We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious brownies”

El Quetzal de Mindo
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Quetzal is one of the premier restaurants in Mindo, Ecuador. Located only a few blocks from the Parque Central de Mindo, yet located in a quiet area with a river view where you can see hummingbirds, toucans, parrots and quetzals. We serve fresh foods harvested from our own organic gardens. Our menu selection includes authentic Ecuadorian dishes and typical American food options. Freshly made vegetarian options are available daily. Special dishes with chocolate and coffee. Our world-famous brownie. Freshly roasted coffee on site and we make chocolate in all forms and artisan beer. Chocolate making tours daily.
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious brownies”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Best brownies in Ecuador. The chocolate tour needs more samples. Did I mention those brownies though? YUM!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    33
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome,Awesome,Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I were talking about the best dishes we have ever tried from around the world. You know the ones, the dishes you can't stop talking about, the dishes that you compare every other dish to. Since we have gotten back from south america we have not been able to get over how amazing the brownies are at El Quetzal. WOW! I would pay $100 for the recipe. It is just simply just that tasty. They were chewy on the outside and gooey on the inside. The taste was complex and chocolately and just amazing, especially served warm with ice cream. We also had espresso too which was okay. I also ate supper here one time. I remember it being really good but the treasure at this place is the brownies. YOU MUST GET 1 or forever regret it! We were on a budget and usually just ate where all the locals ate but I highly recommend splurging here. My only complaint was some of the clientele that were also eating at the restaurant.There was some pretty horrible, loud-mouthed, arrogant, ex-pat americans there that were complaining about the ecuadorians and how they would ask them for money for things.They were very,very while dressed in suits that screamed money. I am pretty sure paying $1 more for something wasn't going to break the bank for them. Anyways I think they lived in Mindo and hopefully they will read this and learn to keep their voices down. Anywho, it was an awesome place with great staff, highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate, perfect breakfast!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

First discovered El Quetzal via the famous chocolate tour every tourist in Mindo goes to when they get into town. Best chocolate in Ecuador, no doubt, all of it processed here in Mindo. Try their famous brownies and their fudge.

If you're searching for breakfast in the morning, go back to El Quetzal: they serve a delightful omelette FULL of vegetables!!!! It was very tasty and less than $5. An easy sell, if you ask me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best brownie ice cream in the world”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This little cafe tucked on a side street in Mindo, is worth visiting. They make chocolate from beans they grow organically, and they run tours daily. we missed the tour which we heard was interesting , but visited the cafe for brownies and ice cream more than once because they were so delicious!! We also had breakfast here and it was hearty. We always had great service, but we weren't in a rush. it was nice to sit outside and watch the hummingbird feeders attract different hummingbirds

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m-sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Tour+ Rest-”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The chocolate tour was worth the visite, the products are very tasty, the mistake was staying for a snack and a coffee.
It was not realy busy, but looks like the place is run with some volunteers that have no idea about service and/or the machinery.
We payed a very high price for under average service and very average taste and presentation on coffee or snacks.
WiFi ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quetzal de Mindo also viewed

Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Quetzal de Mindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing