We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kea Lani Honeymoon....not all that great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Danville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kea Lani Honeymoon....not all that great!”
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We just returned from the Kea Lani for our honeymoon. I did much research on the hotel and Maui before deciding on where to go. We decided to do 5 of our 10 nights at the Kea Lani and the first half at the Kappalua Villas (next to the Ritz).

Negatives:

(1) We had to wait almost 2 hours to get our rooms "ready". They told us they would call us when it was done, finally almost 2 hours later, my husband had to go ask the front desk what was taking so long and they finally had it ready....when we did arrive to our room (which was a Deluxe Ocean Front), there was some else's bags in our room. SO, we had to go all the way down to the front desk again and tell them there's someone else's belongings in the room. The front desk girl tells us the room is ours, but they need to move those bags, which belong to another guest to another room. The original guests in that room decided they wanted to upgrade. Well, when we did get to our room, it was nice, clean, spacious, all what you expect at a 5 star resort. However, our ocean front room was not really ocean front. So again we went to the front desk and asked them why we didnt get the room we're paying for and to the hotel's standard we did have deluxe ocean front...but we were facing the Four Season's villas as well as the ocean, so honestly we felt we did not get our money's worth on the room itself!

(2) The concierge's desk was a joke. The attitude at the concierge's was not helpful, but rather half --- when you asked them to do anything (i.e. my husband asked if they could give him some change...so we can tip the valet...but the response he got was "the front desk can give you change". the front desk had several people waiting in line to check in and out but the concierge's didnt have anything else to do)

(3) The pools are average at best, nothing spectacular....seen better pools at my friend's backyards!

(4) Service over all was a 4 out of 10. I dont feel they go above and beyond what they should at a resort area like this. I felt like the service was like a Holiday Inn (at best!)

Positives:

(1) The food was good, not great, but good. It is not that expensive considering you're at a resort and in Maui.

(2) The valet and bell desk service was great, that was the only service at the hotel worth praising. They actual gave the island hospitality that lacked everywhere else on the island!


Over all I am not a person that gets hung up on 'status' or '5 star' places, but I do expect a certain level of service and quality when I do pay for these things...and the Kea Lani did not give us that quality service one should expect. The resorts in Waiela in general was not that great, we went to the Four Season's, Grand Waiela and they weren't anything spectacular either.

MAUI IN GENERAL:

As I mentioned, we did stay at the Kappalua Villas (next to the Ritz) and those villas were great! We had a 2 level ocean front (real ocean front, literally we can walk up to the beach...so beautiful!) 1 bedroom, 2 bath villa. This was far less costly than the Kea Lani and 100 times better! Also, the Ritz was beautiful, the resort was amazing and the service and food was great! We should have stayed there after our stay in the villas, instead of the Kea Lani!

As far as food....we ate at almost every single resturant in Waiela and nothing was worth really mentioning except for Longhi's. The food at Longhi's was great, espeically breakfast....which we ate next to Magic Johnson & family...very nice guy! We had been there during the Waiela Movie Festival so a lot of Hollywood was there. Roy's in Kiehi was OK, probably the next best to Longhi's.

In Lahiana we loved Aloha mixed plate, cheap & good! Can't go wrong with korean bbq! I'O is where we had our reception dinner (on front street) and I'O is the BEST food we had while in Maui. The food, service and atmosphere was excellent! Definately recommend I'O as the place to try dinner during sunset...as they have an ocean front view outside for lunch, dinner or drinks!

We also went Parasailing and did the helicopter ride around the island, which was both very fun! We wanted to go horseback riding but those book quickly, so do it a few weeks ahead of time!

Road to Hana...I'll pass! We did do this, but it is not for those who dont like looong car rides and are not really into 'nature'. Yes there are beautiful waterfalls, and the seven pools are nice...(they were closed when we went so we didnt go in..too bad! as that was what was motiviating me to end of the ride) and the black sand beach....nice, but not 'sand' more like lava rocks!

All in all, Maui was nice....although we found it boring sometimes (being we're in our early and mid 20's)....more ideal for families or older couples. The food was nothing amazing, we've had better in Oahu and the locals were not as friendly as they are in Oahu....next time we'll be in Oahu or Fiji...Maui maybe in another 10-15 years when we dont want much of a night life or fun!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Foodiegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,068
    784
    239
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,589
1,630
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2005

We just returned from our one week Honeymoon at the Kea Lani Fairmont in Maui and loved it. We had a deluxe ocean view room. The room was magnificent with an awesome view of the ocean, including Molikini. Service was friendly throughout the hotel. We spent a lot of time at the upper pool and while Cabanas were hard to come by, there were always available umbrellas for shade. The pool bar served a wonderful concoction called a Lava Flow. We had a great dinner at Nick's and did the Romantic Dinner which was superb. We also ate one night at Ferraro's which is at the Four Seasons and the food, service, and ocean view there were awesome as well. We had a wonderful couple's combo massage one day at the Kea Lani Spa. Finally, we booked the trip through lasvegasdirect (whom we use for our vegas trips) and they were able to accomodate all our requests and at a great discounted price!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2005

The Fairmont Kea Lani is an absolutely beautiful 5 star luxury resort. Starting with the dramatic entrance, the resort slowly reveals itself as you descend upon it. The grounds are impeccably maintained and we were warmly greeted as we drove up to valet which is free. We arrived in Maui much earlier than the 4PM check in. Lani at the front desk was extremely accommodating and allowed us to check in early and upgraded our room!

We were very pleased with our room. There is a small kitchenette with a microwave and mini fridge which is excellent for snacking. We actually stopped at Costco based on the many suggestions on this website and stocked up on beverages and snacks. The macadamia nuts are priced very reasonable compared to the mainland. The bathroom is huge and nicely appointed, all of the toiletries are provided including woolite to wash your bathing suits which I thought was a nice touch. The bed extremely comfortable and plenty of pillows are provided. Two televisions, one in the main living area and one in the bedroom and even his and her closets (really).

The buffet is very good, nice variety ($25/person). We ate dinner several times at Cafe Ciao and once at Nick's Fishmarket - both are very good. My husband and I enjoyed the adult pool, it is a lot calmer than the other pools however we never had problems finding a lounge chair.

Everyone we dealt with at the resort demonstrated the Hawaiian hospitality and truly went out of there way to please. My husband and I have travelled extensively and I can honestly say the Fairmont surpassed my expectations.

Other recommendations, try the snorkeling at Blackrock which is in Kanapali near the Sheraton - the visibility is amazing and we actually saw sea turtles. Really enjoyed the snorkel tour to Molikini, went on the Four Winds II - great staff. The luau at the Hyatt in Kanapali was excellent, food was great and not so unusual that you will not eat it, I actually had seconds. There are several nice beaches in Wailea that we went to that were awesome for snorkeling, don't know the names of them but they are going towards the Maui Prince resort. We met several locals there. If you follow the signs you cannot miss it. Hope this helps. Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Ava007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Kea Lani. We got married on Maui and stayed at a different hotel with our guests the first week, but chose this one for our honeymoon week. It's in the Wailea area, which is our favorite part of the island. There seems to be a great staff-guest ratio and we felt really spoiled with the service. We were given leis, cold towels and guava juice at check-in and were upgraded to a deluxe oceanfront suite. It was very clean and the view from the huge lanai was incredible. The bathrooms are huge and the sitting area was very nice. There were nice robes to use and a fridge and microwave as well. They provided vases for all of our flowers and the flower petal turndown was a nice touch. The restaurants were very good, we especially liked Cafe Ciao for dinner. The grounds are beautiful at night (very romantic) and we used the pool every single day. It was never very busy and they came around with fresh pineapple late morning, early afternoon and provided cucumber water as well. The slide was fun - I think the adults had more fun than the kids! There are cabanas for rental, otherwise there are plenty of umbrellas/palm trees to shade you from the sun. The beach is smaller than Wailea beach (next door) but there were plenty of beach chairs and it's a pretty calm beach and very swimmable. We bought fruit and pastries at the gourmet store downstairs and enjoyed them on our lanai every morning. They even offered soy milk - which is nice for us vegetarians! There is a complimentary outrigger canoe experience for those interested. The Kea Lani shares an oceanside walking path with the Four Seasons, Grand Wailea, Marriott Wailea and Renaissance. Great walk in the morning or evening - three miles total. The only downside to the hotel is that it is quite pricey but for a special occasion it's worth it. There are also no screens off the lanai, which would have been nice to leave open at night. The torch lighting was fun to watch in the evenings. Overall, we had a great time and would definitely return. Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank dutchgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2005

My husband, 16 month old son, and I just returned from our glorious stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea. It was a tough flight from Chicago, but well worth it once we arrived. Thank goodness for portable DVD players! We rented a car and drove a short way to the Kea Lani. All of the roads were really well marked; we didn't even need the maps I had printed out before leaving. Once at the hotel, we were greeted with cool towels, leis (a candy lei for our keiki), and POG juice. We requested a renovated suite and were upgraded at no charge to a partial ocean view room. (Be sure to join the Fairmont President's Club before you go. At no charge, you are given some upgrades and perks.) What a room! Our 840 square foot room consisted of a huge marble bathroom with two sinks, sunken tub, and an open shower, kitchenette area with fridge and microwave, living room with large comfy sofa (sleeper), and spacious lanai with chaise, table, and four chairs. Both the bedroom and the living room had televisions and there was a stereo system, DVD player, and VCR in the room. The rooms were remarkably clean as there was twice daily maid service. The hotel provided us with a crib and a pack 'n play for the pool. There are four pools at the Kea Lani. The adult pool is set off by itself. It looked lovely and quiet. The other pools are grouped together. There is a baby pool which our son loved! It is perfect for toddlers. The other pools are spacious and wrap around the grounds. The water slide is a blast. My husband got lessons from many 7 year olds as to how to get down really fast (stick your belly out). There is a small waterfall in one of the pools. They were giving scuba lessons in the pool at the hotel. We reserved a cabana for our keiki. Shade is hard to come by at the pool. There are very few umbrellas (they go fast). They provide you with a roomy cabana, two chaise lounge chairs, a cooler with juices, waters, and an Evian atomizer, and a fruit bowl. We had great service: fresh towels, pineapple, cool washcloths at the pool. All in all they are expensive, but we felt it was well worth the money so we could have our little guy in the shade. We had a hotel pack 'n play at the pool and our son was able to nap in the cabana while we enjoyed a little down time. We were lucky to have been at the hotel when it was not too crowded. There were many horror stories about fighting for chairs during high season that sounded awful. We ate a couple of lunches at the pool area. It is pricey, but convenient. I am still dreaming of the "Pirates Treasure" - a yummy mango/pineapple rum drink! One day we ordered pizza from Shaka Pizza at the pool. Good stuff! We used the Nanny Connection for three nights of our trip. All of the hotels use this service. We requested a sitter that had been with them over five years and who had lots of experience with toddlers. Our son wound up never even meeting our nanny. He went to sleep each night before she arrived. Nevertheless, she was pleasant, prompt, loaded with toys and activities, and truly seemed nice. We were able to have a few dinners to ourselves with complete confidence that he was being taken care of. (Down at the pool we met a few more sitters from the service and each one was nicer than the next.) As far as restaurants go, we loved so many places! The breakfasts at the Kea Lani buffet were great. If you can get the buffet included in the price of your room you can save some money. Kids eat free. Don't miss Mama's Fish House in Paia - great food, atmosphere, and sunsets. We loved the menu. Each fish lists the fisherman, boat, and location caught. The town is really funky, too. Good people watching and surfing. We also loved Roy's and Tommy Bahama's. We ate at Nick's one night in the hotel. We enjoyed it, but it didn't hold a candle to the one in Chicago. Funny story: We watched the waiters move our salt and pepper shakers around all night. My husband decided to move them around himself to see what would happen. They kept moving them back to a different position on the table. We finally asked one of the waiters about it. Apparently, they use the shakers to tell the other wait staff what has been ordered, what has been asked, which position each person is, etc. Sansei for sushi was good, but we have had equally good or better sushi at home. We didn't like Joe's Bar and Grill, but heard their other restaurant Haliimaile General Store is excellent. We also loved the coffee at BadAss Coffee Shop in Kihei. There are so many great places to dine on the island. As far as shopping goes, the Shops at Wailea down the road were nice. Good souvenirs. We actually found great stuff for our nephews at Longs and Safeway of all places! If you venture out to Lahaina try to avoid it when there is a cruise ship docked. Very crowded. Our favorite place was Makena. It is gorgeous, peaceful, and unspoiled. Drive down all the way to end (even where the road is one lane). The water is magnificent and the lava fields are spectacular. Maui is amazingly beautiful, relaxing, and laid back. We can't wait to return. Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank mburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

I read through the reviews of both hotels and could not decide which one to stay at during my time in Maui so I decided to split between the Fairmont and the Four Seasons located next door. It is difficult to say which one is better because both are really exceptional resorts. There were good things and bad things about each one. The positives of staying at Fairmont are:
all rooms are suites, pool area is much larger than the four seasons, the resort itself is much bigger than the four seasons, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The biggest positive about Fairmont for me was the beach! I don't think the hotel owns the beach but the location is such that only hotel guests have access to it so it is really private, not very noisy, and not crowded. Upon arrival we were greeted with leis, cold towels, and juice. We are members of the presidential club so we were upgraded to a nicer suite without even asking. Room service was prompt and efficient. We noted that I had left my lei on the couch and when we returned, housekeeping had taken the lei and put it in a heart shape on the coffee table. The bathrooms are huge and recently renovated. Although the restaurants are good (especially Nick's fishmarket), there are good but limited food choices so one can get bored eating the same type of things more than once. It is a tropical climate and the fairmont has open walk ways so there are some areas where the carpets have dark mold on them in the corners but it is not really noticeable. The only real negative was that the Fairmont really nickel and dimes you for everything. $75 for cabana rental!! There is also a charge to rent dvds. At the four seasons, those things are free. We did not rent a car but apparently parking is also very expensive, that is free at the four seasons. The spa is ok and over priced, not that great of a facial and it was nearly $300, but I am an avid spa goer with really high standards so that is my disclaimer. If you want to stay at the fairmont, use the spa at the four seasons because it really nice and the services are better priced. The Fairmont also offers some complimentary activities, the canoe experience is great and I recommend that because the four seasons does not have anything comparable to it. Overall, we had a great time at the fairmont and will most likely return but we will divide our time again between the four seasons and the fairmont.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank HotelSnob2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

We stayed at the Fairmont May 7-13. The service was impeccable. The rooms were clean. When we arrived, we were greeted with leis, fresh guava juice, and a cool towel. The pools are smaller than those at the Grand Wailea, but the slide at the Fairmont is alot of fun. Warning: there is a $10 fee to use the hotel business center whether you use it for 10 min or 30 min. The Polo grill in my opinion was not that impressive, and was quite expensive. Lunch for 2 was $40. We did it once and did not make that mistake again. The hotel is in a great location...30 minutes from the airport, 2 minutes from the Shops at Wailea. The fitness center is accessible 24 hours w/ room key at no charge. The spa services were nice. They offer a variety of spa treatment options....kind of pricey, but well worth it! We walked to the Four Seasons, which is next door and the Grand Wailea. The lobby areas and grounds at all three hotels were very nice. We would definitely stay at the Fairmont again when we return to Maui.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing