We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Christmas treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Christmas treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kea Lani and once again it did not disappoint. The rooms are wonderful, even though all we could get was a partial ocean view. I was very happy to see that the hotel now has coffee makers in the room and a microwave and fridge. I know they want people to eat at their restaurants, but these things make my stay more pleasant overall and more likely for me to come back. Check-in was quick and the staff are overall very friendly and attentive.
The resort is not cheap to stay at, and lunch generally ran us nearly $100 a day for four (that is simple fare around the pool). Still, the food is good and fresh and if we wanted there were cheaper alternatives out there. We chose to hang out close to home and pay a premium. There was a Christmas buffet that was offered while we were there and it was quite good. Also, Santa arrived by outrigger on the beach and met with all the kids on Christmas Eve. That was a nice touch.
This was the first time we used the Keiki Club for our two children (5 and 6) and they loved it. I would have preferred to see a bit more outdoor play, but with lots of kids I can see the rationale for keeping them in a safe and contained environment. This was also quite expensive, but what a wonderful day we parents had lounging in the peace and quiet of the adult pool. Highly recommend.
My only real complaint, and honestly it's minor and somewhat petty in light of real problems, is the pool chair system or lack thereof at the resort. If you want you can rent a cabana for an outrageous sum of money, or hang out right next to the cabana in a free-of-charge lounger. However, getting a lounge chair is next to impossible. The official line is that you can't hold chairs and if you do reserve some, you can't hold them for more than two hours unattended. There is nothing more frustrating than taking your kids to the pool for the day and not being able to sit near them when they swim. All around are empty lounge chairs with towels indicating that they are being used. However, they sit empty all day sometimes. We grabbed a couple chairs one day not even realizing someone had "saved" them. He and his wife showed up THREE hours after we had been sitting there and demanded we give them back to them. As if they had actually invested any time in using them. I say, first come first serve. If you leave, you forfeit. That should not be a problem if everyone else is under that same system. I would love to have the best seat in the house too, but that only works when you pay for them. Free chairs should be open to all. That, or get some more chairs. At the Four Seasons next door you can stay in a cabana or lounge chairs free of charge - or as free as anything is when you pay the amount of money both hotels charge for a room. I mean for $700+ a day don't you think a lounge chair or cabana should be thrown in for good customer service? I hate being nickel and dimed.
Still, don't want to end on a negative. It was a lovely stay and I plan on going back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacknmacksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,994
    771
    234
    101
    41
See reviews for
1,534
1,600
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband had a conference in Maui and we had a discounted rate. The rate was $225 for partial ocean view but we were upgraded to a full ocean view. If you want an unobstructed view of the ocean, ask for the highest floor (5 or 6) so that the tall palm trees do not interfere with the view (not that it's bad either). We saw whales from our balcony breaching. The hotel has a beach and is quite nice. If you are going to snorkel, try to go south side of the beach and south the rocks where you may have chance encounter with green turtles feeding. Staff is wonderful and attentive. Rooms are clean, although slightly dated. However, the suites are spacious. Beds were wonderfully comfortable. Did not try the restaurants on site as we took advantage of having a rental car and drove to the nearby town of Kihei for all sorts of restaurants. If you like golf, it is close to Wailea and Makena. Definitely, try Makena North Course....view is actually much better than Wailea golf course. Can't wait to go back to Maui and definitely would stay at Fairmont again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Maui and stayed at the Fairmont and we loved it. The staff was friendly and the location was great. It was right on the beach so you had the option of the pool or the ocean. Our favorite restaurant was Nicks Fishmarket it was one of the best meals we had there. Keep in mind it is expensive to eat and drink there but when we go away we like to enjoy and not worry about prices. You can stop at Costco or Walmart which is right outside the airport and stock up which would save you some money. We highly recommend this hotel is was a great family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

We were in Maui for 10 days in November for a family vacation. In the group was myself, husband and 14 month old daughter, my parents and my husbands parents. We had 3 rooms all next door to each other in the M series overlooking the gardens and adult pool with a view of the ocean. The rooms were spacious with plenty of amenities for a family, huge bathrooms, bedroom & living room and the lanais are spacious with seating for 6. It was the perfect spot for a family vacation. The pools were clean and warm with plenty of seating all around - we spent the majority of our time in the kid pool area. The pool service was great with a large menu. Polo beach is beautiful and perfect for kids to play and adults to relax and tan - not overcrowded at all. Great snorkelling and plenty of marine life - including sea turtles! The restaurants were all tasty with great service, and the cafe was perfect for breakfast and snacks. The hotel has great proximity to the local mall and the next town. There is a boardwalk along the ocean that passes right by the hotel which is great for a early morning walk with the kids or a late night walk to check out the nightlife at the other hotels. Overall we had a fantastic trip and would definitely go back to this hotel! While in Maui, check out the Old Lahaina Luau - great experience. The town of Lahaina warrants a day & evening to walk & dine. The road to Hana is long and windy but some really amazing sights (black sand beach, blowhole, waterfalls, etc) - allow a whole day for this trip. The town of Paia was our favourite with some really neat shops, great local food, and the beach at Waimea is awesome to watch the surfers. Check out the crater - pretty neat sight.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My husband had a conference in Maui and we had a discounted rate. The rate was $225 for partial ocean view but we were upgraded to a full ocean view. If you want an unobstructed view of the ocean, ask for the highest floor (5 or 6) so that the tall palm trees do not interfere with the view (not that it's bad either). We saw whales from our balcony breaching. The hotel has a beach and is quite nice. If you are going to snorkel, try to go south side of the beach and south the rocks where you may have chance encounter with green turtles feeding. Staff is wonderful and attentive. Rooms are clean, although slightly dated. However, the suites are spacious. Beds were wonderfully comfortable. Did not try the restaurants on site as we took advantage of having a rental car and drove to the nearby town of Kihei for all sorts of restaurants. If you like golf, it is close to Wailea and Mekena. Definitely, try Mekena North Course....view is actually much better than Wailea golf course. Can't wait to go back to Maui and definitely would stay at Fairmont again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Just returned from the Fairmont for our xmas/new years vacation with our adult (21 & 25)girls. We had 2 suites that were partial ocean view. We definitely could see the ocean and had a decent view, but we could not see the beautiful sunset from our terrace. If we ever return to this hotel I think I would spring for the ocean view although I don't think my kids would care. The rooms/suites were very roomy and lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable and the housekeeping staff was top notch. They never disturbed us and our suite was always cleaned when we got back and at night the beds were always turned down and room cleaned. The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very nice and very accomodating. The conciemrge staff was very helpful and there were plenty of them. There are 3 pool areas. One is just adults the other 2 are for all. There were a lot of kids there but it was not a problem. Most were well behaved and having fun. It is a little tricky with the chairs at the pool although there are a lot of chairs. You have to get down at the crack of dawn to scope out a good lounge. Then you put some stuff on them and go to breakfast. They have a 2 hours rule but I never saw that enforced. You could always get a lounge at the beach but umbrellas at the beach cost $45 per day. The pool umbrellas are free but are hard to get and don't really block out the sun. They could use more help at the pool but the workers there are really nice and attentive when they are available. The beach is also very pretty and they keep it very nice. The hotel is expensive so be prepared to spend $$$. The drinks at the pool are a fortune and don't have much alcohol in them. We ate at two of the restaurants at the hotel Ko the first night which was very good and Nicks for New Years eve. Nicks had a priced fix menu with good selections but the price was crazy at it did not include drinks. The food was quite good though. All in all the hotel was great and we would definitely consider staying there again if we go to Maui in the future. They are supposedly doing a renovation this year so when that is done I'm sure the hotel will be amazing. It is in need of an update although we found it very comfortable and beautiful. If you go you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

At first sight the lobby Is absoluely beutiful...... But do not be fooled. you go outside cheated out of tour money. you have been fooled by a pretty big fountain or the great ocean view. When you past the caffe you will notice the cheap looking sunsetter retractable awning covering the whole outside walk to the pool. Also you will see that the adult pool is pretty public looking. At the pool you are still fooled by fool looking island ans bridges. The pool is badly maintained and quite dirty. If you want a hot tub you will have to bathe in a hot tub of pee and Oreo smoothies. The food at the breakfast buffet is very good with a omelet bar and a assortment of foods.the service at their is absolutely terible. All-in-all the resort has a nice ocean view and beutiful lobby but if you want luxury, style, and great device go the four seasons

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank U8toast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
23.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing