We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dog House Restaurant
Ranked #93 of 250 Restaurants in New Bedford
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stopped at this restaurant for lunch while traveling from CT to Cape Cod. It's a very casual place with easy on-off access to route 195. As stated in other reviews, this diner is very clean and accepts only cash.

The food: My husband had a great lobster roll for under $10. The kids enjoyed their lime rickeys, and butterscotch puddings. I liked seeing classic New England menu items such as fishcake & beans & hot dogs & beans.

We will definitely plan on returning here when traveling in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good lobster rollls,Merican and portugese food, make a bomb blt, good for brkfst too,great service, open for brkfst, lunch and dinner. All around great place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Khronik-traVels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOVE this restaurant!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been here many, many times, I love this place. The owners are hard working people who really appreciate your patronage. The restaurant is old style and not pretentious, I feel like I am eating in someone's home. My favs are steamed hot dogs with steamed rolls, chili and cheese. There FF's are ultra clean and free of grease. My husband loves their fish cakes and beans. We have had many other items, too numerous to mention.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badsaltydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma.
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cleanest place in town”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Food is great, service great, but check out the grill of how clean it isThat grill has been there for at least 25 or 30 years and it still looks new .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank middleboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family owned since 1965!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a neighborhood diner of days gone by. Make sure you bring cash because they don't take cards! There are daily specials and also the regular diner fare.. Lots of choices at an incredibly inexpensive price. The quality of the food was great, lots of homemade items. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food, the people, the atmosphere, everything a neighborhood diner should be!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dog House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing