We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally--a clean and comfortable stay in New Bedford!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally--a clean and comfortable stay in New Bedford!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I took two rooms for one night at this property before taking the ferry to Cuttyhunk Island. We had several children with us. The staff was warm and accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious; the AC worked well. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it looked nice. There was plenty of parking. The breakfast wasn't fancy, but there was plenty of hot and cold food.

If there were one area to improve upon, it would be that one of the first rooms we were given smelled of disinfectant or air freshener. The second one was better but didn't smell 100% fresh.

All in all, we will definitely stay at this property when we return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losricosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear your stay with us was satisfactory. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    110
    39
    5
    6
See reviews for
99
81
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding recently. The hotel is quite new and pleasant-looking, with a good location right at the waterfront and across from a couple of restaurants. However, most of the rooms smelled either mildewy or of disinfectant. We had requested a king bed but only doubles were available (two full-size beds, not two queens as one usually encounters). There was no mini-fridge in the room, which we needed on this trip (used the ice bucket instead, with moderate success). Breakfast was included and that was fine. Also, we were happy that there was a fitness center, which we used. My mom was in a room with a special doorbell for the hearing-impaired (which she is) but the doorbell didn't work. Basically, the hotel was fine but I thought it should have been better.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room facing the water. Only one side of the hotel has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We do have extra refridgerators available for use, you just need to request one. If you are in the area again, please give us a second shot to give you a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

OK the road-works are a real pain, call the hotel and get advice – I didn’t and wish I did – it was only an extra 10/15 minutes but I could see the hotel throughout the delay! Anyway plenty car spaces, fast easy check in, up to a big room, fresh modern, clean, plenty good towels, good harbour view (do these fishing boats ever leave harbour?). All good.
Downstairs to the free breakfast, ok it was really busy and a bit of a smash and grab but the skinny girl (sorry!) who was there mid-week worked faster and harder and did a better job than the 2 who were on duty Saturday morning. I was perfectly happy with the range of breakfast options although if I was paying extra for it, I’d have something negative to say about it.
Nearby there is the Grille across the road where I had the best mussels in white wine sauce, we went to Cork for a cocktail beforehand and it was great too.
I’d definitely use this place again; maybe they’ll put in a bar?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The road work can be frustrating, but it will be completed soon and will greatly improve the downtown area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff was so helpful. Jason, Joe,and Nina helped with maps and places to catch the subway to Boston. Annie did a great job keeping up with breakfast.
The hotel was clean and anyone helped make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collector4322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
The entire staff would like to thank you for your review! All staff members pride themselves on being knowledgeable of our area so we can answer any question a guest may have. Again, thank you for your kind review, and please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

A far cry from the bilges of a whaling ship, Clean clean clean and convenient, the beds are beyond comfortable and the staff is helpful and friendly. The WiFi works and the hotel for the most part was quiet. This is my first choice of a bed in New Bedford.

Room Tip: Sleep where you will while America is still free, vote like you mean it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! The staff is always happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The property is very clean and has a wonderful morning breakfast. The pool area is also incredibly clean and new as is the workout room. The Front Desk staff was very helpful and accommodating as well as Housekeeping. The location is perfect, close to restaurants and the pier, which is beautiful. We were in town for a wedding and greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! The entire staff was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Checked in on a business trip. Both my co-worker and I got handicap rom with two tiny beds. Although I have not been a rewards member as long, my coworker is a Platinum member--he got the same room. Everything was clean, but the smell of dead fish permeated the room. The smell outside is unbelievable--awful. The air conditioner rattled all night. The next morning I asked the manager about why no queen or king bed--she basically told me ithat I got what was paid for. Never had a problem before. Must be the manager.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Due to our waterfront location, there is sometimes an odor due to the working waterfront across the street. As far as the bed type, we are extremely busy at this time of year, but we do try to upgrade reward members when at all possible. I do not believe you spoke to me regarding this issue, you must have spoken to the front desk agent. Again, my most sincere apologies for your issues with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Bedford
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
1.0 mi away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
13.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wareham Buzzards Bay
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
BEST WESTERN Dartmouth Inn
#2 of 5 in North Dartmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
Address: 185 Macarthur Dr, New Bedford, MA 02740-7275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > New Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford Hotel New Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing