We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria La Roulotte
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We loved it here. After one night in Mindo proper, we decided to find a place in outskirts. This place is SO friendly, accommodating, and peaceful. Our cabin was beautiful, clean, and cozy, with a lovely pine fragrant construction. Great food, home-made rum, frog-hunts at night, washer & dryer, great bird guide: unbeatable choice. Thanks, Ignacio!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks for your comments, and your vacation with us.
Ignacio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at La Roulotte along with another couple. We each had our own little gypsy caravan, with double bunk bed, nice bathroom, in a beautiful setting. We loved this place. Very close to downtown Mindo, yet out in the wilds. The restaurant was excellent. Fabulous breakfast every morning and wonderful dinners. Ignacio and Ribardo, staff at Roulotte were both wonderful. We loved the casual informality of La Roulotte. It was sort of like a camp ground. We were able to walk into town and to the Butterfly Sanctuary. We also went on a birding tour. The hotel recommended a terrific bird guide, Julia Patino, who took the four of us on a wonderful walking tour near the hotel. None of us had ever done this before and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Mindo. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joloswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thanks for your review and suggestions
are very important to improve our service
Ignacio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a fantastic week here. We had a delicious breakfast each morning whilst watching the humming birds from the restaurant. Ignacio and Ribardo were wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave such a beautiful place after becoming good friends with them.
I would recommend La Roulette to anyone who goes to Mindo; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio9904, Gerente at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su hermosa crítica, y ojala puedan volver pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bird watching while having breakfast, incredibly pleasant atmosphere, very warm welcome and perfect service says it all! Ignacio y Libardo: Muchas gracias por todo! Nuestro estancia en La Roulotte fue perfecto!!
Sylke y Michel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milkemontagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio9904, Propietario at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks , Your comment is very very value for us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a find. My sister and I were in Mindo for just one night, without a reservation. We were lucky to call La Roulotte and find a train car waiting for us. It's tricky to get a cab out there at night (we were directed down the street to "el gordo" - was he in the cornerstore? The bar?) but worth it. It's so peaceful - close to town but far enough in the forest that you don't hear a thing but nature. The owners are kind and attentive. When we got there, they showed us around, offered us some fresh-from-the-oven bread, and took us frog-hunting around the little lake on the property. We had a fire in the stove in the cool train car, and tucked into our queen-sized bunk beds. Cool. And there's hot water! Breakfast was *delicious* - yogurt and granola, coffee a gringa can love, more fresh bread, eggs. In the morning, one of the owners was going into town and let us hitch a ride to the bus stop outside of town.

If I can manage to get back to Ecuador soon, I will make a special trip to Mindo just to stay here again. Thanks, guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ignacio9904, Gerente at Hosteria La Roulotte, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I only had the chance to stay at La Roulette one night, but it was great. The staff are super personable and eager to help you with whatever you may need. The cabins are unique and comfortable, with big beds, plenty of blankets, and a stove should it get too chilly at night. The bathroom was great, with hot water and lots of towels. Overall, the setting is excellent; it's quiet (except for the frogs and birds!), peaceful, full of the fauna that Mindo is famous for, etc. The breakfast was delicious as well. Next time I'm in Mindo, I will definitely go back to La Roulotte.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just came back from 4 wonderful days at La Roulotte. Great personalized service and charming setting. The cabins were comfortable with easy to sleep in with beds which were larger than a double. The food was very good.and the portions large. There are lots of local activities to take advantage of in Mindo and the staff here will help you find whatever activity you are looking for. The large restaurant is a perfect place to sit and watch hummingbirds and see and hear nature at its best.. Ignacio and his staff all went out of their way to make it a special weekend. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
1.1 mi away
The Bicok Lodge
The Bicok Lodge
#1 of 48 in Mindo
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mindo Casa de Piedra
Mindo Casa de Piedra
#2 of 48 in Mindo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Roulotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Roulotte

Address: Via la Mariposario Km 2, Mindo 170751, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Price Range: $73 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gypsy wood cabins with fireplace, in Mindo, Ecuador. Each cabin has its own bahtroom and can logde up to four persons.The dinning room offers a beautiful view with hummingbirds, tanangers, butterflies and other kind of birds.You. Can also enjoy an authentic labyrinth built under the cloud forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria La Roulotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing