We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal experience”

Paz de las Aves Bird Refuge
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surreal experience”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Had the once-in-a-lifetime experience that I will never regret despite the slick descent into the dense cloudforest. Couldn't say which bird was best! The Giant antpitta standing at my feet or the Cock-of-the-rock flying within six feet or the numerous hummers added to my life list. If you're a birder, GO. If you're a non-birder, GO and discover this unique location.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gimbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    28
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A wonderful tour. The birds had a feeding frenzy with the bananas and grapes. There were bright colors flying everywhere.
We saw many species that we have never seen, including the cock of the rock.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caraballeda
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had the opportunity to observe 5 coks of the rock and the dance of "Shakira" a little anpitta.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis_Caraballeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Refugio Paz de las Aves - Awesome birds!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Lekking Andean Cock-of-the-Rocks! They have some secretive birds trained to come out in view for a reward of worms, including Giant Antpitta and Ochre-breasted Antpitta. Nearby, also Ocellated Tapaculo. Must go!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank arleeniebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique Birding Experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Angel Paz and his family started their occupancy of this farm in the typical tradition of hunting birds on their land. Now groups of birders come to watch the rare birds they attract by feeding. A typical visit begins with a trip to a lek, where the odd-looking male Andean Cock of the Rocks attempt to attract females. Then you go and they feed antpittas and other birds. We were very fortunate and saw four species of antpittas the day I was there. Afterwards, you enjoy a typical Ecuadorian breakfast, enjoy the hummingbird feeders and explore other parts of the property -- but only with a guide! This is an incredible place, Angel and his brother Rodolfo are incredible people, and they are living proof that ecotourism can be a desirable alternative. You should be able to book this trip through local lodges and hotels.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paz de las Aves Bird Refuge also viewed

 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Paz de las Aves Bird Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing