We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option in Macae”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Macae
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Macae
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good option in Macae”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a very cozy hotel. Spacious and clean rooms are available. Wi-fi works well and no negative remarks are to be made with regards to the room.
When it comes to staff, usually they were very helpful and efficient. The only comment is about the wake up calls which sometimes were a bit late.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    299
    72
    18
    7
See reviews for
132
89
16
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is in front of Cavaleiros Beach. The rooms are big and cozy, and the hotel has a nice restaurant too, adjacent to the hall. Really a good choice to pick. I would say it is one of the best in Macaé.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpelacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our Canadian travel agent arranged this Hotel for our last vacation week.
I was not sure what to expect but was surprised and relieved to have this nice Hotel to relax on our last week.

Staff was very nice and helpfull for non speaking Portuguese guests like us. They went the extra mile to help us with taxis, even ensured we had same cab driver pick us up at the game after asking to go to a local soccer game. Always thinking of our safety, thanks.

Rooms were the largest we've had in 3 weeks in many cities in Brazil. TV was good, CNN only English channel with a few others that has English movies once in while. Wireless often crashed every 3-4 minutes in use, depends on time you use it. Not the end of the world.

Breakfast was the best we had in all the Hotels we were at. Debbie and I both loved the omelette bar, simple but perfect for our last week in Brazil. Everyone friendly.

Beach, perfect, not too rough (when compared to Ipanema) but wavy enough to trash you around when you swim, fun times. Local surfers still enjoy the waves. Not an overload of venders on the beach. You can get your "Gelatio" and Cervezas but it's not annoying like Ipanema beach. Ipanema beach in Rio had a vender walk by every 15 seconds and nobody can relax worth a dam on that beach. Macae in front of Comfort Suites was just perfect for us.

We did not eat Dinner at the Hotel, prefering to take a walk at the local restaurants to try out differents places.

Staying around the Hotel and the beach seems the best option.
Did not see many other places to visit on our drive to the soccer game.
As said, it's mostly an oil industry city with helicopters going to oil rigs.
For us, Macae was relaxing as we only wanted sun, water, quiet and friendly people.

It was Carnaval time during our stay, they had music on the beach all weekend, beach fairly busy. A lot more quiet on the beach when work day returned Thursday.

Oh yeah, we canceled driving from Rio here, opted to pay a flight with Azul Air instead from Santos Dumont airport. Oh yeah, way better option.

We were treated with only friendly service from everyone in our 3 week trip in Brazil.
was great!!

Cheers,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Macae is a real oil town so I was not sure what to expect from the Comfort Suites. A pleasant surprise was installed. Comfortable clean room which was pretty big, good reception service (although I had to renew my key card every night, grrrrr), excellent FREE Wi-Fi for 2 devices (important for me). Breakfast upstairs was good with a great view of the bay. Dinner down stairs was nice and simple but still reasonable quality. I was working at the airport, and being on the beach it was not very convenient but at least the Macae traffic is not so bad. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location at the end of the Strand. Many great restaurants within walking distance. Very safe area. Rooms are large and clean. The staff very friendly. Exercise room is disappointing. Don't expect anything but the typical uncomfortable Brazilian mattress though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Doesn't have a rewards program, the food is decent for hotels in the area but nothing that really sticks out for the price you pay. Much improvement is needed in the area of staff and customer service. The rooms are quaint and will do just fine if you want a room for a night or two, but I would not use it for a getaway.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms add a bit of relaxation, otherwise the view just isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

That's the hotel to stay. Great rooms, with a nice desk if you have to do some work, restaurant and breakfast are good. Normally hotel restaurants are rather standard, just dinner for guests, but this you get decent food. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and the shower in the bathroom is one -of not the best-, I've ever seen in a hotel. If you're on a company ticket, this is a better choice than the other brand hotel, including the Sheraton. It's located on Avenida Atlantica, which is the center of all restaurants in Macae, so you can walk and get whatever food you please just a few steps away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macae hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Macae Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Tree Towers Macae
0.9 mi away
Royal Atlantica Macae Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gran Nobile Macae
Gran Nobile Macae
#7 of 21 in Macae
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Macae
Hotel Ibis Macae
#5 of 21 in Macae
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisa Tropical de Macae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Macae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Macae

Property: Comfort Suites Macae
Address: Avenida Atlantica Praia dos Cavaleiros 3036, Macae, State of Rio de Janeiro 27920-390, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Macae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Macae
#1 Business Hotel in Macae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Macae 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Macae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macae Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Macae Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing