We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was on our tour of 4 different Maui hotels, scouting for locations for a business meeting. This one won hands-down for best location on Maui because of proximity to beach, walking distance to the Shops at Wailea, and easy drive to/from the airport. The guest rooms are divided into several different Hanas, and ours did not have an elevator, so we had to lug baggage up and down stairs. Keep this in mind if you have a lot of luggage and/or kids, and you don't want to have to ask for help from the bell desk. Great meal and service at the restaurant Mala for both dinner and breakfast. We found the adults-only pool a little snobby for out taste, truth be told. Had to listen to other couples talking/complaining rather loudly the entire time, so it wasn't very relaxing. Better to go find a spot on the beach! Meeting spaces are great. Would recommend for a family vacation, though a bit pricey for the overall experience. See my review of the Makena Beach Golf Resort if you want more for the same price! Still a nice place to stay, though other than location it was not our very favorite.

Room Tip: Rooms in hana closest to beach are furthest from the lobby, but we enjoyed the roar of the ocean all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EventPlanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    1,073
    440
    180
    109
See reviews for
697
1,578
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights this October. The location and grounds of this hotel are spectacular. The views out to the ocean are beautiful and you get a real "resort" feeling the moment you step into the hotel. We stayed in the tower on the 6th floor and we had distant ocean views from the balcony. When we checked in my husband and I were told that they only had a room with two queens instead of one king. Since we were there for our wedding anniversary we weren't happy with this. She then gave us the option of another room with a king with not quite such a good view. We booked and paid for a premium ocean view so not sure if what we were given was what we paid for. The person who checked us in did not seem very willing to make us feel welcome but just did what she had to. She was polite. Nevertheless the room was clean and seemed to have been updated in the not too distant past. The beds in this hotel are definitely an issue. I had read this on previous reviews and had thought " how bad can they be?". They are really bad believe me. I can sleep anywhere and in fact at home sleep on a water bed which is soft of course. The beds at marriott are so soft and lumpy you just sink in a bad position. My husband and I are both going home with bad backs. This hotel is really close to the shops at wailea where they have fantastic shopping and eating. We had most of out dinners there. There is also an ABC shop there where you can buy everyday necessities. This hotel could be really spectacular as they have such great grounds and location but their lack of attention to detail and failure to provide guests with with any extra care than what is basically required makes it just ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ask for an Ocean View Room...otherwise rooms are okay. Higher up also better...and near the pools. Large spread out property, gorgeous landscaping. A short walk and you can swim in the ocean. Food was pretty good... Great staff! The only negative was I had just turned off my lights to my room and about 30 minutes later there was a knock on my door for an amenity delivery. This was at 10:30 at night. Thought that was a little late to be making deliveries. Lighting in the bath/dressing area could be a little better.

Room Tip: Higher Up... Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our second stay here & the grounds are just beautiful! Your right on the ocean, every morning & night you have the most fantastic sunrise-sunsets you could possibly imagine! The hotel was updated maybe 7 years ago, the rooms are nice but they could use a little freshening up. Staff here is very accommodating! Shopping is within walking distance with wonderful restaurants like Tommy Bahama's & Ruth Chris. We only had breakfast at the hotel & it's nothing special. It's BREAKFAST & you can't mess that up too much! All in all we love this place & will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure when you check in if you booked (through an outside agency) an ocean view make sure you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
972 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights before a company event on Oahu. We absolutely loved it. We were upgraded to a sea view room over looking the infinity pool. The room was spacious with a comfortable big bed, sofa & table and balcony. The hotel was superb value even after adding the rsaort fees, although I didn't have to pay the wifi fee, and would have avoided that using the free access in public areas instead. It is in an ideal location for the Shops at Wailea and lots of restaurants in the shops, at the Gateway and all the surrounding hotels, plus the on-site Starbucks and shops. The infinity pool was very tranquil, but they need a few more umbrellas as you have to claim a spot before 8am. We loved the sea front walk an especially the turtles that came near the shore just after high tide. If i am lucky enough to go back to Maui this would be my first choice.

Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Would go back to this property every year. Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by and easy access to highways to the rest of the island. The adult pool was very nice and the area quite. Found the food there was not the best so we opted for restaurants off site. The huge tree lined drive is gorgeous coming into the check in area. The property is well maintained. There is a walkway on the ocean connecting the Marriott to the Grand Wailea, Four Seasons, and Fairmont hotels. Beautiful walk!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son almost drowned at the Wailea Marriott due to an employee's negligence. So my advice to you is be careful at the kiddie pool area and especially watch out for the slides. One of them has a nine foot plunge pool that we were not warned about. My son went down the slide and got scared because he felt like he was being sucked under. The Marriott employee on duty just stood there sort of reaching his hand instead of jumping in to save my son. We heard my son screaming, ran over there with another employee who also heard the screams and he jumped in to save our son. We filed a claim and had to take a recorded statement and now no one will get back to us as to what the final verdict is. My husband has left three messages and we still have not received a call back. All we ever received for this incident was a basket from management with some cookies. I think my son's life is worth a heck of a lot more than that. I think we are entitled to a free stay at the very least. I will forever have the picture in my head of the employee just standing there looking around and sort of reaching for my son while he was desperately trying not to drown.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank justjess123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing