We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled really bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room smelled really bad”
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Just returned from staying 7 nights and we will not be going back to the kea lana for the following reasons:
1. Our "ocean-view" room for which we were paying $630/night was facing a neighboring condo complex with only a view of the ocean if you leaned out over the balcony. We switched rooms after check-in to get a pool/ocean view room.
2. The room smelled funny but we couldn't place where the smell was coming from (smelled like poo or vomit at times). We finally determined that the smell was coming when you sat on the couch in the living area, and it was on our clothes as well. Apparently, someone had either vomited or gone to the bathroom on the couch (probably a child) and it was never properly cleaned, so there was a lingering odor everytime you sat on the couch. We had them actually exchange the couch for another one, but the replacement, although clean from smells, had numerous stains on it (don't venture to guess what those were). Can't believe that a "5-star" hotel would let something like this happen, very disgusting. Felt like a Days Inn.
3. The room service is over-priced and the food just isn't that good.
4. When dining down in the Cafe, my girlfriend asked if they could make her some chicken noodle soup and the waiter replied that they could but it might take 10 minutes or so. After about 20-30 minutes, they delivered her soup and after tasting it she realized it was nothing more than Campbell's soup from a can. When we questioned the manager, he said that the waiter should have told up about that (which he didn't), whereupon when we questioned the waiter, he made up some story about how the chef messed up, and they had to run out and buy some Campbells soup, but they wouldn't charge us the $15 for it. Come on, is this a luxury hotel or a Motel Six!
5. The sink in the bathroom didn't drain and when the maintenance guy came up to unclog it, there was tons of hair stuck in the drain (not from us).
6. The carpet, furnishings, bedspread are all original (at least 10 years old), smelly and need to be replaced or upgraded (the pillows are hard as rocks).
7. They charge you extra for everything (parking, pool shade, beach umbrellas), absolutely riduculous given what we were paying for the dirty, smelly, room.
8. This hotel is probably more suited to families with young children, not for romantic couples looking for nice rooms and accomodations.

On our last day, we walked over to the Four Seasons and it was like night and day, that is the place we are staying on our next visit. Other than that, our day excursions to Kaanapali, Hana, Moma's Fish House for lunch were awesome. We just didn't look forward to returning to this "2-star hotel at best" each evening.

Apparently Fairmont bought this place two years ago, and I guess they decided to get the most out of the room furnishings and not invest much money into sprucing the place up. It is a worn hotel and needs a major facelift. It felt like more of an Embassy Suites than a five-star luxury hotel on Maui. Be forewarned...book at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MJRLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,169
    796
    248
    105
    41
See reviews for
1,664
1,668
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 25, 2006

We greatly enjoyed our stay despite a few problems. The Kea Lani is in the Wailea area of the island, which was much nicer than most of the other resort areas we saw. The Wailea is very upscale, while nearby Kihea seemed to be a cheap hotel row crawling with teenagers and unpleasant drunken locals hanging and hollering out of their cars. The Fairmont property is impeccably maintained, and the views are spectacular. All public spaces were beautiful and connected to nature, and very clean. The pool areas were clean, open and offered free lounges and umbrellas. There are cabanas available for daily rent, and they had the audacity to charge for an umbrella on the beach ! The kids loved the slide, and spent most of the day in or around the pools. We did not take advantage of the "kids program" and we were not aware prior to our arrival that there was an age requirement for admission. We did use a local babysitter one day for our three year old, and she was awesome ! $16/hour seemed a bit steep, but since he loved his time with her it was well worth it. Upon check-in we were assigned a room with 2 twin beds, a side-angle view of the ocean and a direct view into the neighboring condos' living rooms. Not exactly what we expected as a married couple that still sleeps together. When we expressed our disappointment to the front desk agent, it was apparent that he was not interested, because an alternative room shown to us was on a lower floor with a view of the pool and an outdoor dining area. He also said that we were not guaranteed any specific bed arrangement, even though our reservation through Apple Vacations designated a king bed and ocean view. Never heard that excuse. Despite the offer, we opted to wait until the next morning after some guests had checked out, to see if there were other room options. Indeed, a very helpful and concerned Luz found us a great room that met our expectations, and did not require a mile walk to the pools etc. Housekeeping was great and friendly, but there were some negatives on the room: the balcony floors were so filthy that the bottoms of our feet were black after walking outside for a minute.......there were no utensils/plates etc needed to take advantage of the fridge/microwave/coffeepot set up in the suite. We were encouraged to call room service for that stuff, which was interesting because every time they brought food up to the room there was a $4 charge, but they were happy to walk a fork or spoon up for free ! Otherwise, their food was way overpriced, but tasty ($6 lemonade at poolside...$16 sandwiches...$4 room delivery charge plus automatic 18% gratuity...$5 single scoop ice cream....$22 breakfast buffet....etc). Dont know how this place compares to others in the area, but we met many return visitors who couldve gone anywhere yet claimed the Kea Lani was the best of all. We ranked this place 4 stars because of the lovely proprety, the overall positive vibe there, and the state of relaxation we left with after our 6 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

5/8-5/15 stayed at the Kea Lani. Stop at Costco as you pull out of the airport and get water, cereal etc... this was really a nice option. They have coffee in the room so you can have breakfast on the balcony. Dining at the hotel was good, mai tai's are best in Maui. The swim up bar has was nice for the guys to watch baseball and still feel like you're in the islands. If you are going to eat a nice breakfast, lunch, or dinner, I would highly recommend going to Seawatch (a five minute shuttle ride from the hotel). The view of the water and the grounds (it's on a golf course overlooking the ocean) is great. We had amazing eggs benedict for $11 which was the avg of most items. Very reasonable compared to $27 buffet at hotel. We wish we would have gone here several times for breakfast. We did also have lunch one day and it was very good as well. Sarrento on the beach is really good and you can reach out and touch the waves! They have a photographer w/ the option to buy your photo (they take it on the beach) which is a nice touch. Rent a car and go to Lahiana for the day. Great shops and worth the time! Alli Nui was a very nice sunset cruise for adults! We also had dinner at Spago's and it was very good (red curry my fav). My husband had a great lomi lomi massage at the spa. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2006

I just returned from a week long stay at the Fairmont. My parents treated my fiancee and I to the trip and we were all staying in the same suite because the hotel said that the suites comfortably slept 4 adults. While the hotel did in fact have a sofa-bed, it was the worst and most uncomfortable sofa bed I have ever slept on (hard as a rock, our feet hung off of it at least 6 inches, smaller than double bed, etc.) We ended up moving the "mattress" onto the floor after the second night. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed, and the lanai / balcony was a good size too.

Hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained - everything is lush and tropical. Kids are everywhere... except at the adult pool which was peaceful and had attentive poolside service. Poolside food and drinks were good, but of course overpriced (like every nice hotel). Cafe Caio offers a slightly cheaper alternative and has an assortment of food and beverages (we got breakfast there some mornings - coffee, yogurt and bagels).

The biggest downfall of the Fairmont is the Spa Kea Lani. It is very obvious that the spa was an afterthought at this resort. It is in a space designed for a retail shop, and, as such, it is extremely small and lacks the features that one expects at the prices they charge and at a resort of such prestige. There is not even a relaxation room to wait in or relax in before or after your treatment. The locker rooms are VERY small and the whole spa only has around 7 or 8 treatment rooms. My mother and I also went to the Four Seasons spa (right next door) and this spa charges around $10 less per treatment and has a much better facility. If you are interested in having a spa treatment, I would highly recommend the Four Seasons spa over the Kea Lani. The spa at the Grand Wailea (the soon to be Waldorf Astoria) is also very nice, but it charges $30 extra for non-guests.

Don't miss out on Nick's Fishmarket - one of the best meals we had in Maui, and they same owners have a place down the street called Sarento's, which was also very good.

Overall it is a great resort and we had a great stay.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank DCJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We just returned from our trip to Hawaii, where we had stayed 4 nights at the Kea Lani. Upon arrival we were told that our rooms were not ready. This was checking in around 3:30pm. We were aware that check in was at 4:00 and wanted to get a drink and a bite to eat anyway. We were told that they would call us when our rooms were ready on our cell phones. We went to find some food and beverage, but had to walk all the way to one of the pool bars, as all the other places were not open until 5:00pm. (But most of the staff there did not know this for whatever reason). It took forever for the food to come out. There were birds everywhere eating scraps of food and making things very messy if you know what I a mean. I ended up with bird poo all over a jacket and purse. And that was trying to keep it sheltered!!!!

We get our room and it was nice. However, when I pay over a certain dollar amount I expect to have a mini-bar available. Maybe I'm in the minority on that one. The accoustic ceiling was very dated. We all ran our feet into the big lip on the sliding glass doors there OUCH!!!! The fan click clacked the entire time, bed and pillows were not comfortable. Bathroom, was nice and big. We also had a hard time with the internet acess, but lucky for me I travel with a spare ethernet cable and was able to plug into the wall.

There were what seemed like a million kids on the property. We had indeed traveled with our son who I signed up for the Kids Program for two of the four days. He enjoyed it very much, the staff was great with the kids. And it was a nice break for him to be able to hang out with some kids his age and expend some energy!!! It was also nice for us as we were then able to indugle in a few spa treatments for my husband and myself.

The spa was small, the treatments top dollar. They and the facilities were not worth the price. I have had much better for less.

The food was not great either, and we did leave the property to eat all of our evening meals. However we did do the breakfast buffet every morning....which wasn't great but was included in our package.

The staff was hit or miss...just like in life.....

We will never stay at this hotel again. And I now never have any desire to stay at another Fairmont property. I will spend my travel dollars elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Sweetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Subject: Maui
Location: Maui, United States, North America
Title: A great resort
ID#: 4244887

In early November 2005, my wife and I began our Hawaii vacation by
arriving at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Maui. From the moment we arrived,
we were blown away with this resort.

We were immediately told that our car would be taken care of with the free valet service. At the front desk, we were given a cool towel and tropical juice. We received a room upgrade (without asking) to a fantastic corner suite with a gorgeous wrap-around balcony (lanai?). Every resort worker was genuinely warm and friendly. The resort grounds were beautiful and uncrowded. Several corporate functions proceeded in beautiful areas separated from vacation guests. We were surprised to learn that we received all of this service before they even knew that we were members of Fairmont's Presidents Club.
Overall, this was a memorable treat.

Helpful?
9 Thank jskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2006

This is our 3rd trip to the Kea Lani with young kids. The hotel is a great destination for families, plenty of room for the kids to run, but not too big to feel you are at a conference hotel.

The rooms have been remodeled and are very comfortable. The pools are perfect for kids and adults alike. The pool side staff is very attentive and helpful. If you want to rent a poolside cabana, be sure to call well in advance of your visit.

The service is among the best at any hotel, with a major exception being food service. Room service is painfully slow, if the order is even correct. Pool side service is even slower. And Cafe Caio is a true execrice in patience. I am not sure why they cannot get this right, bringing in your own food to your suite is cheaper and much faster. That said, Nick's Fishmarket is excellent. Quality of food and service.

We will be back... and stopping at the grocery on the way in/

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank feeshmonCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing