We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at Rubby Hostel”
Review of Rubby Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rubby Hostal
Ranked #12 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great stay at Rubby Hostel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked with Norma before Christmas to stay at the hostel. Very quick, informative response through e-mail. So first impression's were good.

We arrived on the 28th Dec and were going to book out on the 2nd but decided to stay another night. Norma is a fabulous host. Incredibly informative about the area. We were going to book a bird guide down the road but Norma said she will arrange it. We left it in her hands and we were very pleased. We ended up booking 2 mornings. One, of a walk up toward the forest in town. We saw around 70 species in 4 hours. The next morning we went off for a drive to view the Cock-on-the-rock and the birds in and around that area. Our guide, Danny, was super professional. A little shy at the start but once he starts ya can't stop him. Superior knowledge of birds, identifying them and their calls.

The price for the room is very very reasonable and we were surprised that it comes with a hearty breakfast (fresh juices, hot drink, eggs and rolls!) and private bathroom. Norma will get up and have breakfast ready for you if you're getting up early (we had brekkie at 4.30am on the Cock-on-the-rock morning!).

Norma just moved in two months ago, lovely big kitchen to cook in, we were even invited to New Year's Day lunch with the family, yum! Very fast wifi, we could watch movies on the 1st January, hungover day). I can't recommend this place enough.

The hostel is around 7-mins out of town. Perfect for a good, quiet nights sleep, relaxing in the hammock on the balcony looking across the mountains and just 5-7 mins walking distance for a few drinks in town if need be. Walk up the main street (away from the direction you come in from the highway), keep going after the paved road ends and it is another block, on your left.

Room Tip: There are some quality birds around the Rubby Hostel so to ease you into Birding Mindo then get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoBeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
29
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We met the owner on a bus to Mindo and she invited us to stay in the private rooms. The four of us loved it - the Wifi is great, super close to the main road and attractions. Norma, the owner was exceptionally helpful arranging local transport and with accommodation. We left after one night and ended up returning from 40 kms away because the hospitality was so good.

I strongly suggest EVERYONE stay here - it is a bit dark at night to get to and looks far away, however in the morning it is beautiful and the views are great.

Definitely worth checking out - breakfast was also delcisious

Room Tip: A room on the top floor of the new section has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Norma, the owner of the place is very friendly and helpfull. She would prepare my breakfast at any time, even very very early so that I can get ready at the best moment for birdwatching. And what a breakfast ! No need for lunch after that : hot drink, fruit juice (homemade and different every day), cakes, jam, butter, omelet, fruits, etc.
The room was great too : a balcony with a hamoc and a wonderfull view on nature, with pasture, forest and misty green hills, and course plenty of birds, even a few species that I didn't see in any other place during my trip in Ecuador ! Room and bed very confortable (the climate of Mindo is the best I've ever experienced I think) . Bathroom with 24 hours hot water (which is not the case in some more pricey places in Quito !).
Location is great too : extremely quiet but only 5 minutes walk from the center of Mindo.
Excellent value (and quite cheap !).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricMroczko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am going to preface my comments by stating that this is the cheapest hostal in town. US$10.00 per night (less if you stay more than a few days) that includes breakfast. If you want some fancy lodge or hotel, there are plenty available in the area starting at US$150 pppn. Don’t come to Rubby and expect the same amenities at these prices. People mostly come here to bird, if you are planning on sleeping in, this probably isn't the place for you - people sleep early and get up early!

It is well known birding hostal, I stayed for 5 nights while I birded the Mindo valley. Norma serves breakfasts at whatever time required as well as providing a much needed laundry service. It is located around 500m from the town centre, close enough for amenities, but not too close to hear the late evening noise. The hostal is well known to all guides and tour companies who will collect on site and also bring their other clients for early breakfasts.

Very large rooms (3 beds) with more than enough space for me and my pile of gear. There are no en-suite rooms. Electrically heated shower which has good pressure by comparison to the many others I have used around South America. The house is made of wood, so it makes some noise when you move about roughly. Perhaps the only negative is a lack of WiFi. There is plenty of WiFi available in the town, but it is rather slow.

The included breakfast is excellent - bread rolls, eggs, freshly squeezed juice & coffee. Coffee, fruit and mineral water is available whenever you fancy. Norma will get up and sort out breakfast no matter what time of morning you are planning on departing. I was generally up and having breakfast around 04:30. So far as I could tell, this was the only place in town that catered for birders in this way with people from other hotels and hostals visiting for breakfast too.

There is a large garden area where you can securely park vehicles. Hammocks on the first balcony for an afternoon snooze. Norma herself speaks fluent English and obviously knows all the birding information that you might require including the best guides in town (ie: Marchelo who is also fluent in English as well as being a top notch guide). Norma handled all my arrangements from booking guides to confirming access to multiple reserves which negated my need to find public telephones and butcher the Spanish language any more that I already do. (I hardly ever use a guide when birding, but the low prices charged by Marchelo made it more than worthwhile).

An excellent place to base yourself while in Mindo. If you are a serious birder who has no need for a luxury bed and a hummingbird garden at arms reach, then this hostal will more than serve your needs. Clean, very accommodating and equally light on the pocket!

PS: This review is obviously of the current location. Norma is soon to relocate to another property that I understand will have an excellent bird garden with feeders, cabanas etc. Perhaps call in advance to check details and location. [+593 9 193 1853 or email rubbyhostal@yahoo.com]

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, the loft looked interesting but has a steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The owner of Rubby, Norma, was very welcoming to us as we walked the street looking for a room. She gave us maps, told us what was going on in the town that weekend and spoke perfect English to my boyfriend who doesnt speak Spanish. The room was an average size with a single and double bed. It was clean but smelt very musty, probably because of all the rain and damp in Mindo. The pillows were rock hard and lumpy and I went without because they were so uncomfortable. The bathroom mostly did not have toilet paper in it, it was always wet and there was hair in the bath and sink. We were told there was hot water but only ever managed to get cold showers. Ironically we did manage a lukewarm shower on the morning we left!

After the first night we wanted to move hostels but were told by Norma that she had already deposited our money in the bank and only had the change for two nights. I don't believe it can be so hard to take money from the ATM, I also think if you are a hostel owner then you should have a few dollars spare for change for your guests. This lie soured the stay for me and my boyfriend.

The other considerable problem was the noise. She asks for strict quiet at night but from 6am her children were running around the house outside our window and door making so much noise we could not sleep. The whole house is wooden so it makes the noise travel very easily.

On our last night the lock on our door broke so we couldn't get in to the room and she wanted my boyfriend to climb into the window from the outside to open the door but the ladder was only half way tall enough! Eventually she got an ecuadorian friend to climb in.

Finally, when we asked about the wifi she said there had been a storm a few days ago and it was not working. However, there was no router or Internet/wireless paraphernalia anywhere in the house so I think this was another lie.

The breakfast was good and Norma is a nice lady generally. If you are on a budget and don't care about sleeping in the morning then it is an ok option but I don't like feeling like im being lied to and the whole experience was negative for me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norma c, Owner at Rubby Hostal, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
for me was nice to having you in my house, i am surpricing because you only had smiles and thanks for me, why you do not asking me for help or complains. Anyway I always put los of atention in what my customers need or how they feel . this is good service We are triing everyday take care with cleanest and confort, was better for you and the hostal you ask for help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The owner of the hostal (Norma) was really lovely and made us feel very welcome in her home. We visited during Mindo's rainy season but found our days easily occupied thanks to Norma's helpful suggestions (and hammocks). Highly recommend the bird watching tour with Norma's ex-husband, Marcelo. He is incredibly knowledgeable on the local species and clearly passionate about birds. The central location of the hostal, just a couple of blocks from the main street, makes for an easy stroll around the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milk_t_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindo
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have just left a beautiful weekend in Mindo. The weather didn't always hold out for us but I felt very welcome in Rubby Hostal. Norma, the owner is a wonderful motherly figure. She looks after the hostal on her own with her 3 children scurrying about the place. The hostal is clean, and well looked after. There are places to relax and socialise. It's pretty quiet and only 5 minutes walk from everything you need.

There's an electric shower, breakfast, towels, shampoo, laundry, garage all available, with Wi-Fi coming soon. There's private rooms or dorms on offer and Norma has lots of suggestions of things to do in the area.

The Norma showed me the location of the new hostal which is being built and it will be moving there around March 2013. This views from here are stunning, so watch this space!

Room Tip: The attic dorm is the most beautiful with the hammocks, though it's loudest in the rain due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 46 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mindo Rio Hosteria
Mindo Rio Hosteria
#33 of 46 in Mindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.0 mi away
Pachijal Reserva Ecologica
0.0 mi away
Ananaw Hostel
Ananaw Hostel
#6 of 20 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubby Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubby Hostal

Property: Rubby Hostal
Address: Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
woodden constrution, lots of hommocks, balconies,kitchet for customers, free coffe/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rubby Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing