We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!”

Mindo Canopy Adventure
Ranked #1 of 13 Outdoor Activities in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mindo Canopy Adventures The best, safest and the origianal canopy tour in Mindo
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a fantastic place to go for a hike and take lots of pictures of nature at it's best. This is definitely a trip that you dedicate a day to. Don't forget to bring lots of water, you will need it as you will get a great workout here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 519Homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    52
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Fun Staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed this tour. The staff will let you go "superman" or "mariposa" which I definitely suggest you try (It's upside down or superman-style)! There are some hikes involved- the 1st one and another toward the end are the hardest, though I think this might be a struggle for some people who are out of shape especially if this is a higher altitude than you are used to. Also- wear pants and tuck them into high socks as the biting flies are vicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Ahhs and exercise”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

13 individual ziplines over jungle and deep canyons will satisfy any thrill-seeker left in you.

Yes, they ought to warn you that you will have some good trail-based climbing to get to all of them. Guessing easily 500 feet up well-maintained routes. But you're at around 9000 feet altitude, so take that into consideration, particularly if you have any cardiac or respiratory issues. Compared to most other parts of the world, VERY low cost. Around $15-25. Also can do just a few zips for much less. Also, wonder of wonders, NO release forms to fill out.

Well done safety briefing and precautions. No injuries for our group of around ten. Flies: some. Biting flies: zero. Butterflies of many varieties. The guides will also aid you in doing the Superman position or the butterfly where you're hanging pretty much upside down.

Just up the road is another good hike way down to the cataracts. This trail is somewhat more dicey. You'll need good shoes. Minimal charge for parking. Eventually come to a great water slide and some free diving areas. But, once you're down, you also will have to climb back up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's safe, but security warnings could be better”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ive done many canopies in my life, and thanks to that I know more or less what to do.

Mindo canopy is very nice, with great views. Despite, I believe the guides could offer deeper safety instructions to tourists.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun and great views. . .although I worry about safety”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We took our chances and went to Mindo Canopy Adventure after seeing their signs promising 'international and national' safety certificates. Of course, we have no way of knowing what that means or actually how safe these are.
The zip lines were awesome, running across a huge valley with gorgeous views- a real thrill! . It cost $15 and took about 1 1/2 hours to do the entire course (I think 15 lines)

The guides were all very young (in their teens/early 20's I would guess, and not much English) and didn't seem completely professional or safety concerned. They encouraged people to do some crazy stuff that would never fly in the US: like the "mariposa" were the person hangs upside down with the guide behind you, or the "super man" where you lay flat out with your arms out. I am terrified of heights so didn't try these moves which looked pretty dangerous especially the Mariposa!
Two of my friends received minor injuries: one came in too fast off the zip line and the guide wasn't prepared because he was still unloaded the person before, and my friend got caught up in the 'stopper' lines and got really deep rope burns on his legs. The other found her glove was wearing out and getting very hot while she went down the line so she didn't hold on tight, and she lost her hold on the line, and swung upside down and came screaming in fast and luckily escaped with just a shoulder rope burn.

I just read when I got home about the other zipline company in town having a fatal accident in May of 2012 where a cable broke - given this, I don't think I would ever risk zip lining in Ecuador again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank QualResearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mindo Canopy Adventure also viewed

Mindo, Pichincha Province
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Mindo Canopy Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing