We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a few flaws”
Review of Los Parrales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Parrales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tarija
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a few flaws”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed here for a few nights. The hotel would be rated between 3-4 stars by U,S. standards. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, very good food. One day at lunch though I wanted some lunch but one of the restaurant workers said the restaurant was closed. I went to the front desk to ask again and was told the restaurant was indeed open. Apparently the worker didn't feel like working?

The pool was closed **the entire day** (a Saturday) because of a wedding. Another guest told me this happens frequently. The owners need to recognize this problem and fix it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mejustme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
18
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Nice hotel, great park whit a wonderfoul view of guadalquivir river and tarija city.
Big room and bigger beds. Friendly staff. The breackfast its not so god, but is really cheap.
Swimming pool in this beauty park is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bichogordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I went to Tarija for a family event last November and stayed in this hotel for 10 days. The surroundings are splendid and the views from the restaurant are stunning, overlooking the river Guadalquivir and the mountains. Our room was quite big and comfortable, the service was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was of very high standards. The hotel is situated far from the city centre so we had to take taxis to move around , although the price of a taxi fare was around 10 bolivianos (1 €) so it was not a problem. The gardens are kept in a good condition and the area around the swimming pool is very pleasant .
On the negative side I would mention that hot water takes several minutes to reach the rooms early in the morning , and the spa area could have been cleaner and better kept, some hangers did not hold the weight of a wet towel.
Having been several times to Bolivia , this place was really an exception, a very decent one to stay ,up to european standards for a 3 to 4 star resort. Some effort might contribute to be even better, though.

  • Liked — The views and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — the lack of hot water in some moments
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank columela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

The hotel advertises itself as five star it's not quite there yet but is most definatley the best hotel In Tarija and possibly one of the best in bolivia. Los Parrales is situated about 3km out of town and is set amongst beautiful grounds, as we were there in the winter we did'nt use the outdoor swimming pool but did find the sauna very relaxing. Here I enjoyed the largest hotel bedroom I have ever experienced complete with a king size bed for less than 60 Dollars per night. As with most hotels in Bolivia eating in the hotel costs about the same as enjoying the same quality of food in a local restaurant in fact we had a bottle of wine which would have cost the same if we had bought it in a local store. On the downside (if it matters to you) none of the staff it seemed were able to speak any other language than Spanish but Tarija is a bit of the beaten track but I feel a 5* hotel should at least have reception staff who are multi-lingual. The hotel also offers a good "American Breakfast" & free internet access. We were amazed that the hot water in the hotel did not seem to come on until 7.30am but that's a minor point.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Staff Could Only Speak Spanish
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel Has Sunday Lunch Buffet Which Is Great And Only 40 Bolivianos (5 Dollars)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarija hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Ceibos
Hotel Los Ceibos
#5 of 6 in Tarija
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Martinez
Hotel Martinez
#2 of 6 in Tarija
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Pasarela
La Pasarela
#1 of 13 in Tarija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casa Blanca Hostel
Casa Blanca Hostel
#1 of 11 in Tarija
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kultur Berlin Tarija Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Luz Palace Hotel
Luz Palace Hotel
#6 of 13 in Tarija
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Parrales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Parrales Hotel

Property: Los Parrales Hotel
Address: Urbanizacion El Carmen de Aranjuez Km. 3 5 | Urbanizacion El Carmen de Aranjuez Km. 3,5, Tarija, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Tarija Department > Tarija
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tarija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Parrales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Los Parrales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Parrales Tarija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing