We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$945
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,606/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$924
$899
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$809
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$479
$415
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$469
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,176
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,003)
Filter reviews
5,003 results
Traveler rating
3,632
906
289
124
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,632
906
289
124
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewtop notchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
2,885 - 2,890 of 5,003 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great place to stay with your family. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, facility has great pools and very close access to a beach. I'd definitely go back again and again with my family. Highly Rated!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We've stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani before but they have really improved in every way. Our 3-generation family enjoyed a 2 BR Ocean-front Villa for a week. Location was perfect--steps from the beach and steps from the children's pool. Plus the villas come with a 3.5 ft. deep round plunge pool that the grandkids used everyday.

The Villa is well-designed for families. 2 Queen beds in the main floor BR, and a King bed in the 2nd floor BR. Both BR's have large bathrooms with a tub and walk-in shower (one of our favorite features!). Large screen HD TV's are in the LR, and BR's. A kitchenette and washer/dryer made the week very convenient. Housekeeping provides a bin full of towels to use in the plunge pool.

In many places we've rented, the A/C doesn't reach the 2nd floor--here the cooling was completely adequate and if you wanted a breeze, there are fans in the LR and BR's.

Every staff member we encountered was well-trained, friendly and prompt in meeting our requests and questions. We used the restaurants, shuttle, spa, golf and beach services. Everyone was fantastic.

Over the years we've stayed at nearly all of the Wailea accommodations, including the condos, the Grand Wailea, one of the older hotels, and the Four Seasons. The Kea Lani has become our favorite--great activities for kids, terrific service and food, uncrowded beach, and the grounds are not a jungle like the Grand Wailea has become. You can actually see where you're going while enjoying the tropical landscaping.

Become a Fairmont club member and you will receive free Wi-Fi and a daily paper. Small things, but it adds to a wonderful stay.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purselady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Aloha and thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani for your family vacation! We're proud that our villas offered such special resort experience and it's quite a compliment to know that our resort is your favorite in Wailea. Thank you for acknowledging our staff's high quality of service. We look forward to welcoming your family back again soon. Best wishes and aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Fairmont Kea Lani booked through Costco Travel which came with a $100 spa credit. Upon check in, we were upgraded to a partial ocean-view suite at no additional charge. They also had already set up the crib in our room for our 5-month-old baby. The suite was fantastic! We loved the layout and the spaciousness of the suite, especially since we had a lot of baby items delivered to our room from Baby’s Away. The concierge and the valet were extremely helpful. Overall, the hotel was great. However, I’m giving a rating of 4 out of 5 stars because, I had several items that were dropped off from Baby’s Away with housekeeping that were delivered late or not at all from housekeeping. I called twice regarding an electrical cord for the baby swing that was supposedly left in their care with the swing, and I never heard back from them nor did I ever receive the electrical cord. Also, while concierge is very helpful, do not book anything through them. They overcharge you for everything. We received some pamphlets from concierge on several dinner cruises and I decided to look them up online and noticed it was cheaper by about 40% to book it yourself than through concierge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candilturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review. We’re very pleased that your overall experience was pleasant and that the spaciousness of your suite was perfect for your family. However, we’re very sorry that the service from our housekeeping staff fell short. We take reviews like yours very seriously and will absolutely communicate your feedback to our Housekeeping Manager. Please also be assured that all activity pricing is set by our activity partners. The hotel team offers a service in booking the activity, but in no way controls the price. We do apologize for this misunderstanding and appreciate your feedback immensely. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes and aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Service from first check in to our room to checkout and everthing in between was out of this world. The lobby and pool are fantastic and we really liked the beach area too. The complementary snorkle rentals were a great bonus as there actually were a lot of fish around the coral regions (off to the side, not an issue while swimming in front of hotel). Yeah, the place is expensive but it was a top-notch experience from top to bottom.

The only one reccomendation I would make to the staff (and advice to you) is that the system for getting chairs near the pool seems pretty out of whack. People would go down to the pool area and place towels on seats they wanted around 6 or 7 in the morning. Then their group would have those spots "reserved" for the day to use as they please. There were times when we were in the area for 2-3 hours and would see many "reserved" spots never in use. Seemed a waste to have so many unoccupied chairs and that there must be a better way to organize those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights starting in mid June with my wife and two16 year old twin boys. Stayed under the Amex Fine Hotels program which included a free night, 2 free breakfast buffets and a $100 credit. Our suite had stunning pool and ocean front views and a huge balcony. In addition to our room rate ($1100 per night but one night free) we paid $30 per night for a rollaway and $30 for resort fees. We slept with the curtains and balcony doors wide open, listening to the ocean, no one could look in, very private. In fact, my sons sometimes slept on the very comfortable chaise lounges on the balcony all night. Housekeeping was excellent, room had microwave and refrigerator and even binoculars to see the snorkelers every morning at Molokini. ( also decent snorkeling in the morning at the coral reefs about 30 feet off the corner of the beach). BTW some reviewers have complained about unkempt beach and pool. The fact is that all the pools and the beach are accessible 24/7. Towels are always available and you can even grab a lounger at the beach at midnight and listen to the waives from a foot away. So some folks leave wet towels long after the crews have gone home and admittedly those are unsightly till the beach crew comes back at 8:00 am. But the kids loved swimming late at night. The long water slide is only available under lifeguard supervision 9-5.
The biggest negative is the food. The breakfast buffet is very good but with tax and tip is $ 84 for two. And they have taken no action to stop the incredibly aggressive birds which are not cute, but an unsightly crapping machine. At other hotels they have well placed, but unobtrusive nets to keep the birds out, here you have slow bussing, only mediocre serving staff so birds have free run whether you sit outside or try to stay inside. Dinners at the two fine dining establishments are only okay and incredibly expensive. Expensive as in $100 per person without drinks or wine. And a menus that are very sophisticated meaning that is not kid or teenager friendly. There is a cafe but a better alternative is drive your car using Yelp to family friendly restaurants or go to the ABC store and stock up. I know that someone who spends $1100 a night for a room isn't going to have a lot of credibility complaining about food prices but it is what it is.
We spent delightful time at the pool and incredible beach which is gentle in the AM and a great place to body surf or boogie board in the afternoon? Even though they want you to rent their cabanas, there were a reasonable number of loungers under umbrellas for free, unlimited towels and decent service at the pool ( though a hamburger, fries, frozen drink, tax and tip will run you close to $50).
So, overall a strong recommendation, great vacation find better food alternatives but i will return.

Room Tip: Higher floor, ocean front is better than ocean view but all views are incredible, even the garden views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to learn that your family vacation was memorable and that you took advantage of the hotel’s close proximity to the ocean (there’s nothing like falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves!). However, we’re disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the resort’s dining options. Please be assured that the hotel has taken measures to stop the birds at breakfast. Servers have plate covers available for guests who leave the table, and bussers are trained to clear away dishes immediately. While we realize the birds are a nuisance, we’re hoping to avoid netting in the restaurant to maintain the open-air dining experience. In addition, we’re proud to report that our signature restaurant, Ko was recently voted Restaurant of the Year and has received over 20 culinary and wine awards since opening in 2012. We’re so sorry you were dissatisfied given that we take tremendous pride in sourcing over 90% of our produce locally and showcasing cuisine inspired by the islands. Please consider returning in the future so we can provide an outstanding experience overall. Mahalo and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews