We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in the Wailea for 5 night in April. The hotel is really amazing. The location is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. The room was overlooking the gardens and actually facing the lobby yet it was very quiet. There is a starbuck on the property and a mall with shops and restaurants very close by, walking distance (including an ABC store, whic is the go to place for anything you need!)

The property sits on a lava beach, so the beach access is either to the left in from of the Waldorf Astoris, or to the left at another property. The beach to the left is called Ulua and has really great snorkeling. I have snorkled in Oahu, the big island and now Maui and some of the best is this very small cove at Ulua! I saw an octopus, some eels, many types of fish and some sea turtles. Both sides of the rocks are equally great and very calm waters when I was there.

The pool closest to the lobby was fun and the food and service were great. We used the coin laundry there and that was great. Overall I really loved this area of Maui (also stayed up near Black Rock in Kaanapali) and think I like Wailea and Kehei better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    1,073
    440
    180
    109
See reviews for
696
1,578
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This resort is really spread out over many acres with an open air lobby and 4 pools. Really loved the fact that they have an adult serenity pool as well as a children's pool. Views are amazing! The last 4 days there have been sea turtles in the ocean in front of the pool. The whales are gone this time of year but I was trying to imagine how delightful it would be to sit at the pool and watch the whales during the winter. Bring your binoculars. Also, Beautiful sunsets.
Food not so great although I did have a good salad for lunch at the pool. Mai Tai at the pool was tasty and they did not skimp on the alcohol.
Nice to have the Wailea shops next door. Nice upscale shopping with a couple of restaurants with great happy hours.

Room Tip: Room was nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel needs to be razed and reconstructed from the ground up. It is one of the most dated hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are long in the tooth with dated finishes, bathrooms and everything. We were upgraded to a room very close to the ocean but it was ver,y very disappointing to the point it was maddening. The furniture is old and in disrepair. The glass doors and glass top table looked dirty with a layer or greasy oily film. The room had ants and we awoke to dead roaches in our room. The faucet in the sink is so cheap, it sprays and splatters water over you as you try to wash your hands. The bathroom is very old style from the 70's with the toilet crammed in next to the tub so it feels claustrophobic. This is coming from two travelers who are very skinny and thin. The tub looks like it has been clad in cheesy cararra marble at some point in the past to "jazz" it up but it fails miserably. Cararra is awful for hotels because it is so soft and prone to etching and after so many visitors it looks bad, old, dated and worn as well. The beds are miserably uncomfortable. The breakfast buffets have sneeze guards over the buffet trays but the brass/metal support are encrusted with bird crap. I know birds are awful at the buffets in Hawaii but everyone else except this cheesy Marriott keeps them clean. I can't believe they keep the Marriott name on this property. If I were the Marriott family and corporation I would have removed my name long ago from this old dated property. This is likely a hotel built by a private corporation and manged by Marriott and the owners need to spend money completely rennovating this awful property or change the name to RedRoof Inn Wailea and reduce their rate by 70%. I will never stay at this property again and I've told everyone I know about how terrible this dated, run down property is.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairmont or Four Seasons instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NWTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
342 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wailea Marriott for a second time during 4th of July week last summer. The hotel was super crowded, and there were a ton of kids. Our room was not as great as it was on our first trip, and because we were traveling during a peak week, it was much more expensive. Housekeeping was inconsistent and they often forgot to replace shampoo and soap. There were never enough towels. The service in general was quite poor. I think they were just too packed.

On a positive note, we enjoyed the adult pool. It is lovely. We rented a cabana one day and a casabella several days. Wailea is our favorite place to stay on Maui, and we enjoyed the easy access to the surrounding hotels and their fabulous restaurants. Spago at the Four Seasons was my favorite, and we love breakfast at Longhi's.

On our next trip to Maui, we will definitely skip the Wailea Marriott. Grand Wailea, Four Seasons and the Fairmont Kea Lani are much better.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the main lobby. Rooms there are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grlgrdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just spent 6 nights with a wonderful oceanfront room with spectacular, views of the Pacific - especially beautiful at sunset. Just a note of caution, check out the property before you reserve because some of the oceanfront builidings are further from the ocean than others. We stayed in building 7, on the first floor and were literally just feet away from the ocean. There are two beaches within easy walking distnance. The rooms are a little dated, but hey -- who wants to stay in their room in Hawaii? The are nicely appointed though, with a nice flat screen tv for those rainy days. Food was so-so. Avoid the breakfast buffet. While the view was spectacular, the food was mediocre and pricey. Go to the Starbucks instead and get a coffee and a muffin and sit on your lanai! Another plus for this property is that they have both a kids pool and an adults only pool, so for those without kids you can have some nice relaxing pool time. If you've got little ones the kids pools has a mini-beach, waterslides etc. Definitely a good place and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

room average, bed very uncomfortable, ocean views were blocked by hedges, room noisy right next to Luau, and Kids pool??? Why would they place a couple in this location? It was very expensive,and the $30 a day resort fee - what can I say,
Unless you want to participate in activities it's a rip,off. I have stayed in many places, and this sits very low on my list.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
409 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 809 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty comparable to the other ones in Wailea! For example, it is along the same row of the four seasons and Fairmont. The hotel offers an open-air lobby with torches around the gardens in the evening.

The rooms are very large, 437 ft.² for the smallest room. The only difference is the view that you would get! I had an oceanfront view overlooking the serenity pool, which was ideal. The reason I state that is because the serenity pool lights up with different colors in the evening, instead of looking at a dark ocean.

All rooms have flat-panel televisions, warm greetings from the staff and extremely friendly service.

I would highly recommend this hotel! I almost ended up staying at a different Marriott in Lahaina, which is mostly a timeshare I believe. This hotel is truly a luxury hotel. I am surprised the readings are not as high as the other hotels as this hotel really delivers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.9 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 3700 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Wailea Beach Marriott Hotel Wailea
Marriott Wailea
Wailea Marriott
Wailea Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing