We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in New Bedford”

Antonio's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 249 Restaurants in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food in New Bedford”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This restaurant is great! Try the Antonio Chicken. The portions are very large. You really can split a dish here. A tad noisy but great place for the family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CEtravelMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    68
    19
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Charming and wonderful!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'd forgotten how much I enjoy going to Antonio's Restaurant. Last Sunday, my husband and I decided to return to this old favorite for some Mediterranean cuisine and Antonio's did not disappoint. I generally gravitate to the Shrimp Mozambique which is always spicy and delicious. My husband loves the Pork and Clams Alentejano. That night, for the first time, we shared a Paella for one person which was absolutely devine! It contained plump mussels, little necks, scallops, shrimp, half a lobster, chicken and beef, all cooked to perfection, and served with a lovely, well sauced rice. Along with two shrimp croquettes which served as an appitizer, and a half bottle of a nice Portuguese red wine, our bill came to $32.00. There was plenty of food to share.
Antonio's also has terrific sandwiches, handcut potato chips/fries, tasty appetizers, salads and soups, in addition to an extensive menu of Portuguese and American favorites. The atmosphere is warmly European and service is always great. The bar is lively. Antonio's Restaurant is a true gem!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieMayMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Portuguese Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly service, great seafood (we had the swordfish and scallops), nice selection of Portuguese wines, parking lot across the street.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Thoroughly pleasant ethnic dining”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a classic, old-fashioned ethnic neighborhood restaurant, packed with families and dating couples on a Saturday afternoon, relishing what would appear to be their big midday meal. Not being familiar with Portugese food, we ordered a few of the croquette appetizers (lobster, shrimp and meat), in addition to a stuffed quahog clam. Stuffings were tasty enough but the textures were all dense, and too similar to each other. We should have mixed it up with an order of Shrimp Antonio or something else, as other reviewers suggest. For our entree, my mate and I split an order of Pork Alentejana, a big casserole of tender pork bits simmered in an intensely-flavored broth and just a few clams. The whole thing was topped with a layer of the lightest, most perfect roasted potatoes ever. There was still enough to take home for leftovers. House wine (portugese, of course), was also quite nice. Such a deal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Antonios is not my top pick for a portuguese resturaunt. As far as eating at the resturaunt itself, it is a little small. I do like it every once in a while, but it isn't my favorite

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing