We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“M&C CAFE hidden culinary jewell of New Bedford”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
M & C Cafe Incorporated
Ranked #41 of 248 Restaurants in New Bedford
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Sandwich Massachusetts USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“M&C CAFE hidden culinary jewell of New Bedford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

M&C Cafe owned and operated by master chief Mile Melo is one of the culinary secrets of New Bedford. The majority of M&C's very active business are frequent locals like my wife and I, it is unfortunate that more out of town visitors do not find their way to this charming, friendly, restaurant serving Portuguese/American food at a very reasonable price. Owner Mike Melo is often seen talking to patrons while his competent and friendly staff offers excellent service. Mike offers a creative 'theme night' once a month such as "Springtime in Italy" which brings a special culinary experience to be looked forward to. M&C has an excellent website, take a look and visit this excellent restaurant next time you are in New Bedford. Being in the travel business my wife and I travel extensively and eat out over 125 times a year, but we always look forward to our return to M&C. M&C also has an outstanding catering service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSATours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh food and reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Scallops were spot on. Fresh and sweet. Fish and chips good portion. Chocolate lava cake very good. Maybe difficult to find parking at night. No parking lot. Use side streets. Was a very good meal. Good price also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rough outside very nice inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

OK, so the neighborhood is a little rough, but the inside is very nice and family friendly and super clean. To add to that the food is very good and Mike the bartender is attentive and friendly. We enjoyed steak, with a great Portuguese pepper sauce and some very good fresh scallops. No question worth a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OKWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Seafood & Portuguese Food @ reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We eat at M&C a couple of times a month ( have done so for over 30 years) and have introduced many of our friends to this restaurant on Belleville Ave in the North End. Especially when we're in tjhe mood for the best Fish & Chips around,(served everyday), this is the place to go. Cooked to perfection and served with either tartar sauce or Portuguese Molho Cru, a vinegar oil, onion & parsley sauce or totally unadorned, the way I like it. If you prefer something other than french fries there are about 6 or so other sides available at no extra charge. Stuffed quahogs, favas and several other appetizers are offered daily. M&C offers a delicious clamboil, made to order and generous in size. The Potuguese beef, Carne de Espito and the Cacoila dinner or sandwich are both popular items as is the New England Fisherman's Stew which our friend raves about and orders every time. Chef Michael, the original owner's son has brought new cuisine to the menu so it is no longer just seafood and Portuguese fare. Although we have yet to try one of their monthly "Theme" Dinners due to another committment on that night, we understand they are quite well attended. The dining room is comfortable and the tables are nicely spaced and the bar side of the restaurant is nealy always full both at the bar and the surrounding tables. Large screen TV's are playing at the bar but they do not inhibit conversation. The staff is friendly and we especially like to have Danielle as our server .Parking is sometimes a challenge and although there is a small parking lot on the corner we noticed that some of the staff park there which leaves less parking for patrons.
It's one of our" go to" restaurants and we can have delicious food & wine without breaking the budget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FQRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I go for lunch often with my elderly parents. They have become regulars and have had many items on the menu. My parents are not easy to please and usually start off happy with a restaurant but soon enough one visit doesn't go well and they never go back. So far they are very happy with M&C's which is a record to date. They like the waitresses and the food. Thank you M&C's for good food, good prices and most of all keeping my parents happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank airiel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M & C Cafe Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to M & C Cafe Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing