We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good accomodation, a little pricier than others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good accomodation, a little pricier than others”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we stayed here for two nights with two people in a room/little cabin with three beds (one was a bunk bed) for the price of two person. the night was 15 pp including breakfast which is served next to trees where humming birds eat and fly by. so while you are having breakfast you can observe these birds and others.
the cabins are good and clean, ours had privat bathroom which was clean. the towels were good. only the matraces are too soft and spongy. in front of the cabins are hammocks to relax which you can definitely do as there is hardly any noise from cars etc.
The location of the hostal is a little further away from the main street which in Baños means 5 minutes by foot. The owner is very nice and helpful.

You could get a cheaper accomodation in Baños but not including breakfast with humming birds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
63
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The cabanas here are set amongst a tropical garden and are very relaxing and quiet. We stayed for 3 nights in a matrimonial cabana with private bathroom and its own veranda with a hammock. The shower was good and there was always hot water. Wifi is available, although the signal is strongest in the breakfast area and only occasionally worked in our cabana.

We paid $30 per night, including a good breakfast of juice, toast, butter and jam, fruit, eggs and tea/coffee. The highlight of breakfast though was the many hummingbirds and other types of bird that fly only a few meters away.

The location is also good. Only a few minutes’ walk to the town centre and restaurants.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AsherG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent a wonderful time ! Real harmony in Mindo. The best thing of all was the breakfast accompanied by 4 tucanes, many-many colibris and hundreds of Orchids . It felt like in the fairy tale. Thanks!!! Niki and Guillermo

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikoletta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Cabanas Armonia has private cabins in a garden setting, with a hammock on the little porch. There are bird feeders around, that attract all kinds of birds - you don't have to leave the area. The staff is great. The price is right ($15 p.p.) Location is a few minutes from the center of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at cabanas Armonia, and we had a great stay. The rooms are big and clean, the breaksfast is hearty with lots of fresh fruits, and you're surrounded by orchids and colibris !! The owners also let some bananans on a stand, that attract toucans. You can also ask for a bird-watching tour. The staff is super-friendly, you feel very welcome, as if you were part of the family. It's only a 5 minute walk from the bus station, it's very quiet and amazingly beautiful. I strongly recommend it !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Cabanas Armonia is an excellent choice for Mindo. The cabanas are tucked away in an orchid garden just outside of town. The staff was very friendly and our cabin was very clean.k We stayed in a private cabana with bathroom. It is possible to see a variety of birds from your porch and/or while eating breakfast (which was simple but delicious) in the covered outside area. The location is ideal for those who want easy access to town but not the noise that goes with it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnomeHome416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and was thoroughly satisfied with the experience and service.

My wife and I had a personal cabana with bathroom, including breakfast for 15$ pp per night. The environment is wonderful. The property is actually an orchid garden noted by the lonely planet. Admission is normally two dollars but is free for those staying.

The owner Alicia and her family are wonderful and super helpful. Our next stop was Otavalo and we were having difficulty finding good accomadation for the weekend. She called ahead for us and found us an excellent place at a good rate. Alicia is also very knowledgeable and boasts over 200 varieties of orchids in her garden.

Every morning we ate our massive breakfast which included fruit, bread, eggs, coffee and juice, all while taking in nature. Tons of hummingbirds and other types of birds fly through the orchid garden daily.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 788murrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
3.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
0.4 mi away
Mindo Rio Hosteria
Mindo Rio Hosteria
#36 of 47 in Mindo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ananaw Hostel
Ananaw Hostel
#5 of 19 in Mindo
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 47 in Mindo
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Cecilia
La Casa de Cecilia
#10 of 47 in Mindo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas

Property: Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas
Address: Sixto Duran Vallen y Lluvia de Oro, Casa 2, Manzana 49 | Tras del estadio, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing