We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Innkeeper and Home” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Haskell's Octagon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Haskell's Octagon House
Ranked #2 of 3 New Bedford B&B and Inns
Sugar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Innkeeper and Home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent a Sunday night at Captain Haskell's. Chuck, our innkeeper, was gracious and could not have been more helpful and informative on the area. The inn was lovely and we had plenty of space. Breakfast was homemade and good. For that I'd give 5 stars. New Bedford, on the other hand, was not quite what we had expected (no fault of Chuck's). The inn is located in a busy area, and at 10pm on a Sunday night we were still listening to cars, sirens, hip hop, and people talking on the sidewalk. I would not be comfortable walking off the beaten path at night. There are very interesting things to do in New Bedford, but for our next trip it was be a day visit, not an overnighter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lablovr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I am not a big fan of B&B's but I was pleasantly surprised by this inn. The host, Chuck, was wonderful and very accommodating. The room was large, immaculate, and beautiful. The only negative was it didn't have air conditioning and it happened to be a particularly hot weekend, but it was still very comfortable at night. I enjoyed the fresh lemonade and delicious breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Very nice Victorian house near downtown and the museums. The host is friendly, obliging (he reduced the sugar in the baked goods when I said I did not like things too sweet), and a Master Scone Maker. Very welcoming of well behaved pets. Super breakfasts- a poached pear to start! The baked goods are excellent, not the usual sweet cakes that pass for muffins nowadays- great flavor and texture. Best scones since those made by my scottish neighbor in decades past.
Reasonably priced. The stairs I used were quite steep, so you might want to ask if that could be a problem. In season, you might also ask about parking.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Chuck and Ruth Smiler are excellent hosts and wonderful conversationalists, plus they are just "good people." Their house is an architectural curiosity, being an octagon house, which they delight in explaining to you. The rooms are clean, interestingly furnished, and spacious. The breakfast is ample, and the location good. My only knock at all would be street noise on a weekend night, but that could well have been a function of the particular weekend on which I stayed (during a festival). I definitely would return if in the New Bedford area again.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parliament_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

My husband and I were going to New Bedford for a concert, and wanted to stay just one night. We were thrilled we chose to stay at Captain Haskell's Octagon House, and that the Cottage Street Room was available for our visit.
My initial concern about staying in an inn with "Pet Friendly" as part of its name was quickly put to rest when we entered the beautiful foyer of this amazing house. Being an innkeeper myself I tend to notice details others might take for granted. This house was immaculately maintained.
Not having brought our two dogs with us, the two resident pooches Mickey and Daisy were all too happy to fill in and let us give them as much attention as we wanted.
Ruth was an amazing host, and we are already looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmmymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
1.4 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
4.1 mi away
Dartmouth Motor Inn
Dartmouth Motor Inn
#4 of 5 in North Dartmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Haskell's Octagon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Haskell's Octagon House

Property: Captain Haskell's Octagon House
Address: 347 Union St, New Bedford, MA 02740-3666
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-friendly bed and breakfast in a whaling captain’s elegant 1848 octagon house. Victorian elegance, combined with casual and comfortable atmosphere. Walk to NB Whaling National Historical Park, Whaling and other museums, Zeiterion Theatre, UMass Dartmouth College of Visual and Performing Arts Star Store campus, libraries, galleries, restaurants and shops, working waterfront and ferries to Martha’s Vineyards and Cuttyhunk. Nearby beaches and parks. Fabulous seafood, Portuguese and other cuisines. Comfortable accommodations and gracious indoor and outdoor common areas provide base for longer stays and day-tripping to SouthCoast, Cape Cod, Islands, Plymouth, Newport and other Rhode Island attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing