We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup and sandwiches ”
Review of Destination Soups

Destination Soups
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Soup and sandwiches ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Great soup, great sandwiches! More grilled cheese options than I have ever seen and lots of soup options from healthy to not, vegetarian if you want. All five of us were happy. We went on a cold rainy day but it looked like they had chilled soups and of course sandwiches for hot days.

Helpful?
Thank MeT1nT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    20
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Packed because it's so good”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went on a super humid,sweltering hot summer day. Soup on such a hot day? Yes!! We tried clam chowder and gazpacho. We preferred the clam chowder. We saw others trying the lentil soup which looked delicious, but we had already ordered our meals.

The place was packed. You go in, place your order, pay and then sit down. There are a handful of tables, and some bar seating. Everything is fresh and made to order.

We had a couple of different grilled cheese sandwiches on sourdough bread, and we had some salads. The bread was homemade. Yum, yum. The salads were super fresh--not that cold been sitting in the fridge type.

Everything was delicious. Would definitely go back. We were so full, we weren't able to have any dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4okay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, casual environment, nice people”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really great for lunch, in our case. Had tomato bisque, chick pea peanut curry (amazingly good), and chicken vegetable soups. Loved them all but the tomato bisque could have been hotter (didn't mention it to the staff). Also had a great Italian baby spinach salad, grilled cheese pizza, and regular grilled cheese. Oven-roasted tomatoes on the spinach salad were very flavorful. Prices were competitive for such high qualtiy. No beer available that I saw. Sandwiches available half or whole, and soups in cup, bowl, or quart. Staff was super friendly and attentive. Great location downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious, fresh, homemade soup!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Recently stopped for a late lunch with my daughters (13 and 22). Very casual place with a friendly, helpful staff. My cream of mushroom soup was the best I've ever eaten! My daughters loved their soups as well (clam chowder and a vegetarian selection). We shared an amazing generous sized salad with quinoa (not usually my favorite) which we all loved. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dartmouthcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, Healthy Food, Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had just visited the Ocean Explorium, a marine science center, which is great for young children. Right across the street is Destination Soups. Excellent choice for lunch. It is in an interesting looking older building, very casual with good, healthy food. Among us we ordered sandwiches, soups, and hummus plate. It was all excellent. Check when it is open. It may be M-F 11 a.m.-5 p.m. and Sat. 12 p.m.- 4 p.m. Phone is 508-991-7687. If I lived anywhere near there, I would be a repeat customer. Those who worked there were very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destination Soups also viewed

 

Been to Destination Soups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing