We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is the third hotel that we've stayed in Maui the last three years. While it was good, it wasn't great. The rooms are a bit tired and need some updating. I would probably spend a bit more and try something else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

While we appreciate you choosing our resort for your 3rd visit to Maui, we sincerely apologize that you were underwhelmed with the condition of the suite. Please be assured that by the end of 2014, all of the suites in the hotel will be renovated, as the final phase of our $70m resort-wide enhancement project. We do hope you will return in the future and experience the refreshed new look. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,482 - 2,488 of 4,687 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

The best part about The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui is the staff. We have been here before and looked forward to the experience for months in advance. We were not disappointed this time either. The attitude of the staff has to come from the selection process that must be really good. The staff has a good ability to remember names. The Valet group did a wonder full job of taking care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

First time in Maui. Also a first staying at a Fairmont. The property is absolutely stunning, the service is impeccable, the rooms are roomy and comfortable. The only small downside is the amount of slides for kids to play on. They only have one, we would have loved to see one more slide for the kids. Concierge, specifically Patti or Peggy ( I can't recall) was truly the most helpful and kind woman!
Additionally, Matthew, the concierge Manager provided us with the utmost perfect customer service. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Nancers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your first vacation to Maui! It’s wonderful that you had a memorable experience and that you found the resort to be beautiful. We appreciate you recognizing the high level of service from our staff and we will be sure to share your kind comments with the concierge team, especially Pat and Matt – both tremendous assets to our team. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

should suply teeth cleaning tool and cosmetic with more variety such as cotton, nail treatment, hair treatemet goods. provide buth gel ,soap,teeth mooth.
more face treatement cosmetic sould be supply.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Hirotaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Fairmont kea Lani -beautiful grounds, wonderful pools, great service and fabulous restaurants- Ko is a definite must eat at! the ocean view suites are huge and spacious. Stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani -you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stgeorge2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our family of four - two daughters aged 12 and 17 stayed four nights at Kea Lani. Arriving from a bustling LA, this was a welcome step into a tropical paradise. The resort is beautiful and we loved the greeting, complete with floral lei, that we received. Our room, a deluxe ocean view suite on the third floor, worked superbly for family, with kids in their "room" on the pull out bed which the staff made up efficiently each evening and packed away in the morning. Dual access to the bathroom was also a real plus, so we disturbed each other less. The room was beautifully appointed, great storage, lovely bed and super bathroom. Housekeeping was tip top.
We ate breakfast in the dining room and sometimes in the deli. Polo beach is splendid, as was the oceanside path where we walked in the mornings.
On the downside, we were jostling for shade and sunbeds. There was a conference in full swing and the hotel appeared to be at capacity and more shade and sunbeds were badly needed.
Nick's Fishmarket was a disappointment - service was poor, we had to flag down waiters to take our order and food was nothing special.
Overall, as one would expect from Fairmont, this place delivers a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BancroftCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review. It's wonderful to learn that you had such a memorable vacation. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the warm welcome upon arrival and that you found the spaciousness of the suite perfect for your family of four. However, we do apologize that you were disappointed with the number of shaded lounge chairs available around the pools and your dining experience at Nick’s. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes and aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Four of us (two couples) stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront villa during the period leading up to (and during) Hurricane Iselle. The staff did an excellent job keeping us informed and we felt safe the entire time (the hurricane wound up having little impact on our part of the island). I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a resort experience. The villas are spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping comes twice a day and cleans the kitchen as well as everything else. The grill is fabulous and we grilled fish (from Costco--picked up on our way from the airport) two nights and ate outside on our patio. Slight drawback is that most two bedroom villas do not have second floor lanai and the view from the patio does not include white water, wave breaking. Nonetheless, you can see and hear the ocean and it is lovely. (see room tips below). Also you can go out the oceanside sliding door and it locks behind you and you have a key to access from the ocean side which is very convenient.

We went to the Grand Wailea for a spa treatment because the terme there is so great, but we were very happy we were not staying there. It is huge and the sunbathing was in long rows of lounge chairs and very crowded. The Kea Lani is more spacious and relaxed. I was able to swim laps in the middle of the adult pool.

The breakfast buffet (included in cost of villa) is extensive and if you take more than you can eat on your plate they will box it up for you. This means the cold cut or lox and bagel sandwich you take one bite of can be your lunch later on. The quality of the buffet is not remarkable, and the group buffet eating experience got to me after a couple of mornings, but there are many choices and if it is included in the rate there is every reason to get your money's worth.

Other eating tips: Cafe Caio has condiments (including oil and balsamic vinegar and plastic containers to use to take away) so if you are cooking in your suite and need some head over there. No one bothered us as we helped ourselves. Housekeeping put some fruit and a quart of milk and some half and half in the villa along with coffee and tea. There is mango black iced tea in the lobby all the time, and if you have a water bottle or other container you could fill it and have it in your suite.

We tend to prefer the privacy and space of a rental home, but for a resort and the townhouse type set up of the villas, I was very pleased with the Kea Lani and highly recommend it. Jessica at McCabe World Travel booked our villa. She was very responsive and we got Virtuoso rates and amenities. She is at 800-747-8401 ext. 5056.

Room Tip: Villas number 1 and 21 (either end) have obstructed views of the ocean. We were in Villa 17, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Polli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontKeaLani, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Aloha Polli, and thank you for your review. We're delighted you had a memorable stay - our villas do provide a very special resort experience. It’s extremely gratifying to know that the hotel’s continuous communication to the guests in preparation of Hurricane/Tropical Storm Iselle made you feel safe, comfortable and informed. We greatly appreciate all of your great tips for our future guests and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $543 - $1,426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing