We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great breakfast”
Review of Hostal el Rocio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal el Rocio
Ranked #15 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Owner Claudia is really friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Room was reasonably clean (for some reason her maid hadn't shown up to work that week so I'm guessing it's usually cleaner). Willing to let us keep our room until it was time for our bus. Gave us a map and suggestions on things to do and places to eat. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a lovely time. Room was nice and clean. Shared bath had plenty of hot water. Loved the lagoon and hot water. Lots of pets so if you Aren't a dog person then maybe not for you. They are well behaved and don't jump up. If you ignore them its like they aren't even there. great breakfast well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTRUELOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The location is really nice and we totally enjoyed our stay! The price is fair and the accomodation clean. Camping available including a BBQ Area, you can watch kolibis from the Balcony (even without feeding them as many other people in the area do...) , one of the most ecolodgically aware places we have visited. you can also use the Kitchen, which is nice for Backpackers :) It might not be the place for you if you dont like animals - especially dogs. The owner know a lot about the Area like nice places to visit and is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franziska H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I'm staying at hostel el rocio as I write this review. Iv just read the previous review and need to say how wrong i think it is, maybe she was having a crap holiday with her folks and needed to vent! This place is awesome. Firstly the lady who runs the place is a complete character, friendly, helpful and honest about what's good to do in mindo. The building Is a little off the main street, but a 3 minute walk isn't difficult. I'd rather be listening to the forest noises than the cars! The building is a timber house with private rooms and shared dorms ,$10 a night with breaky it's a steal. Of course there are insects and mozzies, your staying in a cloud forest in ecuador, but there are owl butterflies and hummingbirds and plenty of other creatures you would expect to find here, including the owners dogs. I am delighted Im staying here and glad I didn't read such a pessimistic review before I checked it out for my self.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2guysandaguidebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

DO NOT stay at this hostel! Everything but the location is horrible, and even the location is kind of sketchy especially if you're a girl - down the end of a dark, deserted road.
If only one thing had been bad, I'd let it slide... But there were so many things wrong with this hostel, I figured people should know what they're getting themselves into. No one seems to work here except for this one lady who was completely baked the whole time we were there. The rooms are so musty and damp that my 2 girlfriends and I could barely breathe, and they don't have enough mosquito nets for everyone (and the ones they do have have holes in them). In our room we saw 3 cockroaches, and the lady there tried to tell us that all buildings there in Mindo have cockroaches (stay down the street at Caskaffesu, I doubt they have any). There is no hot water despite the fact that they advertise that they have it. It would seem that they don't lock their doors at night, because my friend on the bottom bunk felt some sort of animal brush her back in the middle of the night, and when she jerked away from it the animal scurried across the floor to the other side of the room and then out the door. I hope it was just a dog, but there shouldn't be animals in the dorm anyways.
The worst, however, was that they had made my bed WITHOUT a wool blanket in it - meaning that I had to sleep with only a sheet over me and the top thin blanket. I froze that night, and barely slept at all, even wearing all the warm clothes I had brought with me and my towel laid out over the bedspread. I went downstairs to look for someone, and of course no one was there to find me a blanket, not even the lady who's always high, and all the beds were taken so I couldn't just take one off an empty bed. And worst of all, the next morning when I finally found the lady and told her about what had happened, she started yelling at me, swore at me, told me i should have checked the bed before i got in it (why would i assume it wasnt made correctly?) and told us we'd been nothing but trouble. She said that she's never in 11 years had so many problems with guests, which I highly doubt is true, if this is how she runs her hostel.
So, my experience there was terrible - stay there at your own risk. Ive traveled a lot and ive never stayed in a worse hostel, even in the poorest areas of India. Just know that there are way better places to stay in Mindo - i wouldnt waste $1 a night on this dump, let alone $10.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PG0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Originally a family vacation home, this charming and secluded hostel is tucked snugly in the jungle yet just a few blocks from the central bus station. Claudia, the bilingual owner and host, welcomes her guests like old friends, creating an atmosphere that is immediately familiar, as though you'd grown up there. Her hospitality and outgoing personality define the experience. A local institution, she'll organize adventures from dizzying zip lines to thrilling whitewater rafting to tranquil frog concerts. She'll even draw you a personalized map. The hostel is spacious, with three floors, and two balconies with numerous hammocks overlooking the untamed jungle. Accommodations are flexible, from private rooms with double beds and hot showers to communal bunk beds. At $10 per person per night, including complimentary breakfast, the value is unbelievable. And at any price, the experience is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dima00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Mindo
Guesthouse Mindo
#15 of 48 in Mindo
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal el Rocio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal el Rocio

Address: Calle via Cinto (next to the sports stadium), Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
considered one of the friendliest backpacker hostels in Mindo. hosted by Claudia (from Quito). It is a rustic and natural place just up the road from the sports field and away from the foot traffic in the village, Hostal Rocio (The morning dew) features accommodations for larger groups of 16 or more, as well as, single, double and private rooms for couples. Private or shared bathrooms with plenty of balcony space for hanging out and enjoying the jungle. All rooms include hot water. Depending on the day that you stay a hearty breakfast with generous portions of fresh fruit, bread, and eggs with tea or coffee may be included. The vibe is laid back and peaceful. Lots of birds and squirrels to view from the balconies. Groups with parents and children can be accommodated in separate houses on the property if more privacy is needed. A patio/gazebo with BBQ grill in the jungle is only a short walk from the lodging. Claudia speaks English well and can help you organize day trips to birdwatching, waterfalls, private protected lands and can also pick you up from the Mindo bus station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing