We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Tour+ Rest-”

El Quetzal de Mindo
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Ecuadorean, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: El Quetzal is one of the premier restaurants in Mindo, Ecuador. Located only a few blocks from the Parque Central de Mindo, yet located in a quiet area with a river view where you can see hummingbirds, toucans, parrots and quetzals. We serve fresh foods harvested from our own organic gardens. Our menu selection includes authentic Ecuadorian dishes and typical American food options. Freshly made vegetarian options are available daily. Special dishes with chocolate and coffee. Our world-famous brownie. Freshly roasted coffee on site and we make chocolate in all forms and artisan beer. Chocolate making tours daily. 1.5 hours from Quito
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Tour+ Rest-”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The chocolate tour was worth the visite, the products are very tasty, the mistake was staying for a snack and a coffee.
It was not realy busy, but looks like the place is run with some volunteers that have no idea about service and/or the machinery.
We payed a very high price for under average service and very average taste and presentation on coffee or snacks.
WiFi ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    89
    34
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creative twist to Ecuadorian traditional food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice spot in town, isolated enough to have a nice view and a quiet place, but within walking distance from the main street. The food is excelent, all included, from the appetiziers to the desserts and cocktails. Also really interesting the chocolate factory tour and their chocolate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Svieta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never go for breakfast there!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Took around 20'-30' to prepare breakfast and charge 4,50usd & no coffee or juice included!!! Get a nice breakfast for the same quality, half of the price and FRESH bread down in the town. Better quality & half of the price.

Helpful?
Thank Gaby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElQuetzal, Owner at El Quetzal de Mindo, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not have a great experience at El Quetzal. I will look into the matter and work with our staff and strive to make sure that everyone receives excellent service when visiting our restaurant. We hope that you will give us another chance to show that we are capable of providing great service.

Barbara Wilson
El Quetzal de Mindo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service, don't go.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Six of us stopped by for the chocolate tour and a coffee. We decided not to do the chocolate tour since the place was crowded, loud
and information was not readily available. We sat down and ordered coffee and hot chocolate. The order took over half an hour to come and each drink separately. We had to remind the waiter several times that we were still waiting for our coffee and he was unresponsive. I walked over to the barista twice and he acted rude and basically told me to get over it. We did not do the chocolate tour, seemed overpriced and messy. This place caters to foreigners only. Don't go, the quality of the coffee was subpar and the service was awful.

Helpful?
1 Thank sofgcardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElQuetzal, Propietario at El Quetzal de Mindo, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not receive excellent service while at El Quetzal. We really appreciate your honest feedback and will use this as an example for us to learn to handle a difficult situation in a better way. We had an unusually busy day and were not prepared for the large number of guests that arrived that day. We apologize for not handling the situation well. We hope your next visit to El Quetzal will be up to our usual standard of offering great service. ~Barbara Wilson and Jose Meza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great lunch!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

impressive, sophisticated menu that included a great selection of milkshakes. the tour was nice too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quetzal de Mindo also viewed

Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Quetzal de Mindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing