We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$945
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,578/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$809
$549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$407
$367
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $409/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$484
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,179
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,001)
Filter reviews
5,001 results
Traveler rating
3,631
906
289
123
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,631
906
289
123
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewtop notchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
4,162 - 4,167 of 5,001 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Great hotel all around. Friendly staffs, great service, over sized room, beautiful hotel facilities, free self parking, free shuttle service to nearby malls and restaurants, and beaches. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonycha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at the Kea Lani for our anniversary trip. We were treated to an ocean view upgrade which put a smile on our face every time we looked out at the beautiful Maui views. The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities we needed. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mknoebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Overview:
Pro`s - Great suites, awesome beach, luxury feel.
Con`s - Pricey for ocean view rooms.

Check-In:
* Upon arriving at the Kea Lani, you definitely are greeted with a feeling of luxury. The lobby is very nice and we were given leis (kukui nuts for me and real flowers for the wife). While I was at the desk, my wife was also offered a cool glass of pog. They were nice touches and an enjoyable start to your stay.
* We had booked an ocean view under the renovation rate and were advised they had upgraded us to a deluxe ocean view. I asked the clerk to show me on the hotel grounds map where the room would be and was shown a nice room on the 6th floor facing directly out to the ocean.

Room:
* The room was very nice and had a fantastic view. The balcony is huge and has sliding doors to it from both the living and bedroom spaces.
* Rooms are a good size (around 900 square feet) and are set up in a neat square pattern. You enter into a little foyer that has a wet bar area and fridge. Off to the side is a door to a big bathroom and directly ahead is the living space. The living space then connects to a bedroom that can be closed off and you can also access the bathroom from the bedroom. Feels like a little apartment.
* Our room had a nice big couch and desk in the living space. Desk was handy since I had to do a bit of work on my trip (yes I know, very lame). Good size tv`s in both the living space and bedroom.
* Bathroom was also very nice with double sinks, big bathtub, water closet, and a nice open shower area.

Pool:
* Only the adult pool was open as the other pool was being renovated. This made it pretty tough to find space unless you got down there fairly early. But they did set lots of chairs and cabanas elsewhere around the grounds whcih was good.
* The pools are set quite far away from the beach area which is a bit disappointing. Some other resorts do have them set a little closer which feels nicer.

Beach:
* Beach was very good and has a secluded feel to it. As all pools were not open, they were providing beach umbrellas and chairs at no charge. Beach attendants would set them up for you and place a clip with your name on them. You could leave, but if you didn`t return in about an hour or so, they would be recycled to someone else. It was a good system and it was nice to see the attendants being diligent to keep tabs on use. Too bad they didn`t also enforce this system up at the pool.
* Also was nice that they were not charging to sign out boogie boards and snorkel equipment.

Parking:
* Parking lot did fill up later in the evening, but we were always able to find a spot. This was very convenient and it made it easy to zip into Kihei or down to the Shops at Wailea for dinner without having to worry about not being able to find a spot.

Food:
* Places are pricey, but its Wailea and a Fairmont and is expected. But the little cafe does have decent prices on some very good sandwiches.

Conclusion:
* We loved the hotel. Your room feels very cozy and like a little home away from home.
* We definitely would recommend this hotel to a friend. We would even consider returning and staying in a non-view room where you are still getting a good sized room at a fair price on a luxury resort.

** See my reviews of Hotel Wailea and Westin Maui for comparatives

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilkyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was my first stay at this all suite luxury hotel that is undergoing quite a bit of renovation this fall - starting with the pool and extending to all its rooms. The renovation was definitely needed and will make a great improvement in this already great property.
It's difficult to compete with the extraordinarily excellent service at a Fairmont hotel and the Kea Lani is right up there. People remember your name, what you like and don't like. It's almost like staying at a small boutique hotel.
We loved our room. Having a suite is always a pleasure and this one comes with a small kitchen area as well which we took advantage of, stocking up on wine and munchies so that we could enjoy those on our balcony at sunset before venturing out for dinner each evening. The only small complaint I might have was that the carpet seemed quite tired and I understand that it is the one thing they are not changing in the remodel - a mistake in my eyes. I loved the double closets, the separate shower and bath. My partner disliked the bed. He is fussier than I and found it lumpy and uncomfortable.
In terms of location, Wailea offers a traveler a first rate experience. There are no condos there unless they are privately owned so there isn't a lot of tourist traffic in, out and around them. I love the "boardwalk" pathway that extends along the beach in front of all the other hotel properties. It's a great place for a morning run or walk.
Food at the hotel was pretty good - better than most hotel food but we preferred to get out to other restaurants not hotel owned most of the time. Mama's Fish House, of course, Sansei for suchi, Tommy Bahama for asian influenced everything, and the small fish houses along the shore.
Would we return? Refer a friend. Absolultely, after the renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rannynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Got a construction deal, so price was great. Don't know if I would pay full price for this hotel. Rooms are enormous and nicest rooms we'e stayed in! Huge balonies with table and chairs-which was great to order appetizers or pizza and eat them at sunset on the balcony! Also nice for breakfast-they bring linens with room service or you can order from the deli and they bring linens also. Pizza is great there! Pool side dining was crazy expensive, so go the deli and get something there. Adult pool was great, but lacked music. We walked over to the Grand Wailea and they had music playing, which made it more festive, but guess people come here for the quiet. It is a very quiet hotel, so if you are looking for that, it's great! Beach is nice, a little small. Loved the complementary beach chairs, boogie boards, parking, etc. They have a breakfast buffet that is really good and keeps you full through lunch! Not a lot of action going on, but had a nice relaxing feel to it. If you want action an more noise, go to the Grand Wailea. This hotel is great for couples and families with small kids. Teens would prefer the Grand Wailea. We really did love our stay here, the bellman were especially nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruzrmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews