We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my expectations!”
Review of Hotel Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mercedes
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were celebrating our honeymoon and from the reviews and web page for the hotel were very excited to visit this hotel.   When we arrived the staff was friendly (that was the best part).  We checked in and were escorted to our room.   The room was large however it smelled musty  and moldy and had very old style furniture.   I asked for a room change which was granted and we went to the next room.  It was still a bit musty but better than the first room.  We unpacked and headed to the pool, it was much smaller inperson and only 4 1/2 feet deep at the deepest end.  Not much of a beach or any chairs on the beach.  The bar is next to the pool area where there is a small and expensive menu and we found out the bar closes at 10pm.  There is no bar inside the hotel.   The game room is musty and moldy, you could see the mold on the walls.  The TV room is very musty and they have 2 cats that occupy the space at times.  I could go on for a long time but here it is in a nutshell, we checked out early due to poor conditions of the hotel.  No refund either.    Don't waist your hard earned money on this hotel.  I hope this review helps with your vacation plans.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercedes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 376 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel is brilliant. It's built onto the rocks of the hill of Ilhabela, so the rocks appear in areas of the hotel lobby, and hallways. The stream and falls that splits the two sections of the hotel is surrounded by colourful bougainvillea, and orchids. Throughout are memorabilia, books, beer steins and collectibles the owners have amassed. It is immaculate throughout. The continental breakfast was amazing, tons to choose from. The bar, pool and beach facilities across the street was perfect. Also very well maintained and the service was extremely good and everyone was very pleasant. This is a perfect spot close enough to the "Villa" the small but bustling village and private as well. NB, do not attempt to visit the beaches in Castelhana in your own car. Rent a jeep, take a jeep, hitchhike a life from a jeep, but do not take a car.... it seems like you can make it but on the other side of the mountain, it's mud up to your thighs for days! But book the Mercedes, it's a great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaggieTrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Bit expensive for what you get, IMO - especially at the off-reason, which is when we traveled. The rooms etc were fine enough, though our a/c was not working.

Breakfast was a bit weak, as were the opening hours of the restaurant.

The staff were nice enough, but I swear one guy just came in his PJs to work one day! ha

Bit out of the city centre.

Really nice building though, half inside and half out -- pretty cool! Didn't use the pool area, but it looked nice as well. Would stay elsewhere next time but this place worked just fine so it would be fine to stay there too again if that came up.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. However, we were travelling out of season and considering the size of the hotel, it might be crowded during the season. The hotel is set up with big hallways and a huge and beautiful breakfast room so it might still be very good then.
The staff did not speak English on arrival, but felt bad about it and tried their best to help us with any questions. Later, an English speaking receptionist was present and he was also helpful.
The hotel has a swimming pool and sunbeds close to sea, which is hugely enjoyable.

The center, with most restaurants, is a few km's further down the road. Without a car, you need to take the hourly bus, which is bumpy ride with loud music, or you can take a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

"The best hotel in Ilhabela! Great location, really big rooms, amazing breakfast and very good service. The pool is really the best part of the hotel. It is situated in the middle of 2 beaches, almost above the ocean! Just great!!!"

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank viajanteamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

On 1st. January I had been in Ilhabela with a MSC cruise.
I found the island very nice and immediatelly I planned to come back.
Now I returned to Brazil though Sao Paulo and I stayed 5 days in Hotel Mercedes.
The local is very actractive with a good localization in front of the sea and a spectacular view from Seasuites.
The staff is kind and helpfull and the service of restaurant pretty good.
The swimmingpool is just asside the ocean and very beatiful as the small beach.
The negative point of Mercedes are the rooms , not very large, with a very simple and poor furniture.
In our room not even a chais existed.
A 4 stars that deserves only 3+

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUROPEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: O quarto é muito tranquilo, mas ouve-se tudo , qdo o hóspede do lado se encontra no quarto.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anamiasiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
5.2 mi away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
902 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ilhabela
Hotel Ilhabela
#15 of 23 in Ilhabela
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Itapemar Hotel
Itapemar Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ilhabela
311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ilhabela
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercedes

Address: Av Leonardo Reale 2220, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range: $130 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mercedes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercedes Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing