We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chocolate for the heart”

El Quetzal de Mindo Chocolate Tour
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Learn all about chocolate including current production practices. View chocolate making process and techniques: includes discussion of harvesting, fermentation and roasting techniques. You will have a chance to view chocolate making in progress and taste plenty of samples including our famous brownies. Chocolate bars and other locally made products are available for purchase. We also have an evening tour available at a reduced fee if you join both tours. The Leyenda de Chocolate tour takes you back in time experiencing how chocolate was made at least 3,000 years ago.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chocolate for the heart”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

El Quetzal is a great stop on your way through Mindo. Stop by and take their awesome Chocolate tour or sit down and have a bite to eat ( with a cup of coffee, chocolate or beer of course! ) at their cafe.

The staff and the owner are very helpful and I have never seen so many products made from the Choco bean!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    123
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A nice way to spend an evening is on the chocolate tour here. You get some yummy brownies to taste at the end. Our tour guide was very informative.

Helpful?
1 Thank BatmanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molnlycke, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and good information”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We visited El Quetzal in December 2011, so this is not the newest information. We went to El Quetzal for a cup of coffee and a brownie, which were recommended here :) They were both delicious and the stuff was very friendly, so we decided to return next day after our half days walk to the waterfalls. There were only two other persons to participate the tour, but the man still very enthusiastic and we found the tour very informative. It was also cool to see the garden and hear about different plants in the garden, not only coco beans. In the end of the tour we tasted raw chocolate with different spices and also had a change to taste their chocolate cake. And we ended up buying some more coffee and brownies...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Traveller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An unexpected highlight to our visit to Mindo”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We we taken here by our guide. My husband was reluctant but quickly became fascinated as were taken through the process of chocolate making from the cocoa pods through to cocoa powder and cocoa beans ready for export. The owner was knowledgable and gave the tour in both Spanish and English. This was the highlight of our holiday so far and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Helpful?
3 Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy and educational!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Oh my goodness...we started our visit with hot chocolate and brownie as we arrived an hour before the tour started- what a way to begin! Delicious!
George, our guide, was brilliant! He worked so hard to explain everything and answer our questions which were all in English. There were 5 of us altogether, and he took us out onto the land where they grow their own coffee, chilli, tomatoes, ginger, lemongrass, yucca, stevia, guava...all of which they use in their chocolate production (and in their little restaurant - excellent tuna salad sandwich by the way!).
We visited the cacao drying/fermenting greenhouses and tasted their sugarcane, before returning to the building to see their (small) processing plant. George talked us through the whole process, before taking us down to the cafe for a little tasting session where we had bowls of cacao paste, sugar, chilli, ginger honey (they produce that too - and cocoa honey) and bava which is the liquor from the cacoa pods. And to finish off, we were all given a small piece of brownie!
We met George in the street a couple of times after our tout, and he was always delighted to see us and greeted us like zan old friend - this is very much a small cottage industry and the people who work it love what they do.
They have a good range of products for sale - not only chocolate, but cacao in various stages as well - blocks of paste, cocoa powder, nibs, beans...

Helpful?
1 Thank kathton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quetzal de Mindo Chocolate Tour also viewed

 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Quetzal de Mindo Chocolate Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing