We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Balena - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Balena
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tasty italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place was deserted when we went in, which was kind of sad, because it was so cute!

The prices were a little steep, but the food was definitely delicious.

The only thing: There aren't a lot of non-seafood items on the menu, which is fine because hey, New Bedford should be selling seafood up the wazoo..... but I was with a friend who was pregnant and asked for chicken on her pasta instead of shellfish. The waiter said no, because the only chicken they had was not cut into pieces? This was, by far, the weirdest explanation for why a linguine couldn't have chicken instead of shellfish.

I got chicken saltimboca or something, which was great - not sure why they couldn't put that chicken on linguine for my pregnant friend... oh well?

All our dishes were very good -waitstaff was overly attentive ... to a fault... but I guess that's because they didn't have anything else to do.

I do hope more people try this place, because the food is really quite good and it's an adorable spot, probably just too pricey for this area?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    1
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sassari
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

we love love the cooking classes..
never have so much fun in the ki chen

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antonella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food in the southcoast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I frequently travel across the southcoast trying new Italian restaurants. Cafe Balena was a totally new experience for us. The music playing in the restaurant was wonderful and it wasnt to loud. Our waiter, Paul, was very attentive about the menu and answered all our of out questions quickly. We started off by purchasing a bottle of chianti classico and had a ceasar salad for an appatizer. Our main dishes were a linguini scampi and a seafood risoto. These dishes were the best prepared dishes we have ever recieved at a restaurant. The taste of the food was also exquisite, the combination of all the seafood in the risoto was.amazing. I really enjoyed my visit to cafe balena and my wife and I will certainly be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heroman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

It is great homemade Italian food, it taste fresh, and delicous. The service was amazing they were kind and were very knowledgable about the dishes. We had the penne al pesto dish it was cooked perfect and the sauce was just right, I recomend this restraunt to everyone! It is small and perfect, in a great part of downtown! Deffinatly the greatest italian restraunt in New Bedford, and the best pizza in New Bedford!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saharapja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so cozy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I love eveything about this place, food ,atmosphere, music....food is very fresh ,music is live and relaxing with an Italian feel, atmosphere is small, cozy and romantic.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank sexyspeedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Balena also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing