We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at DPNY beach hotel, Ilhabela for a week and enjoyed a lot with friends. There are indoor and outdoor swimming pool, restaurant, garden, picnic area and much more facilities available in this hotel. Room services are great and food quality was very nice. and If anyone will visit this hotel first time then keep in mind that pets not allowed, children under 18 must have photo ID and birth certificate and 12 years old and younger children are not allowed at this hotel. Overall, very nice experience and I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
There are newer reviews for DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent a weekend here while working in Sao Paulo. It was the perfect escape from the city. We rented a car and drove along the coast and had no problem driving onto the ferry. We stayed in a room on the other side of the road to save money and the room was big, clean and the bed was very comfortable. There are big umbrellas everywhere in case it is raining and you need to cross back and forth.

We really enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price. It runs until 1pm so you can sleep in and still enjoy it. Champagne was included. Also loved the sushi restaurant which we had once for dinner and then for lunch. Ate at Troia the last night which was good pasta, but actually probably my least favorite place we ate at. The last night we stayed was a Sunday and there was a free wine tasting in the evening which was lovely.

During the day we relaxed on the beach or at the pool and it was nice that the comfortable beds and chairs and towels were all included. Service was spotty to get a drink on the beach, but once you tracked someone down they were attentive. We also appreciated that the water sports were included in the price. We did stand-up paddleboarding while we were there.

I thought the service was spectacular -- the morning we were leaving there was a bad storm and the front desk continually called the ferry for us and let us know when it was open.

Valet parking is included in the price.

Since you have to pay for water everywhere, my tip is to refill in the reception area where they have pitchers of flavored water.

And check out the beautiful handmade tile everywhere!

Room Tip: "Outro lado" rooms are great if you want to save money
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent a five day minivacation here, and must say, the place itself is great. Beautiful pool and beach area, nicely decorated areas and very peaceful location. We had the Suite, which has groovy decoration with a large private terrace overlooking the pool and the sea, really worth it! The other room for children was really small and dark, so nothing to recommend. The hotel has several restaurants, but the food is very average. The sushibar is slow, but their sushi is very good and reasonably priced. Also the dishes at the beach were quite decent. The one major issue is their service; At the beach and pool area it worked quite nicely with friendly service, but in the evenings, it is very slow and not that attentive.
One curiosity is that if you arrive on Sunday, your check-in time is at 9pm! I understand that they try to offer sunday leavers an extra day at beach, but for the ones arriving, is a real drag! Nobody wants to drive from Sao Paulo at dark, and it would be nice to at least to have settled down and showered before dinner. I would suggest that if they have people arriving on Sunday, give late check-out for leaving ones until 3 or 4pm, but let arriving guest to check in at 6.pm. At our arrival we spent time at the pool bar, bored and tired, and requested wi-fi code: we got it four hours later, after several requests!
The hotel has a spa services, but unfortunately I cannot recommend them, since I had a very bad experience with a rough treatment. We requested next day a doctor, which never arrived.
Also be aware of insects, the bites are itchy and the marks last long.
Despite of these problems, the place has lot of potential and in general we had a great stay enjoying their premises. The management should pay more attention to keep their service level constant and improve the quality of the food, instead of complacently referring to their awards whenever there is a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expataecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure if it worth the title of "Best Beach Hotel" in South America, but it is regally a great hotel! Nice location, great service, awesome food! On reservations ask for a room on the beach side of the hotel (there are rooms on both sides of the road. On the "other" side you must cross the road to get to the beach, pool, restaurants...
Service at the swimming pool isn't very good, but its great at the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to this wonderful hotel for 4 days, and we loved it. To get there we flew to Sao Paulo and took the bus to Sao Sebastiao, later the ferry to the island and then a taxi from the port. It took a while but it´s very easy to reach.
We stayed in the rooms at the other side of the road, and they were great and it wasn´t an issue to cross the street to reach the hotel.
The hotel is so beautiful, laid back and relaxed that it´s difficult to forget. Breakfast was a feast, and if we return we would take at least one extra meal in the package, because there´s not a lot of things around of the hotel.
In addition to spending the day in the beach we visited the cachoeiras and they were like a dream.
My only "complaint" is that they should work a little more in having more staff that speaks English.
I would love to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dania15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited Ilhabela on recommendation by some friends who live in Sao Paulo and found this hotel via Trip Advisor. We were delighted with the hotel. Fantastic boutique bed rooms with an amazing view of the beach. The staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful - particularly as Brits who cannot speak any Portuguese. The Spa was great and the private beach and facilities were beautiful. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the DPNY twice this year and It sure is the best beach hotel in Brazil. I have been to the northeast (Salvador, Fortaleza, Fernando de Noronha, Recife, etc), but this southern hotel is by far the best of all that I have visited. The rooms are very fine decorated, with a very comfortable king size bed. The first time room service was only till 2am, but now it is 24h. As the hotel is about 3h drive from Sao Paulo, we arrived late at night, but could still enjoy a bottle of champagne in our room. The island is not crowded because you have to take a ferry boat (with your car on it) to get there. I find this a positive point because I hate crowded places. The hotel is right at the beach (as you can see in many pictures). Service is excellent. Breakfast with champagne is awesome! Lounge music all over the place, including at the beach. You can lay down in many of the bed around and have a bottle of cool white wine while enjoying the ocean. Don't go alone, this place is mainly for couples or families. There is also a fancy restaurant at night, with a great selection of French, Italian, Portuguese, American and Chilean wines. Really worth the trip.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the rooms. They are all great. You will NOT spend much time there. The beach c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
3.9 mi away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
9.0 mi away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
901 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ilhabela
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Ilha
Hotel da Ilha
#17 of 23 in Ilhabela
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
TW Guaimbe Exclusive Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Spa Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Family Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range: $223 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing