We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good food at reasonable prices.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freestone's City Grill

Freestone's City Grill
Ranked #1 of 248 Restaurants in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bedford, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Consistently good food at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My retirement job was as a security guard at 800 Purchase St. During that time I had many people, who were visiting New Bedford either as tourists or on business, ask my advice on a good restaurant. I always sent them to Freestone's and not once did I hear anything back except how great it was. I myself love to dine there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    110
    27
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Seems to have slipped a bit...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Visited for dinner, and was rather disappointed. While there was plenty of toppings, beef, and chicken for the fajitas, they were completely unseasoned. Blah! Another person in our party ordered a steak, and it also had absolutely no taste. All in all, there was absolutely nothing that stood out about any of the meals. This used to be a favorite, so I hope it was just an off night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dracut ma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luv this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Always great service good food and no wait don't miss this place if your near by. The food is allways hot and tasty

Helpful?
Thank mpitreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my 'go to' restaurants. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Reliably delicious food, great service and a great environment (it's an old bank) for lunch or dinner. The price is right, I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank MikeSavoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“wonderful oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent preparation, good service and reasonable prices. What else can one ask for? It is also across the street from the whaling museum, one of the best small museums in New England !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank efroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freestone's City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Freestone's City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing