We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Dragonfly Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn B&B
Ranked #4 of 20 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Monroe, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just wonderful. Right in town, which I think is a must for first-timers in Mindo. Quiet, clean, comfortable. We stayed two nights and would stay here again without question. A really beautiful place. Breakfast was superb and plentiful (we only had one breakfast because we left for a bird-watching tour at 5am the first day (but they gave us a tolerable but not very good bagged lunch as part of the deal). The staff are fine and friendly, though the ones we met did not know much English and our Spanish-speaking daughter was very useful. This place is a gem - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
64
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honduras
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a teacher who had previously lived in Quito, Ecuador. I found the location to be perfect and the staff very friendly and attentive. The food was also delicious!

My room was on the top floor and it was a bit hot during the daytime. I found it uncomfortable to be able to take a nap. Not saying you would expect AC, just a small fan for the room which is located in what would normally be an attic. Bathroom was also a bit dated.

Loved the concept about shoes off before entering the room area, though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Dragonfly Inn is an absolutely wonderful and charming Inn. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We slept like logs in the comfortable beds with the tranquil sounds of the stream lulling us to sleep. The food was delicious and the dining area was clean and comfortable to dine in. I highly recommend this inn to anybody traveling to Mindo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Two blocks from the bus station, the Dragonfly Inn is simply, but nicely decorated, has a great restaurant and is conveniently located from the attractions like zip lining, waterfalls and bird watching. My room overlooked the nice gardens and the hummingbirds were frequent visitors to the feeders. I had read other trip advisor reviews and decided to get my laundry done here-certainly glad I did! It was cheap, fast and perfectly folded. The only downside was the bathroom seemed to be needing an update and the street dogs were quite noisy at night-just bring earplugs. I would most definitely stay here again! And if you're wondering how to get here from Quito- go to the Ofelia bus station and take the Flor de Valle bus. Check the times online and keep an eye on your belongings!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The property itself if very nice. Beautiful wood building, right on a creek with hummingbirds. The rooms are nice (but not on the cheap end compared to others) and the restaurant has pretty good food. My problem wasn't with the property but with the location. I stayed here 2 nights and both nights I was woken and kept up by barkin dogs outside. There are lots of stray dogs and they would literally stand right outside my window and bark all night and get in fights. This would also rile up the dogs in the homes and they would bark as well. Maybe it was just bad luck for me but both night I stayed here it happened. Next time I'm going to stay in one of the other places just out of town, but within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A beautiful and conveniently located guesthouse. I simply loved my room with its wooden interior, dragonfly-shaped hooks and really comfy duvet. Nice bathroom with beautiful mirror. The breakfast was delicious and the laundry service quick, perfect and inexpensive.
Although the Dragonfly is located right at the main street which involves some noisy traffic during daytime, at night it quiets down so sleeping soundly is no problem at all. Hearing the sounds of the nearby river makes sleeping at the Dragonfly even more delighting. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. Nice detail: one staff member even wore dragonfly earrings one day.
Hope to be back to the Dragonfly to enjoy the beautiful surrounding cloud forest one more time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Dragonfly Inn in June 2010, I am just getting around to doing the review. This was a wonderful B&B. The rooms are small but very clean with balcony and swing. The rooms are done in all wood with big windows. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. They request that you remove your street shoes before going into your room (bring slippers) because the floors are beautiful hardwood and very well kept. We had breakfast each morning fruit, cereal eggs. very tasty. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: our room was on the top floor better view of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janielou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
2.1 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#3 of 20 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn B&B

Property: Dragonfly Inn B&B
Address: Avenue Quito and Sucre | Chaupi River, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Dragonfly Inn - located in Mindo, Ecuador along the Canchupi River. At the Dragonfly Inn we offer clean rooms with private bathrooms, comfortable beds and covered outdoor balconies with hammocks. The bathrooms are equipped with hot showers that provide excellent water pressure. Each room is finished with sealed wood paneling, wood floors and French doors that access an outdoor balcony. Screened windows provide adequate ventilation. Room rates include a delicious breakfast in an attractive restaurant setting. Plants and hummingbirds abound from the restaurant balcony overlooking the garden patio along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dragonfly Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing