We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place we have ever stayed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Place we have ever stayed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2004

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Kea Lani. We had stayed in Kaanapali some years ago and wanted to try another 5 star place as well as trying Wailea. What a great decision we made. The service was top notch. The complete ocean view room was amazing with the great views and cleanliness. Food was expensive - but expected. Nick's Fishmarket was fantastic as was the food and service. I would recommend Ferraro's in the 4 Seasons as another fantastic place to eat !! Try to get a table up front near the beach and sunset !! Nga , Dane and Bianca made our stay nice with their fantastic service. Secnted towels near the adult pool , sliced pineapples and poolside service - GREAT !! The Guava juice and towel upon check in was also neat. I would recommend the Kea Lani to anyone - they would not be disappointed.... It was really difficult to check out...

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    777
    238
    101
    41
See reviews for
1,566
1,613
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2004

The Kea-Lani property is certainly one of the best on Maui. For us it was perfect. It is the happy medium between the Four Seasons and the Grand Wailea Resort. The Four Seasons is very beautiful, ultra luxurious, with a great beach, restaurant, and workout area and spa, but has just an “ok” pool and is not really a great hotel for teens (too boring) but fabulous for older couples and honeymooners. The Grand Wailea, on the other hand, has GREAT pool ( see waterslides galore), but so-so hotel and very crowded…kids and teens love it but for my money I want a little peace and quiet..which you will not get anywhere at the GWR. If you want peace and quiet do not stay anywhere in Kaanapali. The Kea-Lani provides both peace and quiet and the teen boys ( 19,20, and 15) loved the big pool and slide. The beach was great, calm in the morning and bigger waves in the afternoon.

We stayed in a two bedroom Villa which was very nice, and was perfect since we would have had to rent two rooms anyway. This gave us a kitchen, so we went to Safeway and bought breakfast and lunch makings, pop, cookies, chips etc. This definitely saved us quite a bit of $ over the course of 8 days. The Villa also had a BBQ which the boys LOVED.. cooking their own burgers anytime they were hungry; which was all the time. The rooms were immaculate and the beds verrry comfortable. The “oceanview” villas do not look out at the ocean except from the upstairs bedroom, but that was fine with us. The boys jumped in the plunge pools and would go from pool, to ocean, to pool, to eat, and then start over again.

The service was spectacular, from housekeeping, to front desk, to the concierge. Everyone bent over backwards to be helpful and polite. We never had an issue where we felt we were not taken care of.

Still..there are things to be aware of.

1.If you want a beach chair right next to the pool you had better get up early and snag a chair. People get up early to reserve them. Even though the pool is not too crowded, chair space is a premium next to the pool.
2.The workout room is disappointing…there is a limited number of exercise machines and a small weight room. It was very crowded from 6:30 on until 9-10 am. There is also no shower/locker room to use after working out.
3.The food at Nick’s was very good but the service was slow. They have a “team” approach to table waiting, and it did not work very well. From start to finish dinner took us 2 hours.
4.Ciao was a great place to get food and drink.. but food and drink anywhere on the property was very expensive.
5.Make dinner reservations wherever you go. It is impossible to go to a good restaurant without them.

Best restaurant: Sansei in West Maui.

Helpful?
9 Thank Hozelovr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2004

first class hotel that is great for families and singles. Food is expensive, but so is hawaii. Would stay here again!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2004

This resort was so much better than the Four Season down the street. We walked over and looked at the Four Season's room and resort to see if we want to stay there. We were not impress at all with the Four Season. Fairmont has sooo much more. Come on...If BRITNEY SPEARS rent a villa there you know you are staying at the best place in Maui. No lie.. However we all do not make Britney Spears type of Salary so beware of the overprice food. You can drive into town and get something to bring into your suite. Every room at the Fairmont has a wonderful suite. The stuffs was very helpful and friendly. We stayed there for our honeymoon and can't wait to go back. The most beautiful sunset you will ever see from the beach or from your balcony. Try Nick's Seafood its the best of the best seafood in Maui. The Perk is Nick's is right on the property. Make sure you make a reservation.

Helpful?
1 Thank gatrgrl0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2004

I recently stayed with my family at the Fairmont Kea Lani for the first time on July 9 for 3 nights. The lobby may not have been as grand as the Grand Wailea might have been, but it was still grand. Lovely flora and fauna everywhere. We were greeted with a fresh lei, cold juice and a cold wash cloth which was much appreciated as it was quite warm and humid. We received adjoining rooms without having to fight for them which was a plus. We were in deluxe oceanview rooms which were huge, 2 seperate rooms really. They were absolutely stunning, beautiful white couches, nice armoir, TV, minibar, wet bar, armchair, table and floor lamp. All very tasteful. The 2nd room had a king, armoir, TV etc.. The bathrooms were marble, very large, 2 pedestal sinks, seperate toilet room, bathtub, seperate marble shower and vanity area. The view was amazing, ask for the 6th floor. There was a pretty balcony with a nice round table, chairs and chaise lounge that spanned the distance of both living room and bedroom, again not your average balcony. Service by the pool was great and the beach help went above and beyond the call of duty for me on several occasions. Beach was fabulous, perfect for bodysurfing. All in all a 10.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2004

My wife and I did the first leg of our honeymoon in Kauai for 6 nights, and then stayed at the Kea Lani for 8 nights. When we first arrived, we were definitely underwhelmed, mainly because we had just been staying at the Hyatt in Kauai which is sprawling and gorgeous. The Kea Lani really didn't compare to the Hyatt. After we got settled in, it started to grow on us. The Kea Lani is a very pretty hotel, with a very nice indoor/outdoor lobby and three pools including an adult pool (an adult pool is a must for honeymooners). We had considered staying at the Four Seasons so we walked over there to see what the hype was about (a lot of great reviews on trip advisor). When we got there, we were so happy we had not stayed there. Their pool area is a joke. It is so small and crowded, it really feels like a cruise ship and not a hotel. There was one tiny pool full of adults and children, and that was it. If we had stayed at the Four Seasons, I don't think we would have wanted to spend much time at the pool. Overall, we loved our stay at the Kea Lani, and from what I saw, it is without question the nicest hotel on Maui. My wife and I really loved Kauai more because we loved the Hyatt, plus it had a much more magical feeling than Maui. We think it's because basically all of the employees at the Hyatt were native Hawaiians, while there are a lot of Americans working in Maui. It just didn't have the same "aloha" feel. It might sound silly, but it makes a huge difference. Also, Kauai is more beautiful. There are more touristy activities in Maui, though. After reading all of the great reviews on trip advisor about Nick's Fish Market, we at there, and both of our meals were terrible. Everything was over-spiced and tasted bad. The service was very bad, also, but I am much less concerned with service than I am with how my food tastes. It's one of those restaurants that tried so hard to be "fancy" and they use all kinds of exotic spices and ingredients, etc., but they forgot to make the food taste good. We had dinner nearby at Spago at the Four Seasons, and the food was awesome. Overall, I would highly recommend the Kea Lani to anyone, and I would definitely stay there again if I went back to Maui.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2004

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon and we LOVED IT! We plan to go back again and again.

The service is spectacular. The rooms were wonderful, private and spacious. The amenities were fantastic.

We loved the adult pool. We hung out there all day long. They came around every hour with fresh pineapple and cool mint scented towels. We didn't spend much time at the beach, but the beach was very nice. We really enjoyed being spoiled at the adult pool. Plus we enjoyed the fact that there were no children. They even offered poolside massages.

I read people complaining about the cabanas costing money, but you won't want to sit under them when you get there... there is enough shade and umbrellas around the pool if you desire.

We purchased the romance amenity package. It included massages for us both, a bubble bath with champagne and chocolate covered strawberrys as well as a very romantic private dinner at Nicks. Well worth it.

We had read about the Four Season on this site and debated back and forth, after being there, we made the right choice. The Four Seasons was VERY over crowded with a million kids. They also had a tiny pool.

The Kai Lani also offered a free scuba lesson as well as a neat (free) canoe ride.

Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing