We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Explorium - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Great for kids

Great for kids, adults not so much. Prices are reasonable, variety of touch tanks and activities... read more

Reviewed August 3, 2014
kandice u
,
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Underfunded, but their efforts shine through

-Had about a half-dozen smallish tanks, but some fun specimens. Three touch tanks--one of which... read more

Reviewed July 8, 2014
368danac
,
Norfolk, Virginia
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
23
12
7
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
12
7
6
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2015

I was disappointed in the small facility. I thought it would've been bigger and had a wider variety of animals. It's ok, but it's not something that I'd spend a significant amount of time in. For the money, it's not worth it.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Alvin287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

We drove to the building where it was supposed to be it wasn't there. Then we drove to a park where they moved it still nothing. There was no Notification on the website and no signs accept for the ones on the old building.

3  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great for kids, adults not so much. Prices are reasonable, variety of touch tanks and activities for children.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank kandice u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

-Had about a half-dozen smallish tanks, but some fun specimens. Three touch tanks--one of which held scallops, another with other invertebrates, and a third with sharks and rays.
-Shark and ray touch tank was fun--they do a feeding at 2pm. This was a lot of fun to watch, but you can't have your hands in the water for 15 minutes after they finish.
-Albino bamboo spotted shark!
-Some fun mini-experiments run by enthusiastic volunteers (I think). Sarah was great and took the time to explain density to my three-year old. I won't say he totally understood it, but he liked the demonstration.
-Room off-to-the-side that held a lot of toys for 2-4 year-olds--a nice touch.
-Your $7.50-$8.50 is well worth the hour you spend inside.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank 368danac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

There are bigger aquariums...and they come with much bigger price tags! We went to the Ocean Explorium with our daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren, ages 5 and 6. There is more to this place than you can imagine from the outside. It is housed in a former bank building that is beautiful inside and out. There is a rich history in the bank alone and the safe is worth checking out! Now on to the Explorium. There are the usual tanks of fish, sea horses and jelly fish which are fun to watch. There is also a coral tank, some hands on tanks (my grandson held a crab!) and a ray and shark touch tank that we all put our hands into. The discovery center has a lot of hands-on activities including a large amount of books about the ocean and its inhabitants. You could spend hours in there alone. A few crafts and games add to the learning experiences. The Science Sphere is fascinating and a don't miss exhibit. The staff is helpful and we connected with an intern that added to our enjoyment of the displays. The price is very reasonable and they have senior discounts that start at age 55, as well as a AAA discount. We all had a very enjoyable visit!

Date of experience: June 2014
3  Thank oceangirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews