We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
80
27
3
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
27
3
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long dirt road the river cloud forest main town bardzo nature lodge ecuador eco
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 121 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed one night at El Abrazo, having come from an idyllic place on the coast which maybe coloured our impression. We were surprised to find in the garden strange statues of poodles and a purple arch with an arm sticking out of it....not particularly 'eco'. We had confirmed prices and also that we wanted two beds...only to be told on arrival that there was only a double bedded room and that we could have a 'suite' for twice the price. We sorted it out, but it involved phone calls to the absent manager. Like other hotels in Ecuador it seemed to be run by a group of young women who didn't seem to know what they were doing. Dinner - choice of lasagne (meat) or lasagne (vegetarian). Served strangely with a glass of Pineapple juice. Dessert was a small square of chocolate cake. Breakfast ok.

The rooms are very small - no room to open a suitcase- no chair. The lodge is built of wood, and everything creaks, and you can hear every movement from other rooms ( and their doggy occupants). (I love dogs, but skittering paws overhead are strange). Bed was comfortable.

Mindo is wonderful , but Sisakuna lodge is a much, much nicer place to stay.

Sorry - not great.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017

This place was the best we stayed at during 3 weeks in Ecuador. The reasons were:

Location: it's secluded, a 10 min car ride over a bumpy road and several large streams from Mindo. This is an advantage as Mindo looks to be becoming a bit of a tourist trap with tour agencies fighting for space with burger and pizza joints.

It has two paths on it's property, one that leads to a waterfall and the other to Mindo river. Both are short tranquil walks which took up half a day each for us, simply taking our time to watch the wildlife. The house has wellington boots to lend for muddy days.

If you sit on the main balcony during the early morning you'll see a plethora of bird life, from parrots to motmots to egrets and humming birds, which fly right up to the building to feed on the provided for sweetened water.

Food made by the cook, Carmen: Excellent value (12 USD for a large two course meal including a drink) and really top quality, healthy stuff, like grilled trout or excellent quality grilled meats. Deserts were outstanding, especially coffee & lime pie.

Service provided by Sabina: she takes care of the place like it is her home, always ready to help suggest activities (e.g. an excellent evening walk in the forest near Mindo to look for night time insects and reptiles, where we also saw wild armadillos) and makes you feel totally looked after.

The only downside was the very small bedroom at the top of the main building, but it was comfortable and we slept well, and there is so much to see in the cloud forest that we didn't spend any time there other than to sleep. If you need more space, they also rent out two seperate "famaily" sized buildings in the grounds.

The main building also has great balcony spaces, one with a hammock, to sit and relax on, and books about the local wildlife, table games and Ecuador travel guides.

When we stayed in mid-January the place was literally empty of other guests apart from on the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kotinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

What a gem! We booked this for a weekend getaway from Quito, it was fantastic. A real ecolodge with fantastic service and beautiful surroundings. We saw more nature here than anywhere else we went in Mindo - hummingbirds, butterflies, baby toucans everywhere.
I would highly recommend a stay here, it's a 10minute walk down to the river (which you can have a dip in), the pool is refreshing- as is the steam room. There's also a centre to practise yoga as well. Carmen and Carlos were extremely helpful, booking tours, taxis to Mindo, and Carmen's cooking was great... (as were the multiple deserts she made!)

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Mindo's location in the Ecuadorian cloud forest is beautiful, with gorgeous flowers and lots of wildlife (especially birds such as hummingbirds). The location of this hotel is quite remote even from Mindo, as you have to travel a 7-km dirt road to get to it, which includes crossing 5 streams, something I wouldn't attempt in the rainy season. However, if you don't mind the trip, it's very quiet and peaceful there. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating, and the food was delicious, which is a good thing since there's nowhere else to eat. Breakfast was included, lunch and dinner were extra. The rooms are small but clean. The mosquito netting over the beds is annoying but does help to keep out the mosquitos. When we were there, there was only one other couple when we arrived, and then a family of three arrived the next day. So it's not a busy place, but that's the way we like it. We were only there for one full day and didn't do much hiking since we are older and not able. But we enjoyed just walking around and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my family of 5 for one night. Very impressed with the cleanliness and beauty of the facility. Mauricio greeted us in person even though we arrived very much later than expected (so easy to get lost in Quito). Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was made to order (best coffee we had in Ecuador ) and Mauricio made sure we had very goood directions to Mompiche (our next stop) even giving us hints about how to avoid the worst of the devastation feom the earthquake. All in all a great place to stay!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews