We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect Hawaii to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect Hawaii to be...”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel is lovely from the moment you walk in and see the ocean from the lobby. It is well situated with a lovely private beach. The restaurants are good but there are many great local restaurants from fine dining to a local sushi restaurant which is more modest in price and has fantastic fresh seafood. The rooms are the exceptional value as they are all suites with room to spare and great updated bathrooms. Given its size it is a quiet hotel where you can feel like you are in paradise. The hotel staff is attentive and very willing to help. And there are free washing machines on every floor. Although it is pricey, you get value out of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKeaLani, Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Aloha. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated resort and suites. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,114
    787
    243
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,614
1,652
51
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Great property. Just remodeled a lot of the hotel however they missed the details. Rooms need to be re-carpeted, floors-walls of hotel old and dirty. Rooms are big - 500-800 square feet, hard to beat. Wait staff was scarce at the pool, other staff was friendly. Spa was SERIOUSLY lacking. Try the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton Spa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKeaLani, Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Aloha. Thank you so much for staying at our newly renovated property and for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry that our 16 Million Dollar renovation did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will return as we are constantly enhancing not only the facilities but also the many activities we offer our guests. Your feedback provides valuable information to support our continuous improvement efforts. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I just returned from my 3rd visit to the Kea Lani on Maui. It never seems to get old for me. I traveled this time with my husband, our 4 year old son, my brother and sister in law and my 7 month old niece. We stayed in one of the newly renovated villas (#28). This was our first time staying in a villa and let me just say it was FANTASTIC! The 2 story villa had a beautiful kitchen (fully stocked with pots, pans, cooking supplies etc..), a great living area that walks out to an outdoor patio complete with grille and private pool! There are two bedrooms. One downstairs with gorgeous bathroom and one upstairs with another gorgeous bathroom. The bedrooms/bathrooms are very similar to that of the suites. They are spacious and contain all the luxuries you would expect from a first class hotel. My family very much enjoyed the living quarters and made use of all of the space! I would also like to recommend if you do stay in a villa that you have the "chef" come over and cook for you! We had dinner right on our patio one night and a Fairmont chef came over and cooked us up some mahi mahi and chicken along with other sides. It was a delicious meal and super fun because we could entertain the kids in our private pool and all eat together as a family. The renovations at the main pools are fabulous! The new marble like tile surrounding the pool is gorgeous. The service at the Fairmont Kea Lani is top notch and the people are as nice as can be! This is my favorite vacation spot and I can only hope to return again someday!! It is a great place for romantic couples as well as a great place for kids! They have something for everyone!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyVacationer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKeaLani, Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Aloha. Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our brand new renovated villas, swimming pools and our villa BBQ experience. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it means so much to hear positive feedback from a loyal return guest. Thank you for repeatedly choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your family vacation. We look forwarding to seeing you again very soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was a wonderful resort. The suites were large and spacious, with bathrooms to die for. We had a corner unit with a wrap-around balcony. Everything was clean, neat and in perfect order and the suite was looked after morning and evening. They were generous with the towels, and the rate included all kinds of extras like an excellent yoga class in the morning, complete with mats and towels. Parking was free and the first night of valet was free as well. Service, as always, was excellent, and the bellmen were very helpful. You did not have the feeling the hotel nickled and dimed you at all. The restaurants were also excellent, and we really liked the breakfast buffet with an omelet stand -- it was the best buffet out of all the hotels we stayed at, and for a comparable price. The pools were lovely. Polo beach was on the smallish side, but there was a coastal walkway and Wailea beach was not far away along it. Only two small annoyances -- neither the bathroom sink nor the tub completely kept the water in when plugged (we never complained or they would have fixed it in a moment, I am sure), and they charged $10 per hour for an umbrella on the beach. Whoever heard about a per hour charge for an umbrella? I'd rather pay a flat rate for the day and have done. It was a bit odd, too, considering the rate was so inclusive otherwise.

My husband and I both loved this hotel and would return in a heartbeat,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderinghaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKeaLani, Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated resort. Your feedback is very important to us. We are sorry for the inconvenience with water plugs. We appreciate your feedback. Just a note: our beach umbrellas are available at a daily rate of $45. We try to give value: we have no resort fee, offer complimentary parking and complimentary internet for our Fairmont Presidents Club members. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your Hawaii experience. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I have been to Hawaii and especially Maui many times. Stayed at many excellent properties on my Hawaii trips. The Fairmont Kea Lani, if not the best, is one of the best. Located in Wailea, less than thirty minutes from the main airport. Located near shopping areas and lots of restaurants at reasonable rates.

The resort is an all Suite property. Lots of room. LIke most Fairmont properties, service is excellent. I stayed at many Fairmont properties over the years, all have been excellent.
This property does not have a GOLD Floor.

Great Breakfast buffet ($30.00). Lots of pool space. When we were here in December, felt like we were at our own private pool. Staff comes around pool area with complimentary pineapple slices and water.

Staff really friendly Doorman and bellman very friendly. All thank me for coming to their resort. You felt that they really appreciated you for being guest.

Right on the beach. You can walk along paved walk to all other major resorts in Wailea. Great views including seeing Whales on this walk.

When people think of staying in Paradise, they might be describing Farmont Kea Lani.

Self parking is free.

I asked for late checked out to 2:00pm. No problem.

Can't wait to go back.



Right on the Beach. you can wok

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAKWethersfield_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

rooms were awesome, big, huge, well appointed, huge tub, big bathroom, great balcony, spectacular view of the ocean from all the rooms. Lobby was dated, elevators and hallways very worn out, but they are redoing both this year. Pools were decent, but nothing exciting. Beach area was good, and accounting for some shared beach with another hotel, very long. Sand was powdery, no rocks. Water was smooth once you got past a break, but big enough waves on the break to do some solid boogy boarding. We had a rental car, so did not eat one meal there, food looked good but cannot comment. Do take advantage of the room fridge and grab groceries from the Safeway, their sushi was very good believe it or not, and a great way to save money. Island of course is pure magic, so with a rental car use the great rooms to get quiet and relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I traveled as a guest with my fiance to the Fairmont as a rewards trip for his company which included many many people. Our stay included 2 breakfasts and 1 sit down dinner. To accomodate 400-500 people at one time for meals the hotel staff was amazing and the food was incredible!!

The shuttle will take you anywhere(within a distance) and will return to pick you up free of charge which was wonderful if you did not rent a car.

The pool(s), oh where do I start... Great service, clean and an abundance of seating! There were employees who passed around fresh pineapple slices a few times a day and also passed out rolled freezing ice cold wash rags to cool off with. There was always ice cold water at each pool with cups so you could enjoy free water all day. The menu and drinks are expensive(everything in Maui is) but we opted for a kid's menu and they allowed us to order food from it - best idea ever!! 10 dollar vs. 25 dollar lunches. There are 4 pools, one is adult only(lovely!), one has a waterslide and is attached to the pool cafe and also has a swim up bar, the other pool is down the hill from the swim up bar pool and it is the pool the slide empties into, and there is one children's pool.

The property is amazing, the beach is clean and again an abundance of seating! The water is crystal clear! There is also a beach front path that extends 2 miles along the ocean front that starts at the Fairmont and extends to the right even down past the Marriott property. Beautiful walking path!!!

The rooms to my understanding are all suites. Ours was 1 bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen area. The marble walk in shower was wonderful, an oversized bathtub, 2 pedastal sinks and a seperate room for the toilet. The bedroom has seperate "his and her' closets. 2 LCD televisions in each room. The best part was the balcony - it went the length of the room with sliding doors from the living room and bedroom. There was a lounge chair and a table and 4 chairs to sit on. Our view was the ocean to the right and the mountains to the left. Housekeeping came every morning and every evening, the place was always spotless!

The breakfast buffet downstairs has everything you could ever want for breakfast, but is $30.00 per person, but I insist you try it at least once!

This was my first stay at a Fairmont and we were impressed. We are Marriott members but after having stayed here we are looking into staying at a Fairmont for our honeymoon later this year. If you stay here you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontKeaLani, Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Aloha. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our property. We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in providing an enjoyable experience for you and your family. Mahalo for your positive comments about our renovated suites and pool decks. Mahalo for your appreciation of our beach, location, food and service. It means so much. We hope to welcome you back for your honeymoon later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing