We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every night spent in an 8 sided house makes you look & feel 5 years younger, forever.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Haskell's Octagon House
Ranked #2 of 3 New Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ok....so that's a load of crap...but we did have a wonderful 2 night stay at Captain Haskell's Octagon House this past weekend during New Bedford's annual summer music festival. The six of us rented out the entire B&B. It was nice having it (and the host & resident kitty cats) all to ourselves. Chuck, our host, local expert, mapmaker, and breakfast architect, was a wealth of information & good advice. He kept us pointed in the right directions, recommended good eats, & got us off to a good start each day with some yummy fruit bowls, french pressed coffee, homemade scones, & Portuguese pastries. The free WiFi was very convenient and our party enjoyed kicking back with refreshments on the porch after hours each evening before bed. I am especially grateful to Chuck for his suggestion of a particular route to Horseneck beach at checkout on Monday morning and, even more so, of his recommending the quaint restaurant at/near the beach where I had the best meal of the vacation (absolute best lobster roll anywhere (Yum!...its nothing but huge pieces of fresh naked lobster meat with drawn butter & mayo on the side), eggplant fries & a huge salad that was to-die-for with candied walnuts sliced tomatoes & goat cheese - all enjoyed al fresco on a glorious summer beach day. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Octogon house again or to send any friends looking for a place in New Bedford that's a convenient walking distance to all the festivities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hiramabif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This inn, and its inkeeper, has seen better days. On a busy/noisy corner with inadequate parking; a backyard garden gone untended; filthy porch furniture (no matter - guests are verbotten there anyway); stuffy public rooms with blinds drawn; odd and uncomfortable guest rooms with poor ventilation; cats in the kitchen; and a sad "welcome" from an owner who appears demoralized and defeated by the hospitaity biz. 2-3 other historic inns in this city offer far better accommodation and value. Seek them out.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quite small, share one bathroom, and require climbing two sets of steep, narrow stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrislyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBOctagon, Owner at Captain Haskell's Octagon House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Parking: I have one off-street spot available to guests and ample on-street parking immediately adjacent to the house. Because this guest requested to leave her car during the day after checking out and because the on-street parking was unnavailable that morning due to a parade passing by, and because I needed the off-street space for guests arriving early for the major folk festival going beginning that day, I suggested she move her car to the lot of the building next door with whom I have an arrangement. I further suggested she do so before sitting down to breakfast, so she would not be interrupted by the police going down the block to assure no cars were parked on the street. Seemed like a reasonable plan to me.

Access to the deck: I am not sure where this guest got the idea I do not allow guests to use the deck. I encourage them to do so. See the review which followed from the family group who came for the folk festival. I did ask this guest to come and go from the premises via the front door to which she was given a key. Perhaps, that was the source of her confusion.

Dark: Yes, when it is eighty-seven degrees outside and the sun is shining on the house, I close the windows and draw the shades and blinds for thermal management. These are opened again in the late afternoon to catch the prevailing southwest breeze.

Stuffy third-floor rooms: This guest requested the air-conditioned single rooms in the third-floor suite for herself and her daughter and announced a couple of days before arrival that she was allergic to cats. This is a pet-friendly B&B with three resident cats. To assist her in avoiding problems, her rooms were closed with the AC on after thorough cleaning.

Cats in the kitchen: Yup. They live here. So do I. My pet-friendly guests think nothing of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have stayed twice at Cuck's beautiful Octagon House for three days each time. He is an admirable innkeeper and great person to know. The old house is charming and has great character. Chuck's breakfasts are worth going back for and he takes pride in surprising his guests every day with delicious treats. New Bedford has great architecture and museums and excellent libraries for whoever is interested in its whaling history. Also, the seafood here is hard to match for freshness. The Portuguese immigrants have also contributed with good restaurants and bakeries. New Bedford is also a good base to visit other attractions nearby (Martha's Vineyard, Newport, Cape Cod and Nantucket, to name a few).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roberto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent a Sunday night at Captain Haskell's. Chuck, our innkeeper, was gracious and could not have been more helpful and informative on the area. The inn was lovely and we had plenty of space. Breakfast was homemade and good. For that I'd give 5 stars. New Bedford, on the other hand, was not quite what we had expected (no fault of Chuck's). The inn is located in a busy area, and at 10pm on a Sunday night we were still listening to cars, sirens, hip hop, and people talking on the sidewalk. I would not be comfortable walking off the beaten path at night. There are very interesting things to do in New Bedford, but for our next trip it was be a day visit, not an overnighter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lablovr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I am not a big fan of B&B's but I was pleasantly surprised by this inn. The host, Chuck, was wonderful and very accommodating. The room was large, immaculate, and beautiful. The only negative was it didn't have air conditioning and it happened to be a particularly hot weekend, but it was still very comfortable at night. I enjoyed the fresh lemonade and delicious breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslieviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Very nice Victorian house near downtown and the museums. The host is friendly, obliging (he reduced the sugar in the baked goods when I said I did not like things too sweet), and a Master Scone Maker. Very welcoming of well behaved pets. Super breakfasts- a poached pear to start! The baked goods are excellent, not the usual sweet cakes that pass for muffins nowadays- great flavor and texture. Best scones since those made by my scottish neighbor in decades past.
Reasonably priced. The stairs I used were quite steep, so you might want to ask if that could be a problem. In season, you might also ask about parking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Chuck and Ruth Smiler are excellent hosts and wonderful conversationalists, plus they are just "good people." Their house is an architectural curiosity, being an octagon house, which they delight in explaining to you. The rooms are clean, interestingly furnished, and spacious. The breakfast is ample, and the location good. My only knock at all would be street noise on a weekend night, but that could well have been a function of the particular weekend on which I stayed (during a festival). I definitely would return if in the New Bedford area again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parliament_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
1.4 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
281 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Dartmouth Inn
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Haskell's Octagon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Haskell's Octagon House

Address: 347 Union St, New Bedford, MA 02740-3666
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Bedford
Price Range: $65 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-friendly bed and breakfast in a whaling captain’s elegant 1848 octagon house. Victorian elegance, combined with casual and comfortable atmosphere. Walk to NB Whaling National Historical Park, Whaling and other museums, Zeiterion Theatre, UMass Dartmouth College of Visual and Performing Arts Star Store campus, libraries, galleries, restaurants and shops, working waterfront and ferries to Martha’s Vineyards and Cuttyhunk. Nearby beaches and parks. Fabulous seafood, Portuguese and other cuisines. Comfortable accommodations and gracious indoor and outdoor common areas provide base for longer stays and day-tripping to SouthCoast, Cape Cod, Islands, Plymouth, Newport and other Rhode Island attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing