We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is great and the staff is wonderful. The restaurants on-site are 5 star. The rooms are absoulutely gorgeous and the ocean views are astounding. The rooms are very large and can very comfortably fit a large family as their is a separate living area with large sleeper sofa. The bathroom is as large as some hotel rooms and has amzing amenities! The beach is pretty, but waves were a bit rough if you have small children or elderly traveling with you. The water is very clear here.

Room Tip: Any ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arthurb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,651 - 2,657 of 4,731 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

This Resort is Fantastic! The Staff is world class! Sincerely warm and incredibly helpful! The grounds...are second to none! Have stayed at the other resorts in Waiilea and this is by far the best! (Including Four Seasons and Grand Wailea!) the Room was second to none and very large and spacious!

Well Done!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have stayed here several times before in the suites as well as the villas. This time we decided to stay in the suite but at check in, there were villas available which they were offering them at 50% off the upgrade cost (so if your room was 800 and suite was 2000, 2000-800 = 1200/2 = $600 per night additional cost).

They had a 3 BR villa available that night but we only needed a 2 BR. They didn't want to give us the 3 BR at 2 BR price so we agreed to switch rooms the next day. What they didn't tell us was that the typical amenities that went with the villas (valet parking, free breakfast for 4) was not included. So when we went to breakfast the next day, they refused to include the complementary breakfast. When you're paying $1500+ a night for a room, you think they would include but I guess not.

The whole trip kind of had that feel of nickle and diming you even when you're staying in their most expensive area. The umbrellas by the pool are now embedded in the ground and immovable so it's very difficult to find a consistently shady spot and often we had to split apart in order for us all to have some shade. The chairs were often all taken (esp with umbrellas) by 10 am. At the beach you had to get some card up by the pool and bring down to the beach to get an umbrella - why they can't do this by the beach I don't know but they make you go up and down to get this card.

Room service was not great - food lukewarm and fries all soggy.

On the positive side- the villas are fantastic, beautifully decorated and easy access to beach and pool. It was great for the kids (10 and 12) to have their own room and full bath.

I'm not sure about staying here again - too many small things that were kind of irritating. Not the four seasons or la palmilla service we've had at other resorts. Rooms often not cleaned till mid-late pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ammt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your honest review. While we're pleased you enjoyed the villa experience, we’re disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our front office agents aim strive for clarity when communicating amenities and upgrades, so we sincerely apologize that you felt misled. We also understand how important an impeccable pool and beach experience is while on vacation and are sorry for the frustration you experienced with the procedures we have in place. As a loyal return guest, your feedback is extremely important to us and it will be shared with the key departments so we can improve in the future. Please consider visiting again in the future so we can provide the experience you deserve. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I travelled with my husband and two kids (8 and 6 years old) to the Kea Lani last week. The property is beautiful, the rooms are spacious with incredible ocean views, and the service was excellent. As others have mentioned, you are greeted with chilled juice and a lei upon arrival, which is a lovely touch after a long flight. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants on the property (and many nearby) and a nice lounge area overlooking the ocean. We spent lots of time at the beach and pools and never felt crowded. We rented a cabana a few of the days and felt it was worth it as they are the closest covered spots around the pool, and it was easy for me to keep an eye on my kids without having to always be in the pool. The cabanas can hold four chairs and include unlimited water, juice and soft drinks as well as a fresh fruit plate. Each room has a large balcony and we loved sitting outside to enjoy the view. We also took many walks around the property just to look at the amazing flowers - the landscaping is lush and gorgeous. We hated to leave the Kea Lani and would love to go back someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Kilohana Signature Suite on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us, Steph! We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything about the resort - including our poolside cabanas! It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back again soon. Aloha and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Every room has an ocean view. The property is expansive with plenty of areas to enjoy the pools and sun without feeling crowded. We ate at the resort restaurants as well as ones nearby. Ran along the beach trail, yoga on polo lawn, body surfed. Beach was not nearly as big or as beautiful as others on the island.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Yogarunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

When you arrive on property, you are greeted with a lei and a tray of fruit juice.

We have now stayed at the Fairmont 2 years in a row. My husband had a conference and my 13 year old son and I just played. Everything about this resort is first class. The pools and grounds are beautiful, great restaurants and there is a general store on the terrace level where you can buy snacks, get coffee & sandwiches, bakery items and ice cream.

I had a pedicure in the Spa, which is beautiful and also had an opportunity to work out in the fitness center, which is small but had everything I needed. The concierge has board games you can check out. We spent much time sitting on our patio, enjoying the ocean breeze and gorgeous view, playing games.

My husband had a hurt leg and so the bell staff gave us a ride to and from the beach in a golf cart. If not for that it would have been too far for him to walk.

Every single staff member we encountered was friendly & helpful. A special shout-out to Julita, who was the assigned housekeeper for our room. She was so nice, greeted us by name, and made sure everything in our room was just how we wanted it. She was a real pro!

They have turn down service but I was disappointed that there were no chocolates on our pillow. That would have been the perfect finishing touch.

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the pool area, the view is beautiful but there is extra noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Aloha, Susan! Thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani and taking the time to share your review. We’re so pleased that your experience was overall a pleasant one and that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the suites and the friendliness of our staff. It’s also nice to know you felt you were well taken care of. Thank you for your kind compliments and all of your great tips for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Our travel agent brought this hotel to our attention and we are so glad that we stayed there, it has been our favorite vacation and favorite hotel thus far.
You are immediately made to feel welcomed with lei's and cold juice, staff is incredibly helpful and easily accessible. The rooms are STUNNING. The bathroom is huge, with double sinks, a large shower and a large tub. The living room is a nice addition where you can hang out after getting sandy on the beach. The bedroom is large and the bed is quite comfortable (and I have back problems and am picky about mattresses). The view from our room of the ocean was outstanding, they have lounge chairs and a table with chairs that they clean daily for you, its wonderful to have lunch out on the balcony, quite, wonderful breeze. The food is expensive (to be expected) but they have a microwave and fridge in the room. We went to safeway and bought lunches for the week and really enjoyed eating on our balcony. The rooms have a nice selection of coffee and tea to use and they provide free bottles of water daily. The maid comes in twice, to clean and for a turn down service where she also provides the next day weather and replaces any towels again if needed. The property is outstanding, with three pools, two hot tubs, and a gorgeous beach. They provide free beach chairs and umbrellas which is awesome if your someone like me who easily gets burned. The pools have umbrellas as well and we never had to fight for a chair with an umbrella. They provide free sunscreen, accessible at all three pools and the beach, they have both SPF 30 and 50 for free and aloe for free as well! They also have free water, both lemon water and regular water for free at all locations. They come around regularly and offer free slices of fresh fruit. Beach towels are readily accessible, you can take how many you want when you want and return them whenever. You can also rent snorkeling equipment which is great because in the ocean, to the right, a 2 minute swim is a coral reef with all kinds of awesome fish, rivals any snorkeling adventure that you would pay for. They also offer sessions on canoeing in the morning. Internet and parking are both free (resort fee covers everything). They have lawn games out front including horse shoes, ladder toss, and crochet. There are multiple restaurants to choose from, all were quite good. I found that the kids menu provided the appropriate portion sizes for me (the adult sizes are quite generous) (and to be fair I am quite the picky eater). We had the breakfast buffet with our room package and that was AMAZING, the best breakfast buffet we've ever had, everything you could ever want, all high quality food. The location is awesome, it never rained, you watch the sunset on the ocean every night, is reasonably close to the road to hana (40 minutes) and mount haleakala ( 70 minutes) and perhaps an hour from Lahania.
Finally, our flight left at 10pm, and they had rooms for us to use for an hour to get showered an changed after spending the day hanging out on the beach and pool.

We had such an amazing time at this resort, we could not imagine spending it anywhere else for our honeymoon, and absolutely 100% recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for at least a partial ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderingfree9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your very detailed review, as well as your many valuable tips for future guests. It’s truly a pleasure to know that you had an exceptional honeymoon and that you enjoyed all the services and amenities of the resort. We work hard to provide our guests with a very memorable experience, so it is extremely gratifying to know that The Fairmont Kea Lani was your favorite place to stay. Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $491 - $2,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing