We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Keiki Friendly Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Keiki Friendly Resort!”
Reviewed May 26, 2005

My husband, 16 month old son, and I just returned from our glorious stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea. It was a tough flight from Chicago, but well worth it once we arrived. Thank goodness for portable DVD players! We rented a car and drove a short way to the Kea Lani. All of the roads were really well marked; we didn't even need the maps I had printed out before leaving. Once at the hotel, we were greeted with cool towels, leis (a candy lei for our keiki), and POG juice. We requested a renovated suite and were upgraded at no charge to a partial ocean view room. (Be sure to join the Fairmont President's Club before you go. At no charge, you are given some upgrades and perks.) What a room! Our 840 square foot room consisted of a huge marble bathroom with two sinks, sunken tub, and an open shower, kitchenette area with fridge and microwave, living room with large comfy sofa (sleeper), and spacious lanai with chaise, table, and four chairs. Both the bedroom and the living room had televisions and there was a stereo system, DVD player, and VCR in the room. The rooms were remarkably clean as there was twice daily maid service. The hotel provided us with a crib and a pack 'n play for the pool. There are four pools at the Kea Lani. The adult pool is set off by itself. It looked lovely and quiet. The other pools are grouped together. There is a baby pool which our son loved! It is perfect for toddlers. The other pools are spacious and wrap around the grounds. The water slide is a blast. My husband got lessons from many 7 year olds as to how to get down really fast (stick your belly out). There is a small waterfall in one of the pools. They were giving scuba lessons in the pool at the hotel. We reserved a cabana for our keiki. Shade is hard to come by at the pool. There are very few umbrellas (they go fast). They provide you with a roomy cabana, two chaise lounge chairs, a cooler with juices, waters, and an Evian atomizer, and a fruit bowl. We had great service: fresh towels, pineapple, cool washcloths at the pool. All in all they are expensive, but we felt it was well worth the money so we could have our little guy in the shade. We had a hotel pack 'n play at the pool and our son was able to nap in the cabana while we enjoyed a little down time. We were lucky to have been at the hotel when it was not too crowded. There were many horror stories about fighting for chairs during high season that sounded awful. We ate a couple of lunches at the pool area. It is pricey, but convenient. I am still dreaming of the "Pirates Treasure" - a yummy mango/pineapple rum drink! One day we ordered pizza from Shaka Pizza at the pool. Good stuff! We used the Nanny Connection for three nights of our trip. All of the hotels use this service. We requested a sitter that had been with them over five years and who had lots of experience with toddlers. Our son wound up never even meeting our nanny. He went to sleep each night before she arrived. Nevertheless, she was pleasant, prompt, loaded with toys and activities, and truly seemed nice. We were able to have a few dinners to ourselves with complete confidence that he was being taken care of. (Down at the pool we met a few more sitters from the service and each one was nicer than the next.) As far as restaurants go, we loved so many places! The breakfasts at the Kea Lani buffet were great. If you can get the buffet included in the price of your room you can save some money. Kids eat free. Don't miss Mama's Fish House in Paia - great food, atmosphere, and sunsets. We loved the menu. Each fish lists the fisherman, boat, and location caught. The town is really funky, too. Good people watching and surfing. We also loved Roy's and Tommy Bahama's. We ate at Nick's one night in the hotel. We enjoyed it, but it didn't hold a candle to the one in Chicago. Funny story: We watched the waiters move our salt and pepper shakers around all night. My husband decided to move them around himself to see what would happen. They kept moving them back to a different position on the table. We finally asked one of the waiters about it. Apparently, they use the shakers to tell the other wait staff what has been ordered, what has been asked, which position each person is, etc. Sansei for sushi was good, but we have had equally good or better sushi at home. We didn't like Joe's Bar and Grill, but heard their other restaurant Haliimaile General Store is excellent. We also loved the coffee at BadAss Coffee Shop in Kihei. There are so many great places to dine on the island. As far as shopping goes, the Shops at Wailea down the road were nice. Good souvenirs. We actually found great stuff for our nephews at Longs and Safeway of all places! If you venture out to Lahaina try to avoid it when there is a cruise ship docked. Very crowded. Our favorite place was Makena. It is gorgeous, peaceful, and unspoiled. Drive down all the way to end (even where the road is one lane). The water is magnificent and the lava fields are spectacular. Maui is amazingly beautiful, relaxing, and laid back. We can't wait to return. Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank mburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,114
    787
    243
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,614
1,652
51
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

I read through the reviews of both hotels and could not decide which one to stay at during my time in Maui so I decided to split between the Fairmont and the Four Seasons located next door. It is difficult to say which one is better because both are really exceptional resorts. There were good things and bad things about each one. The positives of staying at Fairmont are:
all rooms are suites, pool area is much larger than the four seasons, the resort itself is much bigger than the four seasons, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The biggest positive about Fairmont for me was the beach! I don't think the hotel owns the beach but the location is such that only hotel guests have access to it so it is really private, not very noisy, and not crowded. Upon arrival we were greeted with leis, cold towels, and juice. We are members of the presidential club so we were upgraded to a nicer suite without even asking. Room service was prompt and efficient. We noted that I had left my lei on the couch and when we returned, housekeeping had taken the lei and put it in a heart shape on the coffee table. The bathrooms are huge and recently renovated. Although the restaurants are good (especially Nick's fishmarket), there are good but limited food choices so one can get bored eating the same type of things more than once. It is a tropical climate and the fairmont has open walk ways so there are some areas where the carpets have dark mold on them in the corners but it is not really noticeable. The only real negative was that the Fairmont really nickel and dimes you for everything. $75 for cabana rental!! There is also a charge to rent dvds. At the four seasons, those things are free. We did not rent a car but apparently parking is also very expensive, that is free at the four seasons. The spa is ok and over priced, not that great of a facial and it was nearly $300, but I am an avid spa goer with really high standards so that is my disclaimer. If you want to stay at the fairmont, use the spa at the four seasons because it really nice and the services are better priced. The Fairmont also offers some complimentary activities, the canoe experience is great and I recommend that because the four seasons does not have anything comparable to it. Overall, we had a great time at the fairmont and will most likely return but we will divide our time again between the four seasons and the fairmont.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank HotelSnob2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

We stayed at the Fairmont May 7-13. The service was impeccable. The rooms were clean. When we arrived, we were greeted with leis, fresh guava juice, and a cool towel. The pools are smaller than those at the Grand Wailea, but the slide at the Fairmont is alot of fun. Warning: there is a $10 fee to use the hotel business center whether you use it for 10 min or 30 min. The Polo grill in my opinion was not that impressive, and was quite expensive. Lunch for 2 was $40. We did it once and did not make that mistake again. The hotel is in a great location...30 minutes from the airport, 2 minutes from the Shops at Wailea. The fitness center is accessible 24 hours w/ room key at no charge. The spa services were nice. They offer a variety of spa treatment options....kind of pricey, but well worth it! We walked to the Four Seasons, which is next door and the Grand Wailea. The lobby areas and grounds at all three hotels were very nice. We would definitely stay at the Fairmont again when we return to Maui.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2005

As previous guests at the Kea Lani we feel our experience needed to be given to others who are looking forward to an upcoming stay. From the moment we arrived the staff and accomodations were excellent. We were booked into a renovated room on the 7th flr. overlooking the adult pool area. This is a great location if you are looking to relax in your own room on the balcony during the day. Since this was above the adult pool (18 and older allowed) it was not noisy, but pretty sedate. With all the families staying at the resort, noise was never a problem, it seems everyone from staff to guests are friendly (just that aloha spirit). The renovated room was updated with new carpets, paint, window coverings and bedding. The lighting was improved in the bathroom also (they used to be really dark). We ate at Caffe Ciao and Nick's twice and enjoyed both for different reasons. You can't compare as they are totally different restaurants. We also had drinks and appetizers in the lobby bar one night as our dinner. We had a couples massage at Spa Kea Lani...sooooooo relaxing! Cabana's are expensive ($75 perday) but do include a cooler with waters, juices, mints, evian spritzer, magazine and fruit bowl. You are offered a refill too. The pool staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. This resort has it all, you can check in and get everything you need or want right in the hotel. Don't hesitate to book at Fairmont Kea Lani, you will be glad you did.....you'll be ready to book your next trip when you get home!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SC/BTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2005

60% of th rooms are now renovated there. We didnt get one - but didnt matter it was really nice just the same. Nothing like other hotels that need a reno. The suites are really nice with large bathrooms and balconies. Service was great. Bell hop gave us the info tour on the way to our room. Everything was very personal and the staff were the best. Highly recommend the Twilight Dinner for 2 - book ahead it is worth it. Private cabana with surf & turf - amongst the best lobster weve ever had. View over the adult pool towards the ocean as we watched the sunset. We do plan on returning to this resort. We have done alot of travelling and this one does land on our favourite/repeat list. Highly recommend -

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2005

We honeymooned at the Fairmont and loved it! The luxury suites gave us plenty of room. The bath was the largest I have seen at a hotel. The resort was quiet and the separate pool for adults only gave us the peace to honeymoon. So did the romance package that came with a picnic lunch, in-suite breakfast, sunset cruise, and a special candlelight dinner served poolside just for the two of us. All of this made it a very special stay.

Service was excellent particularly in helping us find our way around the island and locating places off-the-beaten path. We also loved the Wailea area of Maui where the hotel was located. Very upscale and ritzy. If you want quiet, understated luxury, this is it.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2005

Aloha! These trip advisor rewiews were helpful to me, so I should like to share the following nuggets with you prior to your trip. Maui is expensive! The best times to visit are the spring or autumn, when rates are generally lower for rooms, rental cars, etc. The taxi fare from the airport to the hotel is $38.00 plus tip. Go to the taxi kiosk near baggage claim to get a number (if not renting a car). Costco is near the airport if you need to load up on any items. The air around the airport is polluted from a sugarcane factory smokestack bellowing effluent, but the coast near the hotel is clear and beautiful.
Join the President's Club by registering for free on the Fairmont website. The bellhop greeted us as if we were old friends and frequent guests. There is a special reservations desk for the President's Club where you are greeted with chilled guava juice, chilled washcloths, flower lais for the ladies and nut necklaces for the men. We had a renovated deluxe oceanview room that was a spacious suite of approximately 900 sq. ft.. The foyer entry has a granite wetbar with a large microwave, coffepot and small refrigerator. The living room has a complete Sony stereo system with DVD, CD, tape players and gamestation. The king sized bedroom (non-smoking) has dual closets and safe w/ key. My wife liked the large bathroom and amenities.
We were lucky with our timing because there were no conventions during our stay at the third week of April. The hotel was only at 60% occupancy, so the service was prompt, relaxed and comfortable. For golf nuts like me, I suggest using the hotel's clubs which are free to President's Club members (Taylor made RAC OS irons and R-5 driver, 3W & 5W and a free sleeve of balls). I prefer the Gold and Emerald courses at the Wailea golf course (******) - $150 per round or use Wailea's Triple Play Pass $375. The Plantation course at Kapalua was closed for repairs.
Food at the hotel was very good. Nick's Fishmarket is best ($100 per person with alcohol and tip). Caffe Caio restaurant and Deli / Bakery was good. Buy wine at the Deli and enjoy dinner on your room's balcony at sunset. The Kea Lani breakfast buffet is excellent ($25 per person). The Polo Beach is nice. There is a 3 mile roundtrip beach sidewalk for morning walks. You can cross through the Marriott Hotel and walk directly into the Shops at Wailea.
For additional restaurants, I suggest Sarento's (owners of Nick's Fishmarket) at sunset. The waiters were so good they changed our water glasses at mid-meal. Ferraro's at the Four Seasons is better than Spago's. Longhi's, Tommy Bahama's and Ruth's Chris Steakhouse at the Shops at Wailea were all good.
The Four Seasons has a small pool and doesn't have the same Hawaiian feel as the Fairmont or the Grand Wailea hotels. Breakfast at the Four Seasons (Granola w/ fruit and an egg white omelet) was $50 with tip. The Grand Wailea hotel is beautiful, but loaded with children and families.
The Fairmont has three large pools, including an adult only pool which is good for lap swimming. The Kea Lani is shaped like a big "W" facing the ocean, with moorish, arabesque tones and a Greek island setting appearance.
Maui is one of the most popular island resort destinations, and the natives are friendly. Our Fairmont experience was very comfortable and positive. Another nice aspect is the Fairmont's free shuttle service to local restaurants and hotels, so you save on cab fares.
To paraphrase a golfer in our foursome who said: "You pay a lot of money to have them blow smoke up your backside," Take a lot of $1 and $5 bills for tipping.
We hope these insights will make your trip to the Fairmont Kea Lani as pleasurable as ours! Mahalo!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
77 Thank 360GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing