We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night stop & snack” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf

Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf
Ranked #10 of 248 Restaurants in New Bedford
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront Grille is New Bedford's premiere waterfront dining destination. Our menu is centers around the freshest local seafood around along with vegetarian and non-seafood options to satisfy everyone's cravings. We offer lunch and dinner on the water's edge and only minutes from the downtown area. With ample parking and seating, Waterfront Grille offers the ideal atmosphere for all of your dining experiences ranging from an intimate dinner for two to an all out party for 100 or more! Reservations are accepted for parties of five or more, and call-ahead seating is recommended for groups of all sizes.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Late night stop & snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went here with a friend this past Saturday night. It was winding down but it was 9:30 and they close at 10pm during the off season so I can't wait to come back when its warm.

We sat at the bar which was pretty much empty just a couple of people at the other end. Both bartenders were very nice and greeted us immediately. We ordered calamari and coconut shrimp - which we both enjoyed very much. Very fresh, very tasty and very quick to serve. We only stayed for a quick bite and drink again they close early but by no means did we feel rushed. The dinner menu looked great and I look forward to returning and spending more time here.

Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGrille, General Manager at Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Zuzu,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I look forward to you joining us this summer so that we can earn that 5th star from you! Let us know what you think when you have a chance to try the fresh seafood from the dinner menu.

Thanks, again,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    79
    44
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view of working fishing boats..setting is all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The setting is really good.....and the restaurant's best feature is its low to moderate prices. There is nothing to remark on re. the food as it was average, period. I was surprised though to see few local seafood lunches on the menu.... I expected more . If you want a view and an average lunch without feeling you've been taken in by a tourist spot, then this is the place for you. I think it would be very nice in the summer outside by the water. Wish I could say more...but that's all there is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tolle2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I arrived almost at the closing time but was received very well at this charming restaurant. One of the best clam chowders, ever, in a rainy night in New Bedford. Also, excellent fish.
In the following day, very soft calamari and again, a delicious food.
Problem? Closes very early: 9 p.m.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGrille, General Manager at Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Michel,

Thanks for the great review! I know that 9:00 may seem early, and our hours should be changing soon as the sun sticks around later in the day. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal enough to come back two days in a row! I hope that you are able to make the trip from Brazil to join us again, soon!

Thanks, again,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
1 review
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Waterfront Grille and we will be returning. Beautiful scenic view especially if your not from the area like ourselves. The food and service was amazing!! Very fresh local seafood. We were a little stumped on some of the seafood selections haven't heard of some menu items before. Our server Danielle was knowledgeable about the menu and very helpful in helping us select our meals. We started with the crazy maki and broth clam chowder which was to die for!! I opted for a local favorite there the orange ginger scallops also amazing and my husband had the lobster mac and cheese. He loved every bite. Overall great place will be back to sit on the deck in the summer!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miranda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGrille, General Manager at Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Miranda,

I'm so glad to hear that Danielle was able to help you figure everything out - it definitely sounds like it worked out! Hopefully the weather will be on our side and the deck will open up soon so you won't have to wait until the summer crowds are upon us to enjoy the outside seating. Thanks for the great review, and we will see you in the warmer weeks ahead,

-Justin, Danielle, and the rest of the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Waterfront Grille: great food, drinks, service within a scenic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Last night, we had dinner at the Waterfront Grille in New Bedford, MA. We have enjoyed the restaurant several times. It seems appropriate to write a review of our experience. The Grille has an expansive bar with televisions broadcasting major sporting events. Last night, the Boston Celtics were duking it out with Dallas.

The bartender served me some William Hill Chardonnay (quite excellent) while my significant other had a tasty espresso martini.

The bartender was quick-witted, friendly, yet quite efficient. In short, she provided very timely service. We shared an order of mussels. They had recently worked out at a local gym. The were quite fresh and tasty, but were also a bit sandy. My significant other had the orange ginger scallops. I had the shrimp scampi. Both dishes were well prepared and very tasty.

During the summer, you can sit at tables or an outdoor bar and watch the boats in New Bedford Harbor.

All in all, a great restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGrille, General Manager at Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thanks for the great comments! I am glad to hear that you had such a great night with us. The bartender, Jenn, is truly an asset to our team, and thank you for taking the time to recognize her for that.
We hope to see you back for some more mussels, soon, and as long as the weather cooperates, we should have the outside seating open in just a few weeks.

Thanks, again,

Justin Braun
General Manager
Waterfront Grille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Grille at 36 Homer's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing