We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited Ilhabela on recommendation by some friends who live in Sao Paulo and found this hotel via Trip Advisor. We were delighted with the hotel. Fantastic boutique bed rooms with an amazing view of the beach. The staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful - particularly as Brits who cannot speak any Portuguese. The Spa was great and the private beach and facilities were beautiful. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 2,862 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the DPNY twice this year and It sure is the best beach hotel in Brazil. I have been to the northeast (Salvador, Fortaleza, Fernando de Noronha, Recife, etc), but this southern hotel is by far the best of all that I have visited. The rooms are very fine decorated, with a very comfortable king size bed. The first time room service was only till 2am, but now it is 24h. As the hotel is about 3h drive from Sao Paulo, we arrived late at night, but could still enjoy a bottle of champagne in our room. The island is not crowded because you have to take a ferry boat (with your car on it) to get there. I find this a positive point because I hate crowded places. The hotel is right at the beach (as you can see in many pictures). Service is excellent. Breakfast with champagne is awesome! Lounge music all over the place, including at the beach. You can lay down in many of the bed around and have a bottle of cool white wine while enjoying the ocean. Don't go alone, this place is mainly for couples or families. There is also a fancy restaurant at night, with a great selection of French, Italian, Portuguese, American and Chilean wines. Really worth the trip.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the rooms. They are all great. You will NOT spend much time there. The beach c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been 3 times in this hotel and it is really one of the best beach hotels in Brazil (Notably, we must consider that our hotels in Brazil are overall terrible). For a beach hotel in Brazil, this hotel is great, the rooms are simply perfect and breakfast is very good. Spa is nice, as well the swimming pool. The beach (praia do curral) is quite nice and calm. The overall services are quite nice and well performed. However, considering all my visits to the hotel since the first time some years ago, I must say that the restaurant got worse as compared to the first time and the overall personnel service is still limited, although I could observe an increase in the number of personnel available in the beach and restaurants. The services are overall slow and most of personnel is not adequately prepared, this should be improved as well as the food provided by the restaurant. Since it is a difficult place to run or do some exercise, I would really recommend to build a fitness center, I really do not understand why they do not have one. My overall evaluation of this hotel is great, especially considering that the overall quality of hotels in Brazil is not good. Good cost/benefit relationship by using the special packages.

Room Tip: All rooms from the main building are nice. Save some money without loose quality by choosing the fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDRE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Where to start? Should start by everything that did not work to finish on a positiv note.

My husband and i wished to spend a week in a beautiful place and relax, just being on a beautiful beach,read...
Well, first, be aware that its not a BEACH Hotel its a CLUB HOTEL. You have music from early morning to late at night...we had to call front desk many nights to ask them to stop the music, since it was as if the music was played inside our room.

There isn't any moment of tranquility in that hotel.

They have long chairs on the beach, which could be nice, if the matress did not have cotton pieces to put over...it rains every day and they leave these cotton pieces there, its quite disturbing and disgusting.
And they have no organisation so everythg you ask for takes an hour to be done.

Breakfast only starts at 8am, which is surprising but would not have bothered me if it did start at 8am, nothing was ready before 8.20am.
As you be able to see on the pics i posted, breakfast was made more of flies than food, it was really disgusting.
we had to complain every morning to the people there but unless you call for a manager nothing is done.

Worst was diner, BE VERY CAREFUL. If you have a package with diner included, beverages are not included and every night they will ask you to sign for the bill. Watch out because most of the staff will already put a tip on ur bill which is supposed to be at the client's discretion.

And they put the tip on the whole diner amount, which means they calculate it over a diner that you have already paid.
And one night that we had diner offered, they run after us in our room to make us sign a bill which was only the tip! unbelievable!!

We had dead cocroaches under the bed which means they dont clean hiddden places.
These are the main problems, i dont bother writing about the small ones,wont have enough space!

POSITIV POINTS:

The Staff, is very welcoming , they have no training at all to be able to solve the problems but they try.

The management team: Guilherme , Laeticia( hope i spell it right),Ricardo, they were all wonderful and very very helpful!!
without them we would have leave the hotel onday one!

The location of the hotel is wonderful, magic, the view from the beach is amazing, like heaven!

Our room (60) was good, big enough with a huge terrasse that gave on the swimming pool and the beach. fantastic view.
We had a jaccuzi inside the room which was really nice.

The BED is one of the best argument they have, for it was sooo comfy!

We wont be returning because its not the kind of place we look for, and its not worth the price we paid...hope it will one day!

Room Tip: room 60 has jaccuzi but is above swimming pool, and has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celine200777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPNYBeachHotel, Gerente geral at DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame Céline,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir partagé vos commentaires, cela nous permettra certainement d’améliorer nos services afin d’offrir la meilleure prestation possible à nos clients.

Le concept de l’hôtel est d’offrir une atmosphère parfaite à tous nos visiteurs :
Une architecture moderne
Une belle vue sur la plage
Du confort
De la gastronomie
Et de la musique

En ce qui concerne notre musique, nous avons déjà lancé 4 CDs, et c’est la raison pour laquelle beaucoup de clients nous connaissent.
Nous avons des DJs professionnels qui travaillent sur le développement de la « deep house », et qui mènent des recherches mondiales dans ce domaine.

Le DPNY Beach Hôtel est réputé pour offrir une escapade romantique aux couples, dans une ambiance paisible et incomparable.
Pendant l’été, il y a certains week-ends où l’hôtel est un peu plus animé, mais offrir la tranquillité à nos clients reste toujours notre objectif.

Nous avons un nouveau gestionnaire, responsable du programme de consolidation de l’’équipe.
L’hôtel soutient les nouveaux professionnels et valorise la main-d’œuvre locale.
Aujourd’hui nous employons plus de 170 travailleurs d’Ilha Bela et de la région, et nous sommes fiers de participer de la formation de jeunes dans leur première profession.
L’hôtel a développé un programme qui reçoit environ 150 stagiaires chaque année, ayant pour but leur préparation au marché du travail.
Nous sommes conscients que la professionnalisation requiert un développement de compétences professionnelles particulières, des entraînements et une beaucoup de surveillance. C’est pourquoi nous avons un personnel engagé dans ce projet, y compris nos gestionnaires, comme Guilherme et Leticia, qui vous avez connu.

Nous nous excusons pour tout inconvénient pendant votre séjour.
Nous vous assurons que nous travaillons fort afin qu’aucune de ces situations ne se reproduisent plus.

Nous serions vraiment heureux de pouvoir vous recevoir de nouveau, pour vous montrer la réelle expérience DPNY, l’expérience que vous et tous nos clients méritent.

Nous sommes à votre entière disposition pour tout renseignement complémentaire.
Nous vous prions d’agréer, Madame Céline, l’expression de nos sincères salutations.

Heiko Obermuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to DPNY with my boyfriend during a local holiday and we had an awesome time. Hotel is amazing, right at the beach, great facilities, great room and great service. I've got to say that was during the low season - some people say service is not that good during summer - but my experience was the best.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel had gone through management changes and now the service especially at the restaurants had improved.

However,it is still not famous for being very fast so expect to take 40 mins+ to have your main dish serve or longer if the restaurant is full.
Nevertheless the restaurant location is very pleasant you can have great wine and good conversations with your companions while waiting snacking on the bread, pate, fruits etc.

This hotel prides itself on good music with its own house DJ all day. The rooms are funky and the suites are very large and comfortable. The bed sleep quality is outstanding.

Beach club bar service is actually slower so make sure you are not in a hurry or very hungry when ordering. It is a very pleasant spot to have lunch or have coconut water and many of its non alcoholic juices. The area is also center for IT and water sports and beach actions.

The buffet breakfast which is very good and with huge variety and plenty.Breakfast served til 1 PM and Sunday Brunch are fabulous.( Buffet til 11 :30 and a la carte til 13:00h).

DPNY is the best beach boutique hotel in Brazil for me from location to its international service, and everything it offeres.

The hotel is the best in the island and the location is very pleasant for relaxing weekends or weekdays ( for a quiet break).

If you need to go to town daily, the hotel has taxi service and will take about 20 mins - 30 mins.

There is only 1 other OK restaurant near by. The next good one is in the town which is about 30 mins + away and might be interesting to go once if you are interested visiting the cute city the first time.

If you are in Ilhabela to relax and not trying to go to the city or to the Yacht Club then it is the place to be. I would not recommend anywhere else!

Congratulations for keeping the standard and continuous improvement.

I'm a fan!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms. It is worth the price. "Suite Masters" are much larger and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPNYBeachHotel, Gerente geral at DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear TWWS,
Thank you for your comments. We are very glad to hear such nice compliments.
As you mentioned the hotel is under management changes in order to offer our guests a better service. Delivering great service is our target and we will keep working to achieve it in every visit to every guest.

Thank you for recommending us.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Heiko Obermuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is located right at the beach and offers everything you'll need to relax (or even exercise). You can enjoy your day just lounging in their nice chairs placed on the sand, or go for some kayak fun.
Stay by the beach the whole day and evening - you can listen to some cool music (the hotel has some kind of DJ most of the time) while sipping drinks and enjoying the view. Sunset is particularly amazing on that location.

The place can offer a really romantic stay for couples but it is also good for families, where kids can enjoy the pool, kayaks and stand up paddles of simply sand and water fun close to their parents. The beach where the hotel is located has very calm water so there are no dangerous waves for the little ones.

The rooms are not very big but very functional and conformable. Great attention was given to the details, specially decoration and architecture. You'll have plenty of picture opportunities on this place.

The restaurant offers really good food, but can be considered pricey for Brazilian standards. The breakfast (most of the times included) is a buffet with great selection of fruits, breads, pastries, juice, everything fresh.

Staff usually speaks English and it is attentive all the time.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPNYBeachHotel, Gerente geral at DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Kelly D
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We were glad to hear such nice compliments, so rich of details.
The hotel works to offer guests option for leisure (kayak, stand up paddle, pool, the beach), to relax (SPA and beauty center) and for nice cuisine (with a Sushi Bar, Mediterranean Troia Restaurant and our Beach Club) all inside the hotel.
We hope to see you back soon. We will certainly have some new dishes for you to taste.
Best regards
Heiko Obermuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilhabela
3.9 mi away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
9 mi away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 27 in Ilhabela
980 reviews
7.8 mi away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#5 of 27 in Ilhabela
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#3 of 27 in Ilhabela
448 reviews
7.3 mi away
Itapemar Hotel
Itapemar Hotel
#7 of 27 in Ilhabela
331 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nau Royal Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. Jose Pacheco do Nascimento, 7668 | Praia do Curral, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
#1 Spa Hotel in Ilhabela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range: $221 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DPNY Beach Hotel & Spa Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing