We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best wedding location I have ever experienced.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Abrazo del Arbol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Abrazo del Arbol
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
GreenLeadersGold level
Vaughn, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best wedding location I have ever experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at El Abrazo del Arbol for two nights to attend a wedding. The location could not have been more beautiful. Accommodations were superb and the meals were beyond compare. The staff was absolutely fantastic and a pleasure to work with. They did all they could to make the event a wonderful memory. Their claim is they are at “the end of the road” and that’s the absolute truth. It was as though the wedding took place in a corner of paradise. We didn’t want to leave.

Room Tip: There is a thatched roof Yoga shelter, a chemical free, spring fed pool, a sauna and miles of trails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing place, the nature hug is real with all those species introduced delicately inside the house.
The food is delicous, and the staff is delicious too !! Very caring for the guests .
My strongest recommendation and try the bano turco !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

El Abrazo del Arbol is an incredible paradise. It is a beautiful place to relax. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and the staff incredibly helpful. There are endless ways to rest; there is an infinity pool, a yoga pagoda and hammocks strung up in most places. The food is absolutely amazing, the friendly and talented chefs offer up both Ecuadorian classics and international cuisine. I never had a meal there that I didn't love. The family who owns this paradise have clearly put an immense amount of time, creativity and love into the construction and care of the lodge. A nice touch is that the aesthetic incorporates nature into the feel of the place making you feel like you are enjoying the outside while in the comfort of the lodge. If you are up for activities, the area has a lot to offer - zip lining, tubing, and hiking. But you don't have to go far, there are nature walks to waterfalls and bird watching right in the backyard. I've been here two years in a row and the impeccable attention to detail and good service was consistent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thanks to previous reviews on TripAdvisor, we traveled out the bumpy road to El Abrazo to check it out and were amazed at the hidden paradise we discovered there. The lodge is gorgeous, spotlessly clean, open-aired, and incredibly comfortable. The family who owns the lodge is passionate about sharing how the building was created with sustainable materials and one of the sons even designed the furniture! This peaceful paradise has obviously continued to be a labor of love for this family and will continue to improve with the construction of their new cabins!!

This summer, we brought a couple of our yoga and meditation groups to the lodge just to check it out...now we're hooked and won't take our groups anywhere else!!! Everyone had a wonderful time and group members often ranked El Abrazo as their favorite lodging of the trip. The staff here are incredible...I was sick one week and they gathered herbs and plants from the property to make a special tea. During another visit, a member of our group was celebrating her birthday but had a special diet. With little advance notice, the staff whipped up a gluten free, dairy free chocolate cake covered in fresh strawberries. Amazing and delicious! Every guest is welcomed with genuine hospitality, the food is out of this world, and I can't describe how wonderful it is to wake up to a cool breeze and the sound of the birds. We took a camioneta (taxi) into town each day, had plenty of time to experience Mindo and its offerings of adventure, and returned to our quiet haven for yoga and meditation each evening. The property offers something for everyone...a billiards pavilion, lagoon bar for dancing & music in the evening if you wish, a chemical-free pool fed by a nearby stream, a yoga pavilion complete with hammocks and mosquito netting, hiking trails to the river where we held several meditation sessions, and a gorgeous deck where you can sit back and watch hummingbirds whiz around your head. Wonderful!

Overall, the water is hot, the beds are comfy, the staff are incredible, the food is hearty and healthy, and the property is gorgeous. Trust me, you'll wish you had more time to spend here...we always do!!

Room Tip: One thing to keep in mind: The lodge has a "tree-house" feel to it and you can easily he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleAAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place was beautiful and quite a trek away from Mindo. You are surrounded by forests/jungles and quite secluded. The rooms were nice and food was DELICIOUS (this cannot be stressed enough). Your opinion of the place will depend on what you want - if you want an oasis to escape from the world, this is a pretty perfect place. However, if you want to be able to see Mindo itself and wander the city, this is not the place for that, as you will be far away (i.e. not walking distance from the city).

Some things to note: Rooms and bathrooms are clean and well maintained and the mosquito netting is a huge bonus. Our room had no storage space, so pack light or be prepared to live out of your suitcase (there were no closets in our room). Rooms are a cozy fit, so you'll probably be outside of your room most of the time, which isn't bad as you will be able to enjoy nature, hummingbirds, the pool, billiards table and many hammocks. And really, the food is delicious. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 days. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. I actually had a warm shower (unlike my stay in Quito).

The food was great--even for picky eaters. I looked forward to the fresh squeezed juice before each meal.

The hostel is located outside of Mindo. You can see at least 3 waterfalls from the balcony, a variety of birds and plants.

The first day I had an upset stomach and Paulina (staff member) made me homemade ginger tea. On the last day, David (owner) knew we had to catch a bus back to Quito and offered to drive us there since he was also going there. You don't service like that in the United States!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have been traveling in Ecuador and finished our stay with 2 nights at the Abrazo del Arbol in Mindo. It is very remote about 7 km out of town. We crossed the river/stream 4 times to get there. It is charming, very lush with plants and nature. The beds were great and are all draped in white mosquito netting. Hummingbirds everywhere. David helped plan our activities and get transportation. We did the zip line (very fun), butterfly garden, hiking and chocolate factory. David and staff cooked breakfast and dinner. Really excellent food all around (and I'm picky)! It rains here a lot but it is just expected and that's what makes the place so beautiful and unique! I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: All seemed comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
4.5 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.6 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 7 in Mindo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
3.7 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sisakuna Lodge
Sisakuna Lodge
#1 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Abrazo del Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Abrazo del Arbol

Property: El Abrazo del Arbol
Address: Km 7 Via a Cunuco - Mindo, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Abrazo del Árbol – Farm Eco Lodge is the most cosy and peaceful hotel in Mindo. It is located amongst 14 acres of tropical rainforest at the end of the Cunuco Road. It has eco trails to the river and to one of the waterfalls that can be seen from the hotel´s balconies. It has 8 comfortable rooms in which the hotel can accommodate up to 19 guests. All the rooms have a private bathroom as well as first class mattresses and white neat blankets. Each corner of the hotel is full of detail that reflect the hosts commitment with eco design. Among its facilities you can find the pool which is free of chemicals, steam bath, yoga bungalow, pool table, bungalow bar on the island by the lagoon, organic farm that supplies the restaurant, private parking and a soccer field. Most of the hotel´s furniture and decoration are made out of recycled materials that have been carefully worked in order to reinforce the ecological approach in which the hotel is focused. The menu at the restaurant fusions different styles of food from around the globe, everything with organic ingredients, surprising the most demanding guests. The kindness of the hosts make every guest feel at home. The hotel has large balconies and living rooms where the people can relax and watch different kinds of birds or just enjoy a good cup of tea. The hotel also plans adventure and eco tourist trips around the area depending on the guests´ needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Abrazo del Arbol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing