We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Macae Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Macae Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Macae
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great hotel, beautiful new rooms, great restaurant, and coaches to seat in front of the beach while having drinks.
Rooms are new, beds are comfortable, AC are silent.
The actual owner can be regularly seen serving the guests at the reception and the restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    106
    46
    8
    0
See reviews for
33
28
5
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good location right on the beach front, this hotel is becoming a little run down and tired. Staff try yo be helpfull but fall short of what you would normally expect in a quality hotel.
My case was taken off me as I arrived but instead of being taken to my room was left unattended in the hotel foya - as I found out when I went searching for it - tried ringing reception but the phones didn't work.
Asked about exchanging some US$ for local currency and was quoted a stupid rate and told they could not give a receipt - SCAM BEWARE.
Value for money is difficult as Macae is an Oil town and ALL prices are therefore inflated

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms are up 2 flights of stairs and close to the lift motors which are noisy - walls are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Im-away-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

If you are in Macae, you will not be on holiday ! I guess you are there due to your work.
Its a basic hotel and the staff are friendly enough. Only a few speak English.
The food is average, and I found breakfast to be the best meal of the day.
Lunch and dinner tend to be the buffet, and choice is OK, but its the same every day.Once you have been ther for a couple of days, you have done the menu.

Bar is OK for a very quiet beer. Internet access was sparodic. The TV cahnnels only show local TV and its all in Portuguese.

Plus side : rooms are large and spacious with double beds that are comfortable. The rooms at the front of the hotel are the best and each bathroom has its own private sauna.

Pool on the roof. Bar on the roof ( never saw it open) . Gym on the roof with a few basic machines.

Not much to do near by. a few bars and eateries are located along the sea front, but they are nothing special.

I was stuck there for a week and almost required therapy on my 'release', as nobody spoke English and I was on my own.

OK for a one night stay. Clean enough, and you can get a meal and a cold beer.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room to get a sea view / large room and a sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Macae is an oil town and the clientele reflects this. The hotel is a very good standard with attentive staff and good sized rooms. Some are better than others but I can't work out the system. Minibar is prohibitive (water at 5 R$) Go to supermarket and stock up. AC unit on the noisy side.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the beach. The rear rooms are adjacent to main road but road noise is not intru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Most people coming to Macae are involved in the oil business. This hotel seems to attract lots of US and UK visitors. The hotel hasn't been open long and everything feels and looks new.

The rooms are very well fitted out with TV, AC, Wireless internet and MiniBar. Everything is very clean and tidy. The hotel has a pool and gym on the roof which overlooks the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant is good, although with so many places to eat out in Macae the options are plentiful.

There are other hotels in Macae like the Gloria Garden which offer bigger rooms for less money but they probably dont have a pool or the beach front location.

Generally speaking if you're in Macae on business then you shouldn't be disappointed with the Royal Macae.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomfoolery_Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat1980
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We are staying at the hotel right now. Went to the front desk and asked how to call out with our at&t calling card. He gave us the number to use and four days later we have a $140.00 phone bill!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

This is a brand new hotel which just opened at the beginning of June just in time for an exhibition in Macaé. The hotel is located on the North end of the busiest part of the beach which is called Cavaleiros or Gentleman Beach.
When I arrived I was greeted by a very nice man who after check in escorted me to me room. He was one of the front men at the hotel and his name was Jean. Jean told me that his Western name was Jim and that Jim was easier to pronounce. When Jean was at the hotel he was always ready to speak to me and use his English, which is very good. My room as you can see in the pictures was very nice, with a king bed, flat screen television, internet access, plenty of room for clothing, a business desk, whirlpool tub, and a dry sauna in the bathroom. Now I must tell you that only the 6 rooms on each of the 6 floors facing the beach have the saunas in the rooms. The hotel offers both a wet and dry sauna on the roof by the pool. The pool was nice and was cleaned every morning, and a workout room is on the roof as well. The hotel offers 24 hour room service, and a nice buffet breakfast each morning.
At the front desk I must tell you, that Gabriela the front desk manager, helped me by working tirelessly to arrange a car to take me back to Rio and a few other stops along the way, as it is a 3 hour drive, because many transport companies do not accept American Express. Please be aware that the hotel does take American Express, but many other businesses do not. Most of the restaurants seem to be sponsored by either Visa, Mastercard or Diners Club, but American Express is not widely accepted not only in Macaé but in South America in general. One block from the hotel and behind it you can find a supermarket in case you want water at a price less then the mini bar price, although the price in the mini bar is not outrageous ( 3,50 Reias ) or about $1.75 USD. Although there do not seem to be many nice choices in Macaé for a hotel, Royal Macaé Palace Hotel is a very good one.
Some notes about Macaé. It is an oil town and although I understand that there are some very nice homes here, the areas in the downtown and behind the beach hotels seems not so nice. People constantly warn you not to wear nice jewelry, or have your cell phone hanging off your belt, because you will get mugged. I was in Macaé for 2 weeks and didn’t get mugged, but I did feel uncomfortable a few times walking back to my hotel. When in doubt, find a taxi. Also there are many stray dogs in Macaé. They dominate the beach area, and no one seems to care. They do not seem aggressive except to some cars, and they just wander all over. On one of my last nights in Macaé, one of my taxi drivers hit and killed one on a very busy road. There were just two dogs standing in the middle of the road doing nothing. I saw the dog, but the driver didn’t. Taxis are not easy to get on a moments notice, if you are going to be in Macaé for a few days, it may be better to arrange a private car and driver to take you where you need to be. The prices seem to be comparable to the cost of a taxi. Near Macaé about 30 km south is Buzios, which is a beautiful beach community, and tourist area. It is recognized by many Brazilians as one of the nicest beaches in Brazil, and you can get there by taxi, or a bus services runs between Macaé and Buzios regularly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbuddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macae hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Macae
Comfort Suites Macae
#1 of 21 in Macae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantica Macae Hotel
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Macae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Tree Towers Macae
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Macae
Hotel Ibis Macae
#5 of 21 in Macae
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Macae
Hotel Mercure Macae
#8 of 21 in Macae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Macae Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Macae Palace Hotel

Property: Royal Macae Palace Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica, 1642 | Cavaleiros Beach, Macae, State of Rio de Janeiro 27920-390, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Macae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Macae
#2 Business Hotel in Macae
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Macae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Macae Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the best beach in Macae, close to the best bars and restaurants in the area, the Royal Macae Palace Hotel emerges as an innovative proposal in Hospitality. With 202 spacious rooms and suites, complete leisure area, restaurant for 200 people and a convention center with 1000 m2, Royal Macae Palace Hotel stands out as the largest structure in the region and hosting events. Our goal is to ensure that your stay or event occurs with high quality and refinement. We have an excellent structure and Leisure Services to make your stay even more enjoyable. The Royal Macae Palace Hotel, you get extensive area with pool, hot tub with a beautiful ocean view, American Bar, sauna and steam room, a fitness center and modern equipped, Internet Wi-fi in all the hotel facilities, currency exchange dollar and euro and a differentiated service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Macae Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Macae Palace Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing