We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum with very helpful and knowledgable staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Bedford Whaling Museum

New Bedford Whaling Museum
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in New Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest museum in America devoted to the history of whaling, it houses an extensive collection of art and artifacts relating to this industry during the age of sail.Through its educational programs and activities, the Museum looks to the future by engaging children, teaching that they are part of the fabric of the community, critical to its growth, and destined to be a chapter in its history. The Museum is a forum for whale and now fishing conservation, research and symposia. Its cultural outreach extends around the world, with close ties to Japan, Portugal and the Iñupiat people at the Arctic Circle. The Museum is a compelling destination that inspires all visitors to reflect on the complex issues that shaped the past, remain critical today, and inform a sustainable future.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great museum with very helpful and knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were staying on Cape Cod for Christmas and I have always wanted to visit this museum. I took my mum who was visiting us from the UK and we went on the Sunday before Christmas.
The museum has some very well laid out and interesting exhibits and volunteers/staff were very helpful. We had a great chat with a retired Professor who gave us lots of insight into the whaling industry and the equipment on display. It really added to the whole experience and gave us a better understanding of what the whalers went through.

I would recommend the museum to anyone that cared to ask, or didn't ask come to think of it!
Pete

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucywestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    83
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum, full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I found myself in New Bedford for the weekend, for a wedding - and quickly discovered the rich history of this small town. It was once the 'whaling capital of the world' -- and the Whaling Museum does an admirable job in showcasing the history of the whaling industry, and its influence on New Bedford -- as well as the new and ongoing challenge of preservation of these now endangered species. The museum includes four whale skeletons in display, plus an impressive collection of artifacts and exhibits from the booming era of whaling. The centerpiece is a three-story, half-scale model of the Lagoda - one of the early sail-powered whaling ships. More surprising, though, was the connection to the Portuguese cultures of Azores and Cape Verde -- to which New Bedford had (and has?) strong ties. (I highly recommend Tia's European restaurant, across the street, for Portuguese sandwiches and pastries.) There is also a stunning display of scrimshaw and another of model ships.

The museum is great for adults and children alike. Count on 2 hours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a wonderful place to visit! Right on the water in downtown New Bedford - plan an hour (or more) to tour

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great spot on a cold, rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying in Sandwich, MA on Cape Cod on a cold, rainy day so we headed about 30 minutes west to New Bedford and went to this fantastic museum. They have a couple short videos to watch at the entranceway and three whale skeletons hanging from the ceiling. Most impressive. Inside there are scale models of various boats used for whaling, scrimshaw exhibits, and even some amazing panoramic photos of alpine expeditions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Whale Of A Good Time.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

They have a whale of a tale to tell you...at the New Bedford Whaling Museum. Every year I visit; it gets better. The displays are amazing with scrimshaw, whaling tools, and other artifacts. You will enjoy this place! Two rabbit ears up!!
(\ (\
( -.-)
o_(")(")

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bedford Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Bedford Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing