We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Italian food”
Review of Cafe Italia

Cafe Italia
Ranked #17 of 250 Restaurants in New Bedford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dartmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Really good Italian food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our first visit to Café Italia, recommended by friends, and we're already looking forward to returning. While the location in a small strip mall may be uninspiring, the inside is warm and inviting. It's a small dining room, with the tables a bit close together, but it's cozy instead of off-putting. And the food is worth it! My husband loved his veal marsala, because the veal was particularly good and the sauce flavorful. My cavatelli with broccoli and Italian sausage hit the right spot for my pasta craving with its rich butter and garlic sauce, with plenty of al dente pasta and bits of broccoli and the optional sausage added in (otherwise with chicken or as is). The menu isn't overwhelming and has enough variety for meat, chicken, and pasta to satisfy your Italian food tastes. Seafood seemed to be mostly shellfish options. We skipped the appetizer in favor of the generous bread basket served with olive oil seasoned lightly with garlic and red pepper flakes, and we didn't save room for dessert. We enjoyed every last bite of our entrees instead of saving some for leftovers. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. BYOB, so bring a bottle of wine you know you'll enjoy. Reservations recommended, even during the week, because it is a small dining room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Italian Around”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Here's the perfect meal (for me, anyway): antipasto, pasta bolognese, braciole di carne, and maybe some dessert if I'm not already so stuffed I can't eat another bite. At Cafe Italia, all these dishes are superbly prepared. The antipasto has plenty of tasty meats, cheese, and egg, as well as olives, peppers, and not too much lettuce; it's enough for four people but so irresistible that my wife and I have been known to finish it all by ourselves. The bolognese isn't available all the time; but if you can't get it on the day you visit, that will give you an excuse to come back soon and try again. The restaurant's decor is, shall we say, unpretentious. Fortunately, I don't eat decor. The service is friendly and efficient, and the staff do their best to get you what you want. Because Cafe Italia is BYOB, your tab at the end of the meal will not cause indigestion. In short, you would have to drive to Federal Hill in Providence or the North End in Boston to get an Italian dinner this good, and your wallet would suffer for the drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvingBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We heard of this place from friends of ours and decided to try it. To our surprise the food was really tasty. The place is small but the service and fresh food make up for it. My husband & I had the calamari as an appetizer, entrées he had the lasagna & I had the lobster ravioli. We had salted caramel gelato & all was delicious. FYI, it is BYOB.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tucked away in New Bedford in a small space, it's nothing special inside, however the food was excellent! The "gravy" was delicious on both the chicken parm and lasagna. The chocolate cake was also very good. I love the BYOB experience. We will definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank True_Love_LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Cafe Italia is by far the best restaurant in the area!!!! The food is the absolute best. It is a small very European feeling restaurant. The service is outstanding. Nick and Tracey have done an outstanding job with the whole experience!!!! The BYOB is great you don't have to pay outrageous prices for wine. My husband and I frequent Cafe Italia as often as possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Italia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing