We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay in Ilhabela”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Refugio das Pedras
Ranked #50 of 113 Ilhabela B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in Ilhabela”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay! Highly recommend it. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The garden is stunning! For breakfast they prepare their own bread and it is served by the owner of the pousada. The personal touch and attention to detail is what I appreciated the most. Also, nearby is a great restaurant called All Mirante from where one can have a wonderful view of the sea with sunset.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

One of the best places we have every stayed in. The minute we saw this place we were tingled all over with joy. It is as beautiful as their website describes it, or should i say even more.A small pool with a beautiful lounge next to it, where you can just relax and forget the world. A well kept garden with little insects running around. A paradise in short!
The family who runs this place showered us with love and took care of us as their own. They picked and dropped us off at Sao Paulo and took us on tours around Ilhabela too. The breakfast was just delicious and fresh
Ilhabela is so full of surprises. A must visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavithra31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This pousada was in a beautiful spot and I loved how it was built into the landscape. It was out of the village and as we had no car we had to catch the local buses. This wasn't too much of an issue for us but if you are only staying for a couple of days without a car this will limit what you can see on the island.

It was a great place to stay and the breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The couple who owns it is amazing! They are accomodating, lovely and sweet.
The place is out of this world... it´s more than you can get in your ordinary B&B.
The setting is amazing, cozy and in all the honesty a tropical paradise. Quiet, comfortable, stunning sunset views and delicious complementary breakfast that Mrs. Maria, the owner´s wife makes herself! I didn´t feel like I was in a B&B... I felt like home! Can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyresende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The tempting website (found via the LP) and little time to prepare for our 'corpus christi' break made us to decide to book this lovely pousada. If there's one thing that upsets me is nice photoshopped websites that are all but representative. Well in this case; no worries, what you see is what you get. Its a lovely family run, daughter and spouse were there for a couple of months; he taking care of the bar (caipirinha's!) and she giving good massages - hope she gets a trainee soon before they leave again.. the view on the ocean is perfect, basically everything is there, its a very quiet place. A 100pct recommendation. Not cheap (i find pousada's in brazil very expensive in general these days - also thanks to the (too) strong local currency), but compared to the market real value for money. Currently they give a free massage with your booking. it's somewhat remote located, but what do you want on an island like this.. quietness.. A trip to one of the many beaches is not more than a couple of 10-20 min. Rooms are elegant (not over the top though, if very critical; some parts a little cheap), but very much blended in the natural environment. Breakfast is perfect, all fresh and with a lot of attention (up to 12h, also nice). All in, a 8.5 out of 10 for us!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XWillemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We loved to stay at the Refugio das Pedras. Its a small hotel with a swimmingpool and a lovely lush garden with many exotic birds. Delightful breakfast - each morning with a different setting and a great varity of choice: fruits, eggs, breads, juices...Recommendable is to rent car to explore the surroundings. Its a romantic, quiet place - very good for relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
83.4 mi away
Hotel da Ilha
Hotel da Ilha
#19 of 23 in Ilhabela
198 reviews
88.6 mi away
Hotel Ilhabela
Hotel Ilhabela
#15 of 23 in Ilhabela
201 reviews
82.9 mi away
Pousada Villaggio Assis
Pousada Villaggio Assis
#38 of 113 in Ilhabela
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.3 mi away
Solar Singuitta
Solar Singuitta
#18 of 113 in Ilhabela
216 reviews
83.4 mi away
Pousada Refugio da Harmonia
88.6 mi away
Pousada Mariola
Pousada Mariola
#1 of 113 in Ilhabela
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Refugio das Pedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Refugio das Pedras

Property: Pousada Refugio das Pedras
Address: Avenida Governador Mario Covas Junior, No 11495, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ilhabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Nature Lovers a charming Resort in Ilhabela! Tranquility, comfort and privacy. Seven cozy suites, designed in rustic style offering the perfect scenery for your holiday! Here the natural geography has been preserved. Breathtaking sunset in our lounge with sea view, swimming pool built on rocks. Details that make the difference. A breakfast which is pure indulgence served in a glass room while you watch the most beautiful birds! 3km away from the nearest beach and waterfalls. Ilhabela is an island located on the north coast of Sao Paulo. 3 hours from Guarulhos Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Refugio das Pedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Refugio Das Pedras Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing