We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not true to the brand”
Review of Gran Nobile Macae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Nobile Macae
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Macae
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Macae - an oil town with oil town hotels! This Sheraton is a poor example of the brand, signs peeling off the walls, air conditioning controls damaged in the rooms, lackluster service, complete rip off ($30+) for a lousy buffet breakfast - don't bother with it!, gym in poor condition and rooms average. Internet painfully slow - but it is everywhere here.
However - the views from the upper floors are spectacular, the rooms are at least a decent size if you are staying more than a week and its within easy walking distance of the beach. For a short stay I'd try one of the cheaper hotels on the beach front - if longer than a week and you want some space go here - really they are much the same in Macae!

Room Tip: Upper floors - 16 and up
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Gran Nobile Macae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. A little expensive, but with the limited hotels in the area, it is to be expected. Restaurant was great for both dinner and breakfast. Staff we were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It is a little hard to get to if you are driving. It is not ocean-front, but if you ask for a room...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Business hotels in Macae are still in short supply. The Sheraton is the nearest you will get to it, if you can get a room. The bigger rooms (junior suite?) are spacious but remain somewhat basic but comfortable and clean. Several niggles about this hotel though, resturant food is ok but the decor and features of the room are stark, as is the bar which is an extension of the resturant.
If you are having breakfast at rush hour put something on your table that identifies that its still occupied. So many times I have some fruit or cerial then got up to get something else only to come back within a minute to find the table cleared and someone else sitting in my seat. Rooms, kettle in room but no mugs/cups or anything to put in them if you did, no plugs in sinks etc.
Low rooms at the front have to suffer the disco on the other side of the road that from Thursday goes through to about 4-5am.
Access is also now a nightmare, apart from having the Ibis next door there is now a small gym opened as well and this is attracting a lot of traffic, its been taking us up to 15 minutes to move 150m.
However, until further investment in more hotels, (that are desperately needed due to lack of capacity now), this remains the best of the bunch.

Room Tip: upper floors to distance yourself from the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A OK hotel to stay, nice view from the room if you get one in the high ground. The drawbacks is however what I want to highlight, as it really differs from most other hotels I have stayed.

What makes this stay unpleasant is generally the poor service of the hotel staff. It is clear that thay have a lot of buisness customers which generally do not care, and do not have to pay themselves.

Expect your calls to be hung up if you have any unclear questions.

Generally, I would guess that you would not feel welcome in this hotel, mainly because of its "fake"-like atmosphere.

Believe it or not I am generally a happy and positive guy, and I usually do not write any complaints what so ever. After this stay however, I just felt that I had to.

I am just glad that I did not had to pay for this visit myself.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a roome with a balcony if you shoud decide to stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brutusn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I'll start this review by saying that this could be the best hotel in terms of facilities in Macae with SPG standards in that matter. but it has lots of cons:

- Location: its located about 200 mts from cavaleiros beach, you will need to descend a small hill, cross the rail roads, cross a big avenue and then walk one more block to the beach. If you want to go to the nice area where the restaurants and bars are, you will need to walk about 10 more blocks.
- Service: Worst service ever! people at the front desk is rude and not willing to help, they will always come up with excuses of their bad service and they will ever turn their heads on you while you are talking to them, transfer you to 10 more people before some one can help you. I been in the hotel for at least 30 days and since the first day I asked to change my room phone since its not working, guess what? I'm still waiting I've called at lead 6 times with no answer.
- Food: Food is bad in this place, they even served me a rotten avocado in a sandwich, off course NO apologize or a simple "sorry" its part of their bad service.
- INTERNET is a complet crap! you will pay 29 reais (15 USD) PER DAY!! for a 0.16 Mbit/sec download speed and a 0.21 Mbit/sec upload speed. YOU WONT BE ABLE TO RECIEVE LARGE EMAILS OR WATCH A SIMPLE YOUTUBE VIDEO!

So, you might find a place where you pay less with better service and amenities! with good facilities! WATCH OUT!

Room Tip: Rooms at the ocean view are the ones that are not facing the ocean but had a lateral view. Its Ok!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was on an extended business trip to Macae and stayed at the hotel. The hotel seems like a new construction and my room had excellent views. The hotel is easily, the tallest building in Macae so the views from the rooms are really good, especially if you get a room with the view of the beach. The rooms were clean and the room service pretty good. What really won me over though were the staff and their service. I received excellent service throughout the stay. During my extended stay I had to leave the hotel for two nights and they worked with me to ensure that nothing was amiss when I came back. Overall for business and for other travel (if you are coming to Macae) I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The tallest hotel in Macae, so some great views. Bedrooms (in ascending price) are Classic, Superior, Preferred, De-Luxe and then suites. I had a De-Luxe and it was very comfortable but not especially luxurious. It did have a very useful work desk with good lighting and a comfortable chair. Air conditioning in the bedroom was excellent. The bar is quite small and not very comfortable, and the draft beer was promised but unavailable. I ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning and that was very good. Broadband internet access has an additional charge which I think is poor when other hotels in town offer it free of charge. The tall hotel is well-served by elevators and I never had to wait. Why do hotels in Brazil never have a plug to hold water in the wash basin - don't people need to shave?

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel, and particularly above the 10th floor have excellent sea views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macae hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantica Macae Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Macae
Comfort Suites Macae
#1 of 21 in Macae
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Macae Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Macae
Hotel Ibis Macae
#6 of 21 in Macae
502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Macae
2.0 mi away
Macae Othon Suites
Macae Othon Suites
#11 of 21 in Macae
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Nobile Macae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Nobile Macae

Address: Rua Dolores de Carvalho Vasconcelos 110 | Bairo Gloria, Macae, State of Rio de Janeiro 27937-600, Brazil (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Macae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Macae
Price Range: $61 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Nobile Macae 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of Macae, capital of energy, The Gran Nobile Macaé offers international hospitality and spectacular ocean views. The Hotel is a short walk from Cavaleiros Beach and offers an outdoor pool with a bar overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Nobile Macae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Macae
Four Points Macae
Macae Sheraton
Macae Four Points
Gran Nobile Macae Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing