream) and then hiked for about a half hour into the jungle, only to find out the a group of world travelers from Europe had already made it before us. I might add this was in complete darkness, so bring a flashlight. At the lookout we were rewarded with a view of the birds putting on a show at dawn and on the hike back added another 10-15 birds to our life lists. For breakfast we went to a lodge where we added 18 different hummingbirds and many other birds that came right up to the table. The birds were amazing. It was like being in a movie for public television. We visited the Butterfly Garden which was very well done and then lunch at another location that had feeders covered with new hummingbirds. Richard knew all the names of the birds we saw and had local stories about all the flora and fauna. We all agreed that our trip to Ecuador would not have been as wonderful as it was if we had not spent the day with Richard in Cloud Forest. I want to add that the average age of our group of four was 73 and although it was a little rough hike in the morning we all made it and Richard made sure that we were all safe and well taken care of throughout the day.
Cynthia B.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HernandezRichard, Owner at Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
I appreciated very much your visit to Mindo Cloud Forest, thank you for coming and letting me to be your guide. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our day trip to Mindo. It was what we needed to escape busy Quito city.

Richard (our tour guide) is very knowledgeable about the Cloud Forest, animals, birds and plants. He is very friendly, funny and we thoroughly enjoyed his company.

From Kurt and Kelly (New Zealand)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome two days in Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spend two days with Richard Hernandez in Quito visiting the Center of the World Museum/Equator, Pululahua Volcano, the Old Town Area of Quito with its many beautiful cathedrals and old buildings, took a cable car ride up to the top of the Pichincha Volcano, visited the El Pahuma Orchid Reserve, and Mindo Cloud Forest where we did zip lining over the Andes with Richard and rode a cable car over the Cloud Forest with a great view of the Nambillo River. It was an awesome two days with a great guide, Richard, who knows a great deal about Quito, Mindo and Ecuador. Richard made our visit to Quito a wonderful experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ricardo Hernandez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Ricardo Hernandez is very knowledgeable about the history of the Cloud Forest as well as the creatures that inhabit the forest, particularly the birds. In addition, he is a very pleasant personality. I would highly recommend Ricardo for this tour as well as others in the Quito/Mindo area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HernandezRichard, Owner at Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you Amigo. I appreciated very much your visit to Mindo Cloud Forest. Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours also viewed

 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Mindo Cloud Forest Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing